We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a piece of peace in a chaotic town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Zedelgem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“a piece of peace in a chaotic town”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I been in the past when it was The Chedi Hotel, the hotel still very nice, beautiful design, it should maybe have some lifting in the room and bathroom but they still very nice. Bit dark as many thai places. lovely restaurant and wonderful spa. Sometimes too expensive. The staff is fantastic ! A bit noisy if you have a room next to the road and they should do something about the door slamming all the time!

Room Tip: better take a river view and not on the side of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear tiger2669

Thank you for your constructive feedback of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

While we totally respect the past history of this iconic hotel, I can assure you that it is our aim to lift service in key areas and we have received nothing but praise since the transition last year. I must admit that the team is the key to any successful hotel and there is no doubt that the team at Anantara Chiang Mai does their best to ensure guests experience the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. Please rest assure that I will certainly discuss your recommendations with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerly,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,896
    360
    81
    28
    19
See reviews for
464
1,268
117
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Situated in the centre of Chiang Mai, conveniently close to the airport and other "must-sees" of the city. Quiet and peaceful resort.

Incredibly helpful staff. I was very impressed by this!


Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uju51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Uju51

Thank you for your nice review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It sounds like you had wonderful stay while here in Chiang Mai. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. Needless to say, we are incredibly proud of the team here and their capacity to continually impress.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was shocked when I heard the Chedi changed to Anantara last year. We stayed in Chedi Chiang Mai a few years ago which was a very great experience. When we returned to Chiang Mai this year we had no doubt to choose Anantara as we love the brand Anantara so much...

There are some good and less good findings to mention:

Goods:-
- When we told the reception staff we stayed in Chedi before, she welcomed us back and offered a bottle of red wine to be delivered to us free of charge. So warm!
- The food in the restaurant in still tasty especially the noodle, egg benedict during breakfast. They offered many vegetarian choices but you have to choose from the menu. It may be a better choice apart from the buffet table.
- Good view and atmosphere for dinner in restaurant. Food is delicious especially the Thai food. Don't leave the bread basket in the table which is yummy.
- Variety of TV channels is good enough. We can watch FIFA World Cup in room although it was in Thai language.

Less good:-
- Our room is located in the 1st floor with no view at all. Although it mentioned to be more private, we still found some guests passed through outside the terrace.
- The room is quite dark during night time. I suggested the hotel should put more lights in the room.
- A bit crowded in the swimming pool.
- We found many Chinese guests who do not speak English. Resort can consider to hire some Chinese speaking staff or prepare Chinese menu.

Anyway, this Anantara is not the traditional Anantara style. Perhaps due to the change of management group from Chedi to nowadays Anantara. I would prefer Anantara to be more in Thai traditional style instead of modern style. But I still recommend this hotel to those who visit Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bird-Bird-Blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Bird-Bird-Blogger

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding to your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.

Rest assured that we do indeed take such feedback to heart and I can only assure you that we understand the reputation and standards created by the team here at the property over the past ten years. I am delighted to inform that the team remains 100% in place and remains committed to raising the service higher and higher.

I will certainly discuss your comments and feedback with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and we hope to welcome you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have had the opportunity to stay in many beautiful hotels, and this one easily takes a top 3 slot. Outstanding design, service and quality. The pick-up from the airport was flawless and within 15 minutes we arrived at the hotel. Chiang Mai is a small city so the route to the hotel was via mainly city streets as opposed to a highway. The hotel’s façade is gorgeous and immediately sets the tone for what lies behind the entrance. One can easily see the influences from when the hotel was part of the Chedi properties in the building style and architecture. Anantara is adding their stamp of quality to it and the result is an incredible experience.

After an easy check-in we were taken to our room on the 4th floor. Due to the layout of the hotel each room gets a view to the gardens of the hotel (which are peaceful and beautiful) but I would recommend the 4th floor so that you can also get a good view of the river as well. Of course, depending on where your room is you may get this view even on a lower floor. All rooms are gorgeous and there’s no losing option. Our room was beautiful in design and comfortable. Aside from the “normal” things there were also a couple extra niceties which gives the hotel that “extra something.” For example, many hotels in Thailand suggest bringing bug spray because of the mosquitoes but here each room had a silent electronic bug repellant that they would plug in each night during the turndown service to ensure a bug-free sleep. Also, instead of the usual table and chairs on the balcony, each balcony also had a two-person lounger where you could rest and enjoy the sounds of river life. Although Chiang Mai is a city, it is small and peaceful. The river is more nature than lifeline to the city, hence there is barely any traffic on the river. You can enjoy the sounds of frogs and birds around the resort as one step through the entrance and you’re at peace.

We had breakfast included (which I highly recommend) and the food was fresh, good quality and there were plenty of choices catering to many different tastes and cultures. We enjoyed Afternoon Tea on the terrace and the little pastries, sandwiches and scones were delicious. They have a nice tapas menu if you wish to have something lighter although this can get a bit boring after a couple days. The evening menu in the restaurant is extensive and has plenty of both Thai and western dishes. Everything we ate was great although I would still recommend the Thai dishes as we are after all, in Thailand. The inside bar seemed more like a tick-the-box exercise rather than something where people would actually want to sit and enjoy a drink. It’s the only part of the hotel that didn’t quite fit. Having to walk through this strange bar to get to the restaurant is also a bit strange. But, as that’s my only “complaint” this hotel still earns full points for me.

The location of the hotel is perfect with just a few minute walk from the night market – plenty to see and do. We took a car to the western side of the city and then walked back to the hotel stopping at the different temples and tourist sites along the way – including a stop for lunch, this whole excursion took us only a few hours. The hotel did a great job arranging a tour for us to see one of the elephant camps complete with driver, tour guide and admission. The car even had cold towels and bottled water to make the journey more comfortable.

Lastly, we enjoyed two treatments each at the spa during our stay. The spa is absolutely beautiful, oozing relaxation from every corner. The relaxation area overlooks the swimming pool but is cleverly hidden through the use of tall plants. The lady at the spa desk was very friendly in helping us choose our treatments and timeframes.

Overall, I rate this hotel a 10 out of 10. We enjoyed our stay here and if we come to Chiang Mai again we will definitely stay here. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Ashley B

Thank you for your excellent review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Spent 4 nights in the Anantara in Chiang Mai in June '14.

Good:
-- Great location. Short walking distance to the Night Bazaar and many restaurants and bars
-- Lovely property. Set right on the Ping River, the hotel has a great feel to it. Well designed and beautifully furnished. Also very quiet and peaceful.
-- Well maintained. Reception areas, rooms, restaurants, bars are all very well maintained and clean
-- Breakfast, wide selection and good quality.

Other:
-- Service; we didn't test the room service or require any additional services, but all our interactions with staff were pleasant and professional
-- Quiet in the evening - we had a few cocktails in the bar when we came back at night, and other than one evening, we were the only people there.
-- Tours; we were pushed a little after check-in for tours. This probably doesn't require stating, as it's a 5* hotel, but have a look around online for other options first, as they will be cheaper.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in the Anantara. If you're looking for a beautiful property, with all facilities kept to a high standard, and in a great location in Chiang Mai, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdunner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear jdunner29

Thank you for your positive review of your recent experience stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.

There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalised service. Needless to say, we are incredibly proud of the team here and their capacity to continually impress. I am also delighted to hear that you experienced the best that our hotel has to offer. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River creates a very relaxed and elegant resort atmosphere while being only steps away from the markets and buzz of the town of Chiang Mai.

Please rest assure that I will certainly discuss your recommendations with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your reviews about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!


Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were a group of 6 (including 2 infants). We stayed there in the last week of June 2014 for 5 days. This is the 1st place where i have seen extreme and erratic behaviour from the staff......some very pleasant and some extremely horrible, to the point of being racist

I would have preferred to give a 1.5 rating at the most, but have rounded off to 2.

Finer aspects :
a) Property is neatly maintained and near the market places
b) We stayed in kasara suite and the room is neat
c) Staff in the house keeping section and reception are courteous. Though language is a barrier, they try to make things easier
d) The dance and music recital in the evenings (around 10-15 mins) is a welcome change
e) We had dinner on one evening in the restaurant and the Indian food was very good and comparable to the best we have had in India



Points to be improved upon !!! (I have sent a separate mail detailing all the issues we faced directly to the Anantara Group......dont want to highlight all the issues in detail here as they will project the Anantara group in bad light on a site like trip advisor, as i have seen both the best and horrible in this resort and i feel what the staff there lacks is direction, supervision and training)
a) Very rude staff in the restaurant (barring a couple of the lady staff)
b) Managers / senior staff members lack sensitivity and also ownership
c) Package tours arranged are very expensive (we didnt take them, but instead we booked from the web and we saved more than 70%)
d) Confusions are galore....there is no coordination between the front desk and the other departments :
- We were told we could dine in the lounge available only for kasara suite members. When we went there we were told it had been closed for more than a few days !!!
- Spa service was just ok and nothing great to write about. What was striking was that the staff requested for a good feedback in the feedback form !!!
- Couple of items ordered with room service were never delivered
e) Not much of choice for veggies during breakfast
f) Lot of mosquitoes and the teams did little to help us

Tips for people who want to book anantara Chiang mai :
- Lot of good restaurants and eating joints within walking distance of the resort (including veg food). Many Indian restaurants also deliver very good food (details can be found on www.foodpanda.co.th)
- Ensure you clarify all the items in your package.....else you might end up with surprises
- There are many traditional, neat and professional spas in chaing mai which are cheaper than the one in anantara
- Lot of mosquitoes (more so in the evening)
- As someone has mentioned in a earlier feedback, the place becomes lonely and life less during evenings and you might be the only group / person in the restaurant.......this is in stark contrast to the lively atmosphere in the market place (within few mtrs from the resort)

All in all, I would skip this resort when i visit Chaing Mai next time !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DileepSatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear DileepSatya

Thank you for your constructive feedback during your recent stay with us.

Obviously I am disappointed to hear that we didn't match your expectations. And I am sorry that you left with anything less than a perfect impression.

On a positive noted, I am delighted to know you enjoyed our Indian food, Kasara suite also agreed that our central location mentioned by so many guests here is a key feature which does lead to many deciding to base their Chiang Mai experience here.

I am definitely sorry if your perception to our staff behavior caused some uncomfortable to you as I explained to you when we met which I rest assure it’s about misperception due to the lack of English communicate skill. I have briefed the team personally regarding your point.

I can only hope that you give us the opportunity to show that Anantara Chiang Mai can indeed provide an experience that you would enjoy. We certainly hope to welcome you back. Please contact me personally

Yours sincerely

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
(sishwara@anantara.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It's a very relaxing atmosphere. The lobby has plenty of places to lounge, read, even take a nap. The bar has the feel of an old colonial building, which is pretty cool. The service there is very attentive, as it is in the restaurant downstairs. The food for all meals is decent. The rooms themselves are very nice, but I was in a large room with a balcony. Someone who has stayed at many five-star hotels will probably find it an agreeable room, and someone who's used to staying at Holiday Inns will find it amazing. The gift shop is full of nice items. It's easy to arrange transportation wherever you want to go. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heyitskelster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear heyitskelster

Thank you for your nice review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!


Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,001 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,979 reviews
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing