We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #103 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Centara Duangtawan Hotel- Crappy, outdated and bad service! We were very misled by the inviting pictures on the website, so please don’t fall victim to their false advertising. This is not an international hotel! The concierge and staff do not speak English and could not even provide us with a recommendation for dinner. The cashier did not have any money when we tried to exchange bills even during the high season when we visited! Also, the entire hotel has a very bad odor…like moth balls or something. Top ten reasons to not stay here:
1. The rooms are dirty and tired looking. Our shower had mold in it and the bath tub was filthy!
2. The smell of our room was overwhelmingly bad…we bought candles at the night market to mask the odor.
3. The hotel restaurant is bad.
4. The pool is freezing and the sauna fits about 3 people. The Jacuzzi fits about 4 people and was not even hot.
5. The staff is not very accommodating and does not speak English well.
6. We were given a “non-smoking room” that smelled like smoke and when we requested to change, the staff was very rude.
7. The elevators are very slow.
8. The mattress was so soft that we sunk in the middle and it is better to put the mattress on the floor.
9. The bathroom was so poorly designed that my husband, who is average in size, could not fit in the shower.
10. Because there are so many reasons not to stay here!!
The one good thing about this hotel is that it is in a convenient location as it is a short walk to the Night Bazaar and a 10 minute drive to the Riverside area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,977 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

The reception staff was extremely unhelpful when we checked in. We were two families with two kids each. We were told that the staff could easily put an extra bed in but not assure us of a cot (even though we had booked this hotel almost a year ago). They also told us that the cot would only fit an infant. We almost paid for an extra room but they had no adjoining rooms available. When we got to the 19th floor, the housekeeping staff asked what we needed, provided two cots in which our four-year old could easily fit and had the rooms ready in no time. What a difference between the two kinds of staff. It turned out the rooms quite spacious. For the price paid, I thought it a good deal. You are right next to the night market and 5-10 min walk from the centre of town.

We stayed in the business rooms on the 19th floor.

The breakfast buffet is in a huge, very noisy, room. It was fine. We had the food and then went out of the hotel and to the left where there is cafe on the corner to pick up lattes every morning.

The pool is large but the water was freezing. The gym is good but gets really hot.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1924 and it was a larger room than most. It has two "arms", rather than one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindarosenstroemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

As other reviewers have noted the hotel has seen better days.... many years ago. The rooms are a decent size, but the fittings and bathrooms are worn and dated.

This hotel does not come close to the quality of Centara hotels in Bangkok. Service is haphazard. Find one of the rare motivated staff members and you will be looked after well, but most seem to trudge through each day. Consequently the feel of the hotel is mechanical and impersonal. Two notable exceptions were a doorman who took out his personal mobile to chase up a missing driver and a supervisor in the Tawan restaurant who remembered the morning coffee order. Breakfast otherwise was notable for food and plates running short.

Room Tip: If you must stay here - don't waste money on the business plus rooms or breakfast at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianfly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The location is really good, not far from the night market. Really nice terrace with a swimming pool, unfortunately ice-cold water, but a very nice gym.
Breakfast is not stellar, but not too bad either, I would say the all-inclusive resort quality - the very basic one or two Thai dishes, scrambled eggs and rice in the self-service bar. Seen much better at Marriott or Sheraton, but then for a far higher price. If you are willing to experiment with local cuisine, don't choose your hotel for the breakfast in Thailand- eat out.
Now the bad part: some of the rooms are supposedly renovated, others are not.
We had reserved a double bed in a non-smoking room well in advance, but on arrival we were told that there are only twin rooms available. Needless to say that did upset me. I objected but the receptionist just dropped me the keys and didn't want to talk to us anymore. After big time insisting, we were told that as of the second day we may move to a different room with a double bed.
That room stank of stale smoke. Upon complaining we were told that it's either that one or the twin bed room. Needless to say I was upset.
The rooms interior and furniture resembles old communist style of the 70's and 80's, and probably dates from then. The bathrooms of both rooms were done with wooden repainted furniture, which had rotten and full of fungae (see the photos). Not the most pleasant sight, I must say.
I complained to the management after my stay, and I was told that indeed some of the rooms are in need of renovation, but they have renovated 120 Superior and Deluxe Rooms on the 5th-8th floor and they will continue with the renovation of the others sometime in the future. It just so happens that ours was on the 11th floor.

As a compensation for the bad treatment and the very unpleasant stay, we were offered "special" prices and a complimentary SPA treatment for our next stay should we decide to book again Centara Duangtawan. I gave the manager my next travel dates, and he informed me that the offer is valid only if I were willing to move my travel dates and to book off-season.

Stay away from this hotel, I say.

The "spa" is ridiculously expensive, expect to pay 1/4 to 1/8 of the price for a similar service anywhere else.
The one really nice thing though is the gym. All the other good gyms are located relatively far from the centre, and you can stay in one of the small and cheaper hotels around and pay for the gym when you want to go.

Room Tip: Try the Superior and Deluxe, that are supposedly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnie_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We'd already read a few reports that the hotel is getting a make-over and that some of the rooms are a little bit dated, and to try to hold out for a refurbished room. To be fair, we did turn down our initial room and changed to a slightly better room, but when you arrive after a very tiring journey, the last thing you want is to mess about changing rooms. The older rooms aren't dirty, things like the carpets and furniture are just worn, although to be fair the bathroom was a lot more modern and looked like it had fairly recently been updated. The rooms are large for a city hotel and you really couldn't ask for a better location with it being right near the start of the night market and just a short walk away from the old city moat. If we had been staying for longer than 3 days, I might have tried changing rooms again, but to be fair we were out for most of the day and night and only really showered and slept in the room. Public areas such as reception etc are very nice and breakfast was good with a really wide choice, although we didn't try the hotel restaurants as we ate out each night. I'd recommend booking a trip to the temple up in the mountain at Doi Suthep or just taking one of the local taxis there (agree price beforehand). In all, whilst we were disappointed with the actual room decor, this hotel really is all about the location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreensHull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Moved out of Thapae Boutique house once rooms became available in other hotels after the new year celebrations. Ecstatic to be out of that place, we found the Duangtawan right near night bazaar. it's far enough from the night bazaar to be quiet and close enough to walk within 3 minutes. Rooms only start from the 5th floor so it's high enough away from street noise. It is an older hotel but the room we stayed in on the 22nd floor was clean, well furnished and the bed was very very comfortable. Being older, I was expecting it to be well worn but it was surprisingly well kept and was an awesome room and the interior was not aged much. Friendliness of staff is not the highest but I'm not the neediest for service. The room and the quiet and the comfortable bed and the views of Chiang Mai were all I wanted and Duangtawan delivered. I would stay there again any time. Nice pool area and many restaurants in the hotel

Room Tip: Higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitebobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Booked 5 nights before I flew to London. I paid around 1000 baht per night and got a free upgrade to a business room on the 19th (i think, or 20th something) floor. The views were great, the bathroom was very modern, and the room whilst a little old, was still great. Views of CM were fantastic from up there.

I would recommend.

P.s - Request a room high up, that's how I got a free upgrade :)

Room Tip: Request a room high up, that's how I got a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#65 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,886 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#42 of 389 in Chiang Mai
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 132 Loykroh Road, Chang-Klan, Muang | Night Bazaar Shopping Centre, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £29 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing