We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot, Rooms a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #106 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
173 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Spot, Rooms a bit dated”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed there 5 nights and it was the second time to stay there.
A very good location. The night bazar is just next to it.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are pleasant but a bit dated. Bathroom is OK.
Very good breakfast, although less good than two years ago.
The public area is lovely. Very large lobby.
The real problem are the elevators. 4 of them and yet, you can stuck for a long time waiting for them. Tip: ask for the express lift.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiri_Sh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    753
    519
    233
    135
See reviews for
347
654
175
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. You can see the Centara hotels are a coperate company as all seem to be of a high standard. The hotel was very well presented with marble floors,floral decorations,clean and staff were very friendly.
Pool area was lovely,it was on a higher floor which helped you relax away from busy traffic below. Well organised activities were on offer spa,fitness classes etc.
Breakfast was vast with alsorts on offer from cooked breakfast,traditional thai and usual cereals and fruit. Plenty on offer no matter whether you ate first thing or near to close of breakfast. Dinning areas were big with plenty seats to choose from. The hotel seemed very busy with lots of guests but catered for everyone well.
Bar downstairs had entertainment on nightly which was a singer who helped create a chilled out atmosphere in bar area.
Location was ideal, being able to venture out and explore bars,shops and a few minutes walk from the Night Bazaar which is worth a look.
All in all we had a comfortable stay and could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Nice hotel very clean and in a great location .the big roof top pool was well maintained with a swim up whirl pool.. ...it was in walking distance of the night bizarre and the very fun foxy lady go go bar . Would stay there again for sure

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonburk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

It was a great choice instead of the Imperial Mae Ping Hotel where the room price was higher but the service was very poor.
The only thing to say is that the elevators are tiny and narrow, but that didn't turn us down anyway =)
Definitely, I'll choose this place again when I'm in Chiangmai.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to see the view of a city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vladimir_Bradis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Vladimir_Bradis,

Thank you very much for your valued support and comments
We are doing our best to improve our services and facilities

We looking forward to your further visit

Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our recent stay in dynasty club rooms at centara duangtawan was very enjoyable rooms excellent. Service also excellent. Location great right outside night bazaar highly recommend. Service typically Thai eager to please.used services of sgt Kai mentioned in forums wouldd also recommend him

Room Tip: Dynasty club worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveBarnes58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

As this is our first trip to Chiangmai, we choose this hotel because of its close proximity to the Night Bazaars. The internet proved to be correct as we found the location of the hotel to be within two minutes walk to the main road, behind which two large night bazaars are situated namely, the Pavilion Night Bazaar and the Kalare Night Bazaar. This road has small stores on both sides selling all sorts of stuff in the evening. There are lots of eateries, pubs and shops around making it very convenient to move around on foot.

The hotel is relatively old, but well kept and clean. Rooms are big and comfortable. However, they are not too well sound insulated and slight noise can be heard from next door if the neighbor is too noisy. Air conditioning can be noisy too. Wi-fi is not free and need to be purchased at the counter. However, free wifi is readily available in many cafes outside. The hotel staffs are very polite and helpful. Most of them understands and speak simple English. Infact, most people in Chiangmai do, making it fairly easy to communicate.

There is a free shuttle pick-up at the hotel to the biggest shopping complex in the city, the Central Airport Plazza. A travel desk is situated at the lobby where one can arrange for tours or daytrips. The hotel also provides transport rental with driver at a reasonable rate.

Buffet breakfast is served at the 2nd floor – good choice but basically the same food is offered during the three days we stayed there.

We will definitely stay at this hotel in our next visit as the hotel is both conveniently located and value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Sim W,

Thank you very much for your kind comment to let us know how
To improve our product, we are doing our best to improve our room
Facilities as well as the quality of services

Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This hotel looks good from the lobby but the rooms are very run down with stains on the carpet and not good condition. The location is great though right next to Night Market and when you get turned around shopping you just have to look up and can find your hotel. It is about A Motel 6 quality I would say. The pool was nice though and they have a good happy hour.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aujusali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear aujusali,

Your valued comments on the condition of room and carpet were
Brought into our attention Thank you for your time to let us know
How to improve the product

Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#40 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,807 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#38 of 381 in Chiang Mai
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Property: Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Address: 132 Loykroh Road | Chang-Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing