We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,754)
Filter reviews
2,754 results
Traveller rating
2,210
402
90
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,210
402
90
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kasara suite british consulate river view suite night market day bed private lounge ping river cold towels beautiful hotel our honeymoon main restaurant large balcony spa treatments mini bar the general manager an oasis every evening
Filter
Updating list...
1,076 - 1,081 of 2,754 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent 3 relaxing days in a suite at the anantara. We were amazed by the friendliness and attention to detail displayed by all of the staff. They were very unobtrusive but extremely helpful. The hotel rooms and facilities are amazing - very minimalistic & peaceful. The suite was extremely spacious & well designed. The good design of the hotel is very evident. It is also well located for relaxation and to the old town. The staff helped us plan our visit to chiang mai and it was cost effective to hire the hotel car & driver for a day to explore.
We had dinner in the restaurant on two evenings, there is only one restaurant with a limited menu but the location, food and service were all great.
We stayed at the hotel over a busy long weekend but we still felt very special and will definately find a reason to return. A stunning hotel!

Room Tip: I am positive that all rooms would be spacious & comfortable but if there is a reasonable offer current it is worth upgrading to a suite which includes access to evening cocktails & canapés which we enjoyed
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MardiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear MardiAustralia

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai

It sounds like you had wonderful stay while here in Chiang Mai. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer.
I am delighted to know that the team managed to impress on so many levels. And yes, there is no doubt our dining experiences at the resort are certainly an experience not to miss while in Chiang Mai.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!


Yours sincerly,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Anantara in June while on our honeymoon. It was surprisingly small (fewer total rooms) compared to some of the bigger hotels out there, but that was just fine with us. We got to recognize the staff and it was nice to see familiar faces all the time. The entire staff was super friendly. The proximity of the hotel was close to everything. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phillip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Phillip O

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review about your recent experience with us.

Always good to share the various views and I am so happy that you had a great experience overall.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just spent 3 nights in Chiang Mai at this hotel which has a great location. It is on the river and walking distance to the Night Market.

The rooms are very nice but the wildlife is noisy! In the middle of the night you hear all sorts of animals making noise and when one starts (frogs) they all go. The rooms have all the comforts one desires. Breakfast is served in the restaurant by the river. Food is ok and service needs help. I am not happy if I have to keep asking for more coffee in the mornings. The staff never once asked if I would like another cup seeing that mine was empty! That said, I would stay here again because it is a nice hotel and very well situated.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms give you a nice view of the grounds - highest floor in the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Reumann

Thank you for your constructive feedback of your recent stay at Ananatara Chiang Mai.

I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. However please accept my sincere apologize for any inconvenience you had caused.

Most notably our resort’s prime city location and scenic riverside setting mean the presence of city traffic and wildlife, such as our resident frogs. To minimise noise disturbance, all of our guestrooms are designed with teak wood doors to help soundproof the bedroom interior, and we also provide ear plugs so that guests can enjoy a good night’s sleep. We appreciate our guests understanding that our enviable location is also subject to tropical wildlife and the heart of urban life, and will be reassessing ways to improve comfort levels even further in the future and please rest assured that we will investigate your comments and make any changes necessary to improve our service and product offering, so that guests can look forward to journeys of luxurious discovery, in every aspect of their stay.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Fantastic couldn't say anything negative about it. The staff were extremely friendly and the food was amazing. The elephant was one of the best experiences I have ever had (a little bit scary for the first time). All in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliversReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear OliversReviews

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent experience with us.

It sounds like you had wonderful stay while here in Chiang Mai. Needless to say, we are incredibly proud of the team here and their capacity to continually impress and I am delighted to hear that you experienced the best that our hotel has to offer.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can.

Yours sincerly,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I am 3 nights now into a 5 night stay and I love this place. I have lived in south east Asia for nearly 8 years so I am very fussy. Was impressed with the reviews and I liked the style of the hotel so thought I would give it a go. Rooms are spacious, bed is comfortable and the service and food has been great. There is really nothing to dislike, particularly if you want a quiet hotel when you can rest and let the world go by. Best touches- water and cold towels by the pool, ice bucket full in bedroom, service not over the top but sincere.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so u can get a better view of river
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear M R

Thank you for your nice review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews