We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly great place to stay in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Ranked #10 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly great place to stay in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Service, design, amenities are all amazing. The Chedi delivered a great stay. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. Service was impeccable, we needed for nothing. Breakfast was enjoyable over looking the river and the private pool terrace. The location is far enough away from the old city and markets to be easily accessible but within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thearchitect3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,898
    360
    81
    28
    19
See reviews for
465
1,269
117
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

A beautiful hotel located on the Ping River. Modern and serene, it is very relaxing. We stayed in a suite and enjoyed Club facilities. The service was impeccable and the hotel is beautifully presented. The spa is excellent. It is an oasis of calm yet still within the city of Chiang Mai and a five minute walk from the night market. It is expensive and there are too many mosquitoes in the room (the resort does spray the grounds at night and there are mosquito coils and sprays available, but....), but overall the atmosphere is wonderful. A great place to indulge in luxury. The restaurant is overpriced. There is better food to be had outside the hotel at much lower prices.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-in-Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

This hotel is stunningly beautiful with impeccable service. It is simply one of the best places we have ever stayed and amazing value for money. If you are thinking of booking then we can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singinglaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We had the most amazing experience at the Chedi Chiang Mai over Christmas. The staff (specifically Mr. Patrick and Auto) couldn't have been nicer and even arranged a local, authentic Muay Thai boxing experience for us!

The rooms were beautiful and location on the river was perfect. It was very central to most things in town, including a short walk to the night bazaar.

Nice Relaxing pool area. However, lots of mosquitos in Chiang Mai so bring bug spray!

Our breakfast was included. You can apply this toward room service also. However, the breakfast buffet by the river was great too!

TIP #1: If you need a cheap fast laundry service (hotel's was expensive) walk straight out of the Chedi. Cross the street and continue walking straight (italian restaurant should be on your left). After 2-3 minute walk you will see a blue laundry sign on your right. They did a rush service on our laundry. It was fast, inexpensive and our clothes came out great and folded neatly and smelled very nice!

TIP #2: If you want a really authentic tour/trekking experience use The Trekking Collective. They will pick you up at any hotel in town and don't take you to places crowded with other tourists.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Complimentary laptops if you don't have your own with you to use the wireless for a couple hours at a time.

They brought in monks and provided food and flowers for donations to their morning alms.

The rooms are quite elegent, and so long as you aren't on the street side it isn't noisy, although I could certainly see if you end up along the road how it could get pretty noisy.

The breakfast is OK - their chef isn't the best with eggs (if you don't like them runny) so be specific with how you want them. If you like coffee know that you can ask for a cappuccino instead of the normal drip or instant that they offer you (it's much better).

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Although The Chedi already has a a million great reviews, I felt like I'd be doing a diservice to not contribute one more. When you arrive at The Chedi, your relaxing experience begins with a delicious lemongrass infused drink. The staff are extremely friendly (upgraded us for our honeymoon) and we received a great deal for spa treatments.

The design of the hotel is modern asian with a hint of old British colonialism. The rooms are extremely spacious and the hotel location is convenient to the city center and a 5 minute walk to the night market. The hotel has a restaurant with a beautiful, huge patio that overlooks the river. The food was amazing and the pool was a long, tranquil lap pool. I also recomend the spa treatment there because it exceeds the quality massage you'll receive at any local massage parlor.

I would recomend this hotel, especially for couples and will definitely go back if we visit Chiang Mai again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank automator34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights mid December with wife and two of our younger children in a Club Suite. Impressed from the moment we arrived. The hotel decor and setting are beautiful - very zen and minimalistic (which belie the unassuming exterior), and when the candles are lit at dusk the whole place is transformed. Service was faultless throughout our stay - the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Despite trying very hard to find anything wrong, the only thing I could come up with was that there was no cable to connect my iPod to the Bose CD/DVD player in the room - which Patrick, the manager, told me was being upgraded for iPod after the year end.

If you are looking for a tranquil, relaxing break, then The Chedi is perfect. The Club Suites are worth it as a couple, as the Club Lounge is great for breakfast and cocktail happy hour - great cocktails too, all inclusive, have fun working your way throuh the menu!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djm1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,002 reviews
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Chiang Mai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Chiang Mai Resort

Property: Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Address: 123 Charoen Prathet Road | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Chiang Mai Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#7 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edging the meandering Mae Ping River, Anantara Chiang Mai Resort is conveniently situated a mere five minute walk to the famous Night Bazaar and only 10 minutes from the quaint and traditional attractions of the old moated city. Explore authentic Thai areas, seemingly endless markets and the city's quirky art culture with its bohemian vibe as well as popular cosmopolitan hangouts and a growing wellness scene. Surrounding the valley in which Chiang Mai resides, verdant mountains are home to vast national parks of virgin rainforest, impressive waterfalls and rare flora and fauna. Discover countless Buddhist temples, timeless hill tribe communities, exotic animal sanctuaries and fascinating handicraft villages, as well as historic ruins that tell a tale of a time when Chiang Mai was the capital of the ancient Lanna Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelbag and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Chiang Mai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chedi Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing