We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful, quiet and elegant property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Spent 4 nights in the Anantara in Chiang Mai in June '14.

Good:
-- Great location. Short walking distance to the Night Bazaar and many restaurants and bars
-- Lovely property. Set right on the Ping River, the hotel has a great feel to it. Well designed and beautifully furnished. Also very quiet and peaceful.
-- Well maintained. Reception areas, rooms, restaurants, bars are all very well maintained and clean
-- Breakfast, wide selection and good quality.

Other:
-- Service; we didn't test the room service or require any additional services, but all our interactions with staff were pleasant and professional
-- Quiet in the evening - we had a few cocktails in the bar when we came back at night, and other than one evening, we were the only people there.
-- Tours; we were pushed a little after check-in for tours. This probably doesn't require stating, as it's a 5* hotel, but have a look around online for other options first, as they will be cheaper.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in the Anantara. If you're looking for a beautiful property, with all facilities kept to a high standard, and in a great location in Chiang Mai, stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jdunner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear jdunner29

Thank you for your positive review of your recent experience stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.

There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalised service. Needless to say, we are incredibly proud of the team here and their capacity to continually impress. I am also delighted to hear that you experienced the best that our hotel has to offer. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River creates a very relaxed and elegant resort atmosphere while being only steps away from the markets and buzz of the town of Chiang Mai.

Please rest assure that I will certainly discuss your recommendations with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your reviews about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!


Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

867 - 873 of 2,439 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were a group of 6 (including 2 infants). We stayed there in the last week of June 2014 for 5 days. This is the 1st place where i have seen extreme and erratic behaviour from the staff......some very pleasant and some extremely horrible, to the point of being racist

I would have preferred to give a 1.5 rating at the most, but have rounded off to 2.

Finer aspects :
a) Property is neatly maintained and near the market places
b) We stayed in kasara suite and the room is neat
c) Staff in the house keeping section and reception are courteous. Though language is a barrier, they try to make things easier
d) The dance and music recital in the evenings (around 10-15 mins) is a welcome change
e) We had dinner on one evening in the restaurant and the Indian food was very good and comparable to the best we have had in India



Points to be improved upon !!! (I have sent a separate mail detailing all the issues we faced directly to the Anantara Group......dont want to highlight all the issues in detail here as they will project the Anantara group in bad light on a site like trip advisor, as i have seen both the best and horrible in this resort and i feel what the staff there lacks is direction, supervision and training)
a) Very rude staff in the restaurant (barring a couple of the lady staff)
b) Managers / senior staff members lack sensitivity and also ownership
c) Package tours arranged are very expensive (we didnt take them, but instead we booked from the web and we saved more than 70%)
d) Confusions are galore....there is no coordination between the front desk and the other departments :
- We were told we could dine in the lounge available only for kasara suite members. When we went there we were told it had been closed for more than a few days !!!
- Spa service was just ok and nothing great to write about. What was striking was that the staff requested for a good feedback in the feedback form !!!
- Couple of items ordered with room service were never delivered
e) Not much of choice for veggies during breakfast
f) Lot of mosquitoes and the teams did little to help us

Tips for people who want to book anantara Chiang mai :
- Lot of good restaurants and eating joints within walking distance of the resort (including veg food). Many Indian restaurants also deliver very good food (details can be found on www.foodpanda.co.th)
- Ensure you clarify all the items in your package.....else you might end up with surprises
- There are many traditional, neat and professional spas in chaing mai which are cheaper than the one in anantara
- Lot of mosquitoes (more so in the evening)
- As someone has mentioned in a earlier feedback, the place becomes lonely and life less during evenings and you might be the only group / person in the restaurant.......this is in stark contrast to the lively atmosphere in the market place (within few mtrs from the resort)

All in all, I would skip this resort when i visit Chaing Mai next time !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DileepSatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear DileepSatya

Thank you for your constructive feedback during your recent stay with us.

Obviously I am disappointed to hear that we didn't match your expectations. And I am sorry that you left with anything less than a perfect impression.

On a positive noted, I am delighted to know you enjoyed our Indian food, Kasara suite also agreed that our central location mentioned by so many guests here is a key feature which does lead to many deciding to base their Chiang Mai experience here.

I am definitely sorry if your perception to our staff behavior caused some uncomfortable to you as I explained to you when we met which I rest assure it’s about misperception due to the lack of English communicate skill. I have briefed the team personally regarding your point.

I can only hope that you give us the opportunity to show that Anantara Chiang Mai can indeed provide an experience that you would enjoy. We certainly hope to welcome you back. Please contact me personally

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
(sishwara@anantara.com)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It's a very relaxing atmosphere. The lobby has plenty of places to lounge, read, even take a nap. The bar has the feel of an old colonial building, which is pretty cool. The service there is very attentive, as it is in the restaurant downstairs. The food for all meals is decent. The rooms themselves are very nice, but I was in a large room with a balcony. Someone who has stayed at many five-star hotels will probably find it an agreeable room, and someone who's used to staying at Holiday Inns will find it amazing. The gift shop is full of nice items. It's easy to arrange transportation wherever you want to go. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyitskelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear heyitskelster

Thank you for your nice review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!


Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the Anantara as part of our honeymoon. I will start with the positive...The hotel and grounds are beautiful and a little oasis amongst the busy city. We loved our kasara suite with large balcony overlooking the river. The hotel is in a great location for the night markets and we particularly liked Anusara Market with its handmade goods by local artists. The breakfast is good and food at the restaurant and room service is nice. However do not come to this hotel expecting 5 or even 4* service. We paid not far off £200 a night for our room and the service we received just did not justify it and we felt it let down the stay. On arrival at the hotel we had to wait around 40 minutes for our room to be ready even though we arrived after the check in time. We had requested a room on the top floor with a river view. We were eventually taken to the room and it was neither of these. Upon querying this we were told a mistake had been made and we could have a river view room but we would need to wait another 2 hours. We had a long day of travelling and just wanted to unpack and relax.

The Anantara used to be the Chedi Chiang Mai until late last year when there was a management take over. The staff remain the same but there seems to be great confusion amongst them about who is entitled to what. If a booking was made when the hotel was still the Chedi it would mean you were entitled to different things than if you made a more recent booking at the now Anantara.

We did not feel that the staff explained well enough what we were entitled to as part of our booking and when we queried anything this also led to great confusion partly I think due to the lack of of English spoken by any of the staff. We had booked an upgraded package which included a free mini bar to be replenished everyday. On arrival to the room the mini bar was stocked with soft drinks as well as several beers and bottles of spirits. We wanted to check that everything was complimentary so called reception. We were told that the beers and spirits were included. However the next day after housekeeping had been we discovered that these had been taken away. After another confusing call to reception and we were told these were not included. This was fine but we just wanted to know where we were. Room service said that due to the confusion they would bring us some complimentary spirits which was great. They promptly arrived and we hoped to enjoy them the following evening. However on our return to the room the following day after a busy day out we found the complimentary drinks had been taken away again!!! And so it continues...

The upgraded package in the suites entitles you to breakfast in the Kasara Lounge. On our first morning we did not know where this was as it had not been explained so we wandered around the restaurant. We asked and were told that we could go upstairs and have breakfast in the lounge if we wanted to but the choice wasn't as good as the main restaurant. Surely this should not be the case? From then on we just ate in the normal restaurant. The upgraded package also entitled us to free cocktails and canapés in the lounge every evening between 6-8pm. We had since discovered that the normal Kasara lounge had a month long private function and therefore could not been used by guests. Instead we were directed to a seated area above the restaurant which was nothing special. Cocktail and wine choice were fairly good but the lounge was completely dead with no music, people or atmosphere. It did not encourage you to want to stay after more than one or two drinks. Maybe that was the point! We found this a common theme throughout our stay. There was no music or entertainment whatsoever at the hotel in the evenings unless somebody had paid extra for a private dining meal and you could catch a glimpse of the Thai dancing provided for them for maybe 30 minutes. The hotel and restaurant were completely dead in the evenings. If you ate in the restaurant chances are you would be the only ones there. We felt the hotel completely lacked any ambiance in the evening. Maybe by providing some music or entertainment for guests it would have given them a reason to stick around. The seating in the lobby area is beautiful and we would love to have enjoyed some drinks whilst relaxing there but even though there were menus on the table this did not seem to be an option and we left after 30 minutes as there was nobody about to take our order.

The Anantara was lovely but I wouldn't stay there again. The level of service just doesn't justify the prices. We stayed in the Shangri-La in Bangkok and the service was out of this world so would maybe give that a go in Chiang Mai. Definitely do not take the upgraded package for drinks. You will not get your money's worth out of it. It would be cheaper to just pay for the cocktails as and when you want them at the bar. With the atmosphere in the evenings though you will probably want to go elsewhere anyway.

Overall staff were pleasant but did not go out of their way for anything. It was an extremely average service and not what you would expect at all from a hotel of this calibre. Mistakes were made with currency exchange and at the end of our stay there was no offer of help to bring our bags from our room on the long walk back to reception.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Bethlm

Thank you for your constructive feedback during your recent stay with us

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we value all feedback so that we can continuously improve our services to meet and exceed the needs of our valued guests.

With regards to your recent experience with us, I have personally investigated the matters thoroughly with the team. Please rest assured that the misunderstanding and lack of communication will be immediately noted the discrepancy, and make any changes necessary to improve our service and product offering.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your constructive feedback and looking forward to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent 3 relaxing days in a suite at the anantara. We were amazed by the friendliness and attention to detail displayed by all of the staff. They were very unobtrusive but extremely helpful. The hotel rooms and facilities are amazing - very minimalistic & peaceful. The suite was extremely spacious & well designed. The good design of the hotel is very evident. It is also well located for relaxation and to the old town. The staff helped us plan our visit to chiang mai and it was cost effective to hire the hotel car & driver for a day to explore.
We had dinner in the restaurant on two evenings, there is only one restaurant with a limited menu but the location, food and service were all great.
We stayed at the hotel over a busy long weekend but we still felt very special and will definately find a reason to return. A stunning hotel!

Room Tip: I am positive that all rooms would be spacious & comfortable but if there is a reasonable offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MardiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear MardiAustralia

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai

It sounds like you had wonderful stay while here in Chiang Mai. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer.
I am delighted to know that the team managed to impress on so many levels. And yes, there is no doubt our dining experiences at the resort are certainly an experience not to miss while in Chiang Mai.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!


Yours sincerly,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at the Anantara in June while on our honeymoon. It was surprisingly small (fewer total rooms) compared to some of the bigger hotels out there, but that was just fine with us. We got to recognize the staff and it was nice to see familiar faces all the time. The entire staff was super friendly. The proximity of the hotel was close to everything. The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phillip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Phillip O

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review about your recent experience with us.

Always good to share the various views and I am so happy that you had a great experience overall.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just spent 3 nights in Chiang Mai at this hotel which has a great location. It is on the river and walking distance to the Night Market.

The rooms are very nice but the wildlife is noisy! In the middle of the night you hear all sorts of animals making noise and when one starts (frogs) they all go. The rooms have all the comforts one desires. Breakfast is served in the restaurant by the river. Food is ok and service needs help. I am not happy if I have to keep asking for more coffee in the mornings. The staff never once asked if I would like another cup seeing that mine was empty! That said, I would stay here again because it is a nice hotel and very well situated.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms give you a nice view of the grounds - highest floor in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Reumann

Thank you for your constructive feedback of your recent stay at Ananatara Chiang Mai.

I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. However please accept my sincere apologize for any inconvenience you had caused.

Most notably our resort’s prime city location and scenic riverside setting mean the presence of city traffic and wildlife, such as our resident frogs. To minimise noise disturbance, all of our guestrooms are designed with teak wood doors to help soundproof the bedroom interior, and we also provide ear plugs so that guests can enjoy a good night’s sleep. We appreciate our guests understanding that our enviable location is also subject to tropical wildlife and the heart of urban life, and will be reassessing ways to improve comfort levels even further in the future and please rest assured that we will investigate your comments and make any changes necessary to improve our service and product offering, so that guests can look forward to journeys of luxurious discovery, in every aspect of their stay.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 389 in Chiang Mai
3,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 389 in Chiang Mai
518 reviews
1.2 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £182 - £630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing