We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - out of this world service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic - out of this world service!”
Reviewed 18 December 2009

The staff at The Chedi Chiang Mai is just incredible - they never say the word no for anything! Anything and everything we asked for during the one week we stayed there, was made possible by this incredible team that is at your service nigt and day at the Chedi. Stayed in one of the Club suites and found the rooms and the bathrooms perfect in every sense. It is a very peaceful and serene property which offers amazing tranquility even though its in the center of town. My son is two years old and the staff was just so nice and so patient with him. All child related amenities were provided and were of very high standard. As an example, most hotels provide us with a sterilizer but at The Chedi we not only had a sterilizer, but also 6 Avent bottles for our use. Everything in the mini bar was complimentary which is just fantastic when you have kids with you and end up spending a lot of time in the hotel. I absolutely loved the gym and the various classes offered. The fully charged laptops that are provided to guests for their use at any given time is such a great advantage and saves you the trouble of taking your own. The Chedi Club manager is just teriffic and she always solved our problems/needs within minutes which was just fantastic. For sure, we would never stay anywhere wlse in Chiang Mai other than the Chedi.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadzzz_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,818
    343
    79
    26
    17
See reviews for
442
1,218
112
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Booked to stay at The Chedi for three nights on a Buy 2 get 3rd free. Upon arrival we was told that our deluxe room was double booked so they would upgrade us to a club suite free of charge, GREAT! The room was as good as any other hotel I have stayed in. The suite features a wide screen tv, Bose system, electric blinds, coffee machine and dvd player. The balcony is a good size with great views overlooking the river. The hotel is beautiful and everything was immaculate. I stayed here with my partner and my 7 year old daughter. Although my daughter enjoyed the stay I would say it's a very quiet and relaxing hotel and not the sort of hotel where kids can be loud. I would recommend this hotel more for couples. Food was a good standard and I would recommend the afternoon tea. I thought the drinks were expensive, even for a five star hotel - Paid 800bhat for 1 cocktail, 1 beer and 1 soft drink. Overall we really really enjoyed our stay at The Chedi .

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somewheresun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Hubby and I stayed 3 nights at The Chedi. I have to say we enjoyed ourselves very much even though we were left with much food for thought...issues to mull about..

The Chedi is surrounded by many cheap massage shops, with many scantily dressed and idling ladies in the evenings. The hotel is sandwiched between the Mae Ping river and a busy one-way street and there is a seven-eleven shop about 1 minute walk away.

We like the Chedi for the following experiences:

1. the tranquility in the lobby at night, after the floating flowers have been replaced by white floating candles and the traffic has quietened
2. sunrise by the river
3. breakfast by the river
4. chatting over candle-light at the balcony (candles are found in the drawer)
5. free aerobic and stretch fit exercise
6. the room
7. free packed breakfast, if you leave the hotel before 7am

What we hope will improve the next time we are there..
1. the tiny TV with poor reception
2. mosquito fogging frequency, especially at the entrances of each room (we had to use insect repellent even when we slept).
3. inform guests that the room/bed is made twice a day so that we will not be surprised when housekeeping insist on "making beds" in the afternoon. Also, someone will top up the ice box, fruit basket and coffee powder in the afternoon. This was experienced on all 3 days.
4. The newspaper - to be delivered early, not after 10am.
5. Music channel

Lunch and dinner dishes are costly compared to what was available outside The Chedi, which makes it quite an unattractive choice for guests to dine and drink.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChilipadiYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

The Chedi was great. Clean, great service, the whole 9 yards, etc. We stayed 3 nights and got one free. We had club rooms which gave us access to the club where drinks, snacks, breakfast and personal concierge were included. I would recommend getting a club room. While in Chiang Mai we did a full day at the elephant camp which I highly recommend. Skip any monkey shows, they are depressing and exploitative. We hired a driver to take us around the city through the hotel, it was like $10/hour in a nice car with a personal tour guide. The only thing that wasn't great at the Chedi was the restaurant, the food at the restaurant was mediocre at best and expensive. Skip the restaurant, get a club room and fill up on free booze and canapes.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

excellent hotel: great service, contemporary zen like decor, with extra touches such as in room newspaper service, expresso coffee maker, fresh fruit daily. beautiful location near river and less than a block from night market. we were lucky enough to get the3rd night free special rate and upgraded to a club room. the lighting seemed a bit too dark in the rooms for reading, but I was told that was the romantic effect.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotravelCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

One of best if not the best hotel we've stayed in, we were quite lucky on our deal and got 3 nights for price of 2 at a reduced rate.

The service was excellent, breakfast was excellent and it was a very relaxing place to stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a few days break from an otherwise hectic environment.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theNumpties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

CHEDI CHIANG MAI- what a place- cost a small fortune -didnt care- gorgeous rooms- a giant pool along river to die for- great breakfast buffet- handed me a lap top to use around pool / no charge- - walk to night market and many really good restaurants on the river - dont consider anything else in 5 star

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrustratedTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,922 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 375 in Chiang Mai
2,878 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Chiang Mai Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelbag, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing