We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but rooms a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #102 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We'd already read a few reports that the hotel is getting a make-over and that some of the rooms are a little bit dated, and to try to hold out for a refurbished room. To be fair, we did turn down our initial room and changed to a slightly better room, but when you arrive after a very tiring journey, the last thing you want is to mess about changing rooms. The older rooms aren't dirty, things like the carpets and furniture are just worn, although to be fair the bathroom was a lot more modern and looked like it had fairly recently been updated. The rooms are large for a city hotel and you really couldn't ask for a better location with it being right near the start of the night market and just a short walk away from the old city moat. If we had been staying for longer than 3 days, I might have tried changing rooms again, but to be fair we were out for most of the day and night and only really showered and slept in the room. Public areas such as reception etc are very nice and breakfast was good with a really wide choice, although we didn't try the hotel restaurants as we ate out each night. I'd recommend booking a trip to the temple up in the mountain at Doi Suthep or just taking one of the local taxis there (agree price beforehand). In all, whilst we were disappointed with the actual room decor, this hotel really is all about the location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreensHull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,123 - 1,129 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

Moved out of Thapae Boutique house once rooms became available in other hotels after the new year celebrations. Ecstatic to be out of that place, we found the Duangtawan right near night bazaar. it's far enough from the night bazaar to be quiet and close enough to walk within 3 minutes. Rooms only start from the 5th floor so it's high enough away from street noise. It is an older hotel but the room we stayed in on the 22nd floor was clean, well furnished and the bed was very very comfortable. Being older, I was expecting it to be well worn but it was surprisingly well kept and was an awesome room and the interior was not aged much. Friendliness of staff is not the highest but I'm not the neediest for service. The room and the quiet and the comfortable bed and the views of Chiang Mai were all I wanted and Duangtawan delivered. I would stay there again any time. Nice pool area and many restaurants in the hotel

Room Tip: Higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Booked 5 nights before I flew to London. I paid around 1000 baht per night and got a free upgrade to a business room on the 19th (i think, or 20th something) floor. The views were great, the bathroom was very modern, and the room whilst a little old, was still great. Views of CM were fantastic from up there.

I would recommend.

P.s - Request a room high up, that's how I got a free upgrade :)

Room Tip: Request a room high up, that's how I got a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We were given an upgrade on arrival and our room was pleasant. We would have preferred a double bed, but had twin beds instead. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and we ate in the hotel for two nights and the food was delicious in the restaurant. We hired a taxi for a day and visited the temple, Wat Prathat at doi Suthep and then went to see the elephants at Maesa Elephant Camp. We also had a super meal at Riverside one evening and caught a tuk- tuk back to the hotel afterwards. We had been told to take empty cases and understood why when we visited the night market, where we bartered and purchased many good quality bargains. We also visited the silk factory, which was lovely, and we were able to buy the finished products, rather more expensive, but worth it! We were fortunate to be in Chiang Mai whilst the Loy Kratong Festival was taking place and it was wonderful to watch from our hotel bedroom and see the lanterns going up into the sky.
One tip we read about on tripadvisor was to use the express lift which stopped close to our room, as the main lifts were frequently busy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreabocelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Good location close to night market and has all the basic services you want. Its a 60's building and no doubt would take a lot of money to renovate externally. Inside room good and service the same.
Breakfast a bit chaoitic.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gipsona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

we booked 2 twin bed rooms on hotels.com for Christmas holiday (Dec 24-27). We got stay 2 nights get extra one night free. And avg room price is only HK$316 for 2ppl including breakfast.

It turns out to be good choice and really worth the money.

Location is good, very close to night bazaar, Let's relax spa.

Facilities are OK though not new, but well maintained.

Room was very spacious, we got 19F rooms with very large bedroom together with large bathroom and one small living room as well.

Breakfast is good, esp lots of fresh fruits (i like papaya most).

All staff are helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I'd rather give this hotel 3 stars as the given 4 stars for the whole classification talking about the interior of the entire hotel. Though it is a quiet new property, it doesn't look quiet new... It needs maintenance and even to restyled! The rooms are quiet dark... At night not enough light to work... ! Quality of the bed was ok, there was a mini bar and facilities to make coffee.
Bathroom with a bathtub and a separate shower, therefore: accessible for disabled person.
Location wise as good as the Meridien I also tried just opposite this property. For me, it couldn't be better... Just steps away from the Night Bazaar! Quality/price: more than ok... I tried 3 other hotels in CNX during this stay, but location wise: this was the best according to what I paid for, therefore would easily come back to this property even though the negative things I found out about this property!
Breakfast has a wide variety both for Asian as western tongues, and from a good quality!
No free WiFi in the rooms and entire building!!! You need to buy a voucher first, which was overprized!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DACHALADACHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#71 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,695 reviews
0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#35 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 394 in Chiang Mai
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 132 Loykroh Road, Chang-Klan, Muang | Night Bazaar Shopping Centre, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#58 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £36 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing