We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,242)
Filter reviews
2,242 results
Traveller rating
318
871
616
271
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
871
616
271
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviews express lift night bazaar breakfast buffet bit dated burger king club room nice pool old city rooms are large doi suthep tuk tuk centara sauna massage laundry deluxe
Filter
Updating list...
1,118 - 1,123 of 2,242 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I think we paid under £50 per night for bed and breakfast at the Centara Duangtawan, yes it was slightly dated, however for the price we paid it was really good value. The sheets were changed daily, plenty of towels and toiletries, coffee in the room and a really extensive breakfast, lots of choices, hot and tasty! I asked for one of the refurbished rooms and it was more than adequate. We had a good view of the mountain and the pool. The best thing for us was the location, it’s really central and within walking distance of the walled city, lots of bars and restaurants. It’s just across the road from Le Meridien, so if you expect Le Meridien standards you can expect to pay 3 or 4 times as much for the hotel. The staff were friendly and we didn’t have any trouble with the lifts. A good base for exploring Chiang Mai.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynnetim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A group of 14 golfers - we decided to stay at Centara Duangtwang in Chiang Mai as we had stayed here before about two years back but let me be honest that this time the stay was very very disappointing because there is no upkeep of this hotel and the Club Rooms on the 18th Floor were also badly dated and worn out. Very ordinary hotel but surprisingly pulls a lot of crowd as was packed. I wowed to myself that next time onwards we shall never stay in this property. The staff could not careless about any customer complaints.

Room tip: Please choose another property as this is really not worth the effort.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arvindmahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback,

We deeply sorry for the unpleasant experience occurred
With Your previous stay, all Management will take your
Comments to improve our product

We have also recently started the refurbishing plan of rooms
So as the issues you experienced with the room quality can be
Erased as the refurbishment becomes complete

At the same time, the Front Office team will relate your comment
To all of team, we may improve our service immediately.

We apologize to you sincerely for inconvenience caused

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Many years ago this hotel might have been good. But many rooms need to be updated, furniture, bathroom, mattresses, lobby ALL need to be re-done.
Service staff are AVERAGE for Thailand.
Hotel smells musty in lobby, hallways and the rooms that I have stayed in before.
Food service in room is fair.....food was WARM and prices a little high for what you receive.
I would suggest that if you are coming to Chiang Mai spend a little more on a room and have a MORE enjoyable hotel room experience!!!

Room tip: Search another hotel...
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khunjerrybkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valued comments, we deeply sorry
For the unpleasant experience occurred with your previous stay
with us

The Rooms Division team will take your comments to improve
their performance we have also recently started the refurbishing
of rooms also to deep clean all public area so as the issues you
experienced with the room quality can be erased as the
refurbishment becomes complete

At the same time, the Food and Beverage team will relate your
comment to all of team, we may improve the food service
immediately.

We apologize to you sincerely for inconvenience caused

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Maybe this was once a nice hotel, but today it is a tired and badly managed concrete block in downtown Chiang Mai. Its only redeeming factor is its location if you want the convenience of being close to the night bizarre or if you are on a short business stay.

Our reservation for accommodation AND a meeting room, was 'missing' from their computer system even though we had booked directly with the hotel.The staff's capacity to handle such issues, was woeful as well. We didn't appreciate wasting time while they figured out what they were doing. They finally found the booking - it was in a plastic folder 'somewhere' as opposed to entered into their computer system.

You can experience great panoramic views from the rooms as it is one of only a few high rises in Chiang Mai - too bad that you couldn't see through the windows as they were rather filthy. Safety concerns abounded as the windows appeared to be affixed together by a messy and haphazard application of silicon filler.

Maintenance in the rooms was done in a shoddy manner and with no attention to detail. The recycled slippers had dirty stains on them and so did the bed skirting and covers. The carpets could use a good clean too. The bathroom shower cubicle was full of mould and towel racks were not attached properly. The basket holding the amenities, was dusty and very dirty. The bathrobes were nice and freshly washed.

Internet was unstable and almost pointless - very frustrating when you have business to tend to. We gave up in the end and went to nearby coffee shops which offer free and more reliable wifi.

A fruit basket was in the room - a nice gesture but we would have preferred more useful amenities such as functional internet. Free drinking water was provided along with coffee/tea making facilities.

My husband had a short business conference arranged at this hotel and it was good value for money if you are on a budget but the meeting rooms are as tired as the bedrooms and they also had trouble with the internet (never give any web-based presentations if you are using facilities at this Centara). Coffee and tea was provided during coffee breaks.... well the coffee and tea pots had clearly never been cleaned since their purchase date although the pastries provided, were very nice and fresh.

We didn't use the pool. From a distance, it looked pleasant enough.

In Thailand, you can stay at some beautiful Centara hotels but this one appears to have been forgotten by Centara HQ. Let's hope that they have pencilled this one in for a revamp soon otherwise it can damage their brand.

We would never willingly stay at this hotel again - but I guess you get what you pay for as the room rates are quite low for a supposed 4 star hotel. For the same price, it is better to book one of the lovely boutique hotels or homestays which abound in Chiang Mai as they are more authentic to this region and provide a more efficient and personalised service.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Madam,

We are deeply sorry to learn that our overall standard of service and
Our product was extremely negative when you stayed with us previously
Your private booking was duplicated mentioning in another list of
Conference participant my sincere apologies for this unprofessional handling
and I have spoken with the Front Office Team on how to avoid this similar case
In the further

We know well that our property needs the upgrading and needs to be more
Attention in the cleanliness, Re-painting and cleaning for entire building is
Already set into this year plan of renovation, the refurbishing of some room
And The Conference Facilities have started last year and will continue to finish
All of them as soon as possible

You comment on the internet problem be discussed. We found that some of
Service area is provided the unstable signal the technical team will inspect all
area to improve the internet service as per you pointed out

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the unhappy experiences that occurred
During your recent stay with us

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our stay at this hotel was fine. We stayed on the Club Level. The problem occurred when we checked out. The desk clerk showed up with some dirty pillowcases and said we had to pay 1000 baht for them because they had black marks on them. I said, "why don't you wash them?" They told me that they did. I took one into the men's room and hand washed it with hand soap and the marks came off easily. If they washed them, they didn't do a good job. I took the one I washed back and the manager still wanted 500 baht for the trouble. I've never been shaken down for money in a hotel before. I guess there is always a first time. Beware of this place.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UpInTheAirDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, Front Office Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for you patronage and for your valued feedback
With regards to the fact you were charged for a dirty pillowcases, please
Accept my apologize

We do have a policy in place that provides leverage for staff to make
Decisions on any damage Charges to guest rooms However in your case
It appears that our staff was overzealous in their translation of the policy
and I will ensure that the appropriate measures are taken to re train this
Policy to take into account the difference between accidental and malicious
loss and damage of Hotel property

We apologize to you sincerely for inconvenience caused

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews