We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #105 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“good value hotel”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

we booked 2 twin bed rooms on hotels.com for Christmas holiday (Dec 24-27). We got stay 2 nights get extra one night free. And avg room price is only HK$316 for 2ppl including breakfast.

It turns out to be good choice and really worth the money.

Location is good, very close to night bazaar, Let's relax spa.

Facilities are OK though not new, but well maintained.

Room was very spacious, we got 19F rooms with very large bedroom together with large bathroom and one small living room as well.

Breakfast is good, esp lots of fresh fruits (i like papaya most).

All staff are helpful and nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    761
    521
    234
    135
See reviews for
354
656
178
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I'd rather give this hotel 3 stars as the given 4 stars for the whole classification talking about the interior of the entire hotel. Though it is a quiet new property, it doesn't look quiet new... It needs maintenance and even to restyled! The rooms are quiet dark... At night not enough light to work... ! Quality of the bed was ok, there was a mini bar and facilities to make coffee.
Bathroom with a bathtub and a separate shower, therefore: accessible for disabled person.
Location wise as good as the Meridien I also tried just opposite this property. For me, it couldn't be better... Just steps away from the Night Bazaar! Quality/price: more than ok... I tried 3 other hotels in CNX during this stay, but location wise: this was the best according to what I paid for, therefore would easily come back to this property even though the negative things I found out about this property!
Breakfast has a wide variety both for Asian as western tongues, and from a good quality!
No free WiFi in the rooms and entire building!!! You need to buy a voucher first, which was overprized!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DACHALADACHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I stayed there for three nights and the experience was great. Rooms were clean comfortable and relaxing.We were way up and had a beautiful view of the city,pool was clean, water was at a good temperature and you feel safe. Morning breakfast was good but only for two people.Service was excellent to me and my family.

Room Tip: It all depends on what one prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuxtonFrontman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Fantastic location but that's about all. Food is not bad but nothing to rave about. Room service is very good with friendly staff. Bathrooms are horrible, I had to hold the plug up to let all my dirty water out. The bathroom basin plug doesn't work. Bathroom not so great. Windows don't get washed on the outside. My biggest problem is the bed. My bed is caved in with the wire/spring of the bed kept poking me in my ribs. Had no sleep what so ever because of the discomfort. Asked for another bed at reception and still waiting for a new bed or room. Staff at reception are not helpful at all. From there website you expect a lot more but those pictures must have been taken when this hotel was first built. Not enjoyable at all and very disappointed .

Room Tip: Rather dont stay here. Look for another hotel in the area. This hotel is more of a pack packers para...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Langkawi, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I was there for first time to Chiang Mai ,we didn't book the hotel . We choose this hotel by airport travel agent suggestion. The hotel is good location can walk to night bazaar . The room was so old not nice . Breakfast was fine but location so dark in the building. We like to go Chiang Mai but we will try to choose another hotel that not far from night bazaar for a better stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenles_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Spent 2 nights here and the feeling I had was that this Hotel would have been the best hotel in Chiang Mai in the 90's but it hasn't changed since then meaning its old and a bit run down. Staff were very average especially considering the Thai's are normally so friendly. Also as you enter the bathroom there is a very small tiled ledge which seems like the dumbest thing ever ! I can only imagine how many guests have kicked their toe on there way to the bathroom in the middle of the night. Overall I would choose a diffent place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fran15111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Just returned from a 4D3N tour in Chiang Mai and stayed in this hotel. Spacious and clean. Night market is just in front of the hotel. So convenient. You must try the Tulip Massage after a long day of sight seeing. Only 400 Bath for two hour Thai Massage by experienced masseurs -your body will appreciate the treat!
Breakfast in Tawan Restaurant 2nd Floor - sumptious spread of western and local food. Enough seat for everyone.
Glad that I'd chosen this hotel for all it's convenience and services.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoSiew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,624 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#40 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#42 of 383 in Chiang Mai
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Property: Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Address: 132 Loykroh Road | Chang-Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing