We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Anantara..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

was recommended from our son and wife who stayed here at the time of The Chedi.
We booked the same suite as they did. We are more than happy to do so. The Hotel
is perfect in any ways. The staff is very friendly and helpful, like all Thais in Chiang Mai!
The Hotel is very modern, but beautiful. The Restaurant in the old building old colonial
style. The food is good. The service excellent.
The location is very near to the old town. 100 steps away from the Night market.
50 steps from a beautiful temple at the river.
Thank you, Anantara for the beautiful time here!

Room Tip: The Anantara Suite is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susangermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Susangermany

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback of your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 2,480 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

It is definitely one of my memorable trips to Chiang Mai, with a pleasant stay here at the beautiful hotel by the Mae Ping river, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa.

The hotel has recently been re-branded and I would say that it is a kind of 'win-win' situation for both this beautiful preperty and the Anatara Hotels & Resorts brand. The hotel has been awarded and received many recognitions by international organizations and awards, with new management team, it is ensured to be one of the best luxury hotels in Chiang Mai, still.

The hotel architecture and landscape are beautiful. The pool area is nice, overlooking the river. The restaurant and bar provide good service. The food quality is good; however, it needs some more attention to details if they dream to make it 'the best' in town. Staff are friendly and the overall service meets my expectation.

The hotel room is well furnished, the housekeeping team did a great job. Spacious and 'sexy' bathroom - I also love the bathroom amenities. There is a comfy 'sofa bed' on the balcony - with serene views of the river. WIFI internet provided in room.

This is a perfect 2-night weeeknd stay! Recommended for solo traveler, honeymooners, couples and friends. For family traveler, please ensure your kids are well behaved.

Room Tip: Reserve a table by the river for your breakfast with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AorPhatthawut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear AorPhatthawut

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing.

It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely


Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a meal for Bt11,200 last night. We paid 6k in cash and the cashier basically pocketed the cash and ADDED 2,800 to our bill. So our total was newly 14k. So watch our for your bill. Their billing system makes no sense unless the staff was trying to pull a fast one us on purpose

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Mc C,

Thank you for your constructive feedback about your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we value all feedback so that we can continuously improve our services to meet and exceed the needs of our valued guests.

With regards to your recent restaurant experience with us, I have personally investigated the matter thoroughly. Please rest assured that the billing error was an honest mistake, and was rectified as soon as the miscalculation was realised. The associate handling your bill missed out a step in the cashiering process, resulting in an incorrect amount being calculated. The associate immediately noted the discrepancy, recalculated the bill and corrected it straight away, resulting in no overcharge to you upon payment.

Please rest assured that we will make any changes necessary to improve our service, so that our guests can enjoy seamless experiences and the highest level of hospitality in every aspect of their stay.

Should you have any further queries regarding this matter, please don’t hesitate to get in touch and I will be delighted to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our visit to Chiang Mai from 4/16-4/20, this was on a recommendation from friends who spent part of their honeymoon here. The way they described it, I thought it was a bit overblown, they hyped this place up so much that I thought if I expect too much I may be let down. BOY WAS I WRONG, it was everything they said and MORE! When we entered the lobby of the airport, we were greeted by an employee from the hotel who was providing us with a free private shuttle back to the hotel. From that moment, the amazing service and hospitality began. We were immediately greeted in the lobby and brought to the Kasara Lounge for our private check in, since we were staying in the Kasara Suite(pool side). I wish I could remember everyones name who worked there so I can give a personal mention to all. They were the nicest people we have probably ever met. Each employee made you feel comfortable and were willing to go above and beyond to provide great service.

The room was great, extremely clean and a great size, we had poolside suite on the first level. With the suite, came the free cocktails and canapes in the Kasara Lounge from 6-8 every night. We took advantage of that, drinks were great and food was tasty. The employees remember your name when you walk into the lobby which caught me off guard a few times, normally hotel employees will just go about their work day and walk right by you. We literally did not want to leave this place.

Breakfast was also very good. Loved the Two fried eggs sunny side, bacon was crispy, fruit was fresh!

The location wasn't bad also, only a few blocks to the night bazaars and a short tuk tuk ride to the old city, although we walked pretty much everywhere to work off the fried rice and noodles we ate everyday, sometimes twice!

The hotel is more on the expensive side in comparison to other places in Thailand, but it was worth every penny! If we can muster up the change to come back to Chiang Mai in the future, there is no doubt in my mind that we will be staying here.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Kasara Suite poolside, we heard some noises at night as far as frogs are concerned, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Mike D

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review about your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed there for three nights. Got a room next to the river which we thought that would be an excellent idea. However, I got weaken up by the incredibly lound noise produced by thousands of toads and frogs at 3:00 in the morning!!! We ended up switching rooms in the middle of the night. The noise was terribly bad. I would never expect this kind of wildlife experience in a hotel located in Chiang Mai city. From the reaction of hotel reception, it has always been a problem with the lound noise made by the toads. I would recommend the hotel management to seriously look into resolving the issue.

Apart from this, the staffs are very nice and helpful!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms next the river because of the lound noise created by the toads and frogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vwholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear vwholiday

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback of your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.

On a positive note, I am delighted to know that the team managed to impress on so many levels. However I certainly apologize to any inconvenience you had caused regarding the noise disturbance. Most notably our resort’s prime city location and scenic riverside setting mean the presence of city traffic and wildlife, such as our resident frogs. To minimise noise disturbance, all of our guestrooms are designed with teak wood doors to help soundproof the bedroom interior, and we also provide ear plugs so that guests can enjoy a good night’s sleep. We appreciate our guests understanding that our enviable location is also subject to tropical wildlife and the heart of urban life, and will be reassessing ways to improve comfort levels even further and hope to welcoming you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Certainly one of the best experience in hotel stay for me. The design and ambience wre breathtaking, the room has an excellent view of the garden. It was a very restful stay with a peaceful environment. Yet the night market was just a few minutes away. Only issue is getting transportation is a but challenging and there was quite lot of mosquitoes - both not there issues with the hotel but with Chiang Mai in general. Service was great. Highly recommended for people who wants to unwind.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank LeoTanSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear LeoTanSg

Thank you for sharing your nice review about recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai

There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalised service. Needless to say, we are incredibly proud of the team here and their capacity to continually impress. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River creates a very relaxed and elegant resort atmosphere while being only steps away from the markets and buzz of the town of Chiang Mai. However please accept my sincere apologize regarding mosquito matter and any convenience you may have caused. As your comfort is of the utmost importance and we do everything possible to minimise disturbance from mosquitoes. We work closely with a pest control company, and the resort grounds are fumigated on a weekly basis as per their professional advice. We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fabulous location, staff and facilities make this a very special place. From a smiling welcome from the driver (at midnight due to flight delays) to a warm and friendly reception. Spa treatments, cool pool, excellent breakfasts, very helpful staff all made our stay at Anantara a wonderful experience. The decor is calm and restful, just what is needed after strolling the night markets and visiting the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiesabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear aussiesabout

Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback about your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai. Needless to say we always love to make such a positive impression. I am so happy that you had a great experience overall and we certianly hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,074 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 392 in Chiang Mai
545 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £201 - £765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelbag, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing