We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the Range used to be the Chedi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Top of the Range used to be the Chedi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My Son stayed here last year when it was called The Chedi, and recommended this hotel to me.
I must say that I found this hotel to be the best run hotel that I have ever stayed in. Every conceivable way to make your stay as enjoyable as it could possibly be is the intention of the devoted staff who all call you by your name from the moment you sign in. We were upgraded as it was an anniversary and the room and it's service provision second to none. Your every move and wish is anticipated by staff. The room is set up in two different ways for day and night, even the T/V is turned around so you can watch it in bed! The food is also an important part of the stay and you are even waited on by attentive chefs. Could only make two tiny criticisms! One water not very hot in taps and Two the toaster at breakfast was not very efficient. But exceptional hotel. Do go and stay, you will not regret it!

Room Tip: 405 was superb with river views two day beds balcony wifi dressing gowns coffee.machine slippers eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johng59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Johng59

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. It sounds like you had wonderful stay while here at Anantara Chiang Mai.

Needless to say we always love to make such a positive impression. However please accept my apologize to any inconvenience you had caused, I will certainly discuss your recommendations with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,819
    346
    79
    26
    17
See reviews for
442
1,221
112
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have been to many hotels and resorts in Thailand. This resort is one of the best in all... The reasons are good location in the city and just by the Ping river, the property is good and well maintained (except a bit difficult to close the curtain in the room) and the housekeeping is the one I love most for this, it is one of superb. Everything is perfect provide a new towels, new bathrobe and ice ready during the day and night. A used cup or glass are wash clean all the time. The tiny details in the room that I love about this place. Also, the foods are yummy and I love the breakfast.

My trip is to relax during the long weekend to recharge battery and I did... I would love to go back there again, if I go to Chiang mai.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeiMeiMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear MeiMeiMee

Thank you for your wonderful review about your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The architecture, the design, the swimmingpool, the spa, the restaurant, the bedrooms, the service, the location in Chiang Mai. Nothing wrong. Everything was just perfect. We are really looking forward to coming back soon.
Congratulations!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank boyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear boyste

Thank you for your beautiful review of your recent stay at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It is a pleasure to hear about your amazing story with us. Such positive feedback is extremely valuable to us, since it encourages our loyal associates to deliver the very best experiences from the start to finish of each guest’s stay. Inspiration is a key hallmark of the Anantara brand, and we love to hear the things we are doing exceptionally well, so that we can build on the experiences we offer and make them even more amazing. It’s also crucial to know what matters to our guests the most, and we truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I visited on 18 July and had the 10am guaranteed check in offered on the hotel website . The hotel arranged collection at the airport and knew my arrival time , but the room was still not ready at 12 . While the staff were v polite , essentially they told me I'd have to wait . It was only when I made a fuss and insisted on seeing a Manager that I was then given an upgrade , but then again , only after insisting . In other respects the experience was fine and the staff are charming , but I agree with other reviewers that the rooms and public spaces are dark

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GXWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear GXWLondon

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

As a proud member of the Anantara Hotels, Resorts & Spas family, all of our associates are trained to the highest international standards and we constantly strive for customer service excellence and 100% guest satisfaction.

However please accept my apologize to any inconvenience you had caused. I will certainly discuss your feedback with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

Please rest assured that we will investigate your comments and make any changes necessary to improve our service offering, so that guests can look forward to journeys of luxurious discovery, in every aspect of their stay.

Yours sincerely,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

From the moment I walked in I was 'wowed'. I also made it a habit to watch new guests from my balcony being wowed when they walked in. Every single one of them started taking pictures from the first minute. The rooms are beautiful, the balcony is perfect, the staff is very friendly, the restaurant has high quality food.
The pool is very big and pretty to look at.
3 minute walking distance to the night market.

Overall just wow

Room Tip: I had room 321. I recommend it as it has a nice view of the pool and hotel garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riwa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Riwa91

Thank you for your beautiful review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

There is no doubt that the resort is well recognised internationally due to it's stunning architecture as well as it's personalized service. Needless to say, we are incredibly proud of the team here and their capacity to continually impress. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River creates a very relaxed and elegant resort atmosphere while being only steps away from the markets and buzz of the town of Chiang Mai.

Once again thank you for such a positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Anantara Chiang Mai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zedelgem, Belgium
Level Contributor
165 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I been in the past when it was The Chedi Hotel, the hotel still very nice, beautiful design, it should maybe have some lifting in the room and bathroom but they still very nice. Bit dark as many thai places. lovely restaurant and wonderful spa. Sometimes too expensive. The staff is fantastic ! A bit noisy if you have a room next to the road and they should do something about the door slamming all the time!

Room Tip: better take a river view and not on the side of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear tiger2669

Thank you for your constructive feedback of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

While we totally respect the past history of this iconic hotel, I can assure you that it is our aim to lift service in key areas and we have received nothing but praise since the transition last year. I must admit that the team is the key to any successful hotel and there is no doubt that the team at Anantara Chiang Mai does their best to ensure guests experience the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. Please rest assure that I will certainly discuss your recommendations with the team as we are indeed currently reviewing all areas to see where we can lift to even higher levels.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerly,

Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Situated in the centre of Chiang Mai, conveniently close to the airport and other "must-sees" of the city. Quiet and peaceful resort.

Incredibly helpful staff. I was very impressed by this!


Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uju51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AnantaraChiangMai, General Manager at Anantara Chiang Mai Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Uju51

Thank you for your nice review of your recent experience at Anantara Chiang Mai.

It sounds like you had wonderful stay while here in Chiang Mai. I would agree that our location beside the Ping River is a perfect base from which to explore the best that Chiang Mai has to offer. Needless to say, we are incredibly proud of the team here and their capacity to continually impress.

We truly appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your views about our luxurious riverside retreat. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future and to making your stay even more amazing in any way we can. Thank you again from your Anantara family in Chiang Mai!

Yours sincerely,


Syahreza Ishwara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travelbag, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing