We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Nearby Hotels
Rachamankha(Chiang Mai)
US$425
US$401
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$80
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$105
US$80
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
G2 Boutique Hotel(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
U Chiang Mai(Chiang Mai)
US$156
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,605)
Filter reviews
2,605 results
Traveller rating
2,090
379
86
31
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,090
379
86
31
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub suitekasara suitebritish consulateriver view suitefree laundrynight marketday bedprivate loungeping rivercold towelsbeautiful hotelour honeymoonmain restaurantlarge balconycoffee machinefour seasonsmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,903 - 1,908 of 2,605 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

My husband and I stayed in a club suite at the Chedi for our honeymoon from October 11-14, 2006. I had done a lot of research, and booked the room based on great reviews -- despite the fact that I couldn't find many pictures of the hotel online.

The Chedi did not disappoint. It was beautiful, romantic, and the service was superb. We had a large, luxurious room directly overlooking the river. We had floor-to-ceiling windows, and a large balcony that ran the full length of the room. The amenties and service in our room were outstanding. (I highly recommend room 223 for the view.) Contrary to a few reviews I had read, we had absolutely no issues with noise.

The grounds of the hotel were a perfect mix of modern sophistication and historic elegance. By night, the hotel was lit by candlight, which made it even prettier. The pool and spa were relaxing and meticulously maintained. The location, which was right outside the night market, made it convenient to restaurants and shopping.

The restaurant was also a highlight of our stay. We had a delicious breakfast every morning overlooking the river. We were served wine and tapas one night on a day bed by candlelight (very romantic and sexy!). We also had a truly superb steak dinner one evening.

My husband liked the fact that we were picked up by a Mercedes limo from the airport, and that the hotel manager greeted us upon arrival. The staff was wonderful throughout our entire stay!!

For comparison purposes, we stayed at the Oriental in Bangkok and the JW Marriott in Phuket. Although those hotels were lovely, my husband and I were far more impressed by the Chedi.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaureenHBSurfCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

We were on our honeymoon and wanted to see the unspoilt north of Thailand but didn't want to slum it so the Chedi was perfect for us. No, better than perfect. We adored the place. On arrival the manager greeted us personally and had left a congratulations card & bottle of champagne for us in our room(real champagne too). We'd come from the Oriental in Bangkok and on the flight to Chiang Mai felt sad that we'd left such luxury behind. We couldn't have been more wrong. The hotel was gorgeous, the food in the restaurant was amazing, the pool was perfect (it was lovely to lie in the pool and watch dragonflies on the lilypads that surrounded it). The hotel's website doesn't do it justice. The location's great too. The night market is across the road and if you fancy a massage but don't want to pay hotel prices (which are very steep) then there are a couple of places a few steps from the front door and they're not dodgy in the slightest! Stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MrandMrs2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2006

First I had a problem with the concept - this is Chiang Mai. You know, essentially a launching ground for hikers going on trips. The Chedi was completely out of place, especially at the price. Listen - Chiang Mai is not even Bangkok, never mind Singapore, Shanghai or Seattle - which makes the room rate, food and drink prices simply unacceptable.

As for the place itself. Yes, cool. But no cooler than many other 'cool' hotels opening around the world. Overstaffed - we love the Thai attention to service - but seeing 6 people behind the reception desk and having to carry your own bags and wait 10 minutes for a taxi is pure theatre.

Sorry - there's a time and a place for this kind of thing and the Chedi in Chiang Mai is neither.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank jls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews