We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location if a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #107 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Canberra
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location if a little tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

agree other recent posts - great location near night markets and old town. Probably 5 years past the time it needed a renovation but the location made up for it. Concierge desk was very helpful without being pushy on tours

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    739
    508
    231
    129
See reviews for
341
638
171
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was my first time to Chiang Mai, and had read so many amazing things about the city I was incredibly touched when I arrived late on evening and walked around durring the election period to its amazing nightlife and holly vibe.
The hotel is in position perfect, the reception staff are simply amazing, whereas the portiers and bell-boys are well...... A little too relaxed and laid back shal we say.
The rooms are very spacious and clean, however everything in this hotel is old and run-down and in desperate need to renovation and re-newing. The location is outstanding, walking distance from night-life, markets, temples well-known tourist attractions, Chiang Mai is so small most places are 80-100baht tuk tuk ride away if you cant be bothered walking. Along with the simply 10 out of 10 Breakfast selection with incredible service- before you even get a chance to sit down, your already being asked if your would like tea or coffee, with a massive selection of all varities of gourment.

Room Tip: Make sure you get WIFI in your package deal, same as Breakfast, otherwise the Internet charges in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just spent 3 nights in this hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the location, it is perfect! Right on the doorstep is the Night Bazaar and all the bars, shops & restaurants (although not too loud, which was great).
The hotel is huge and upon arrival the reception and bars look amazing! The room we had was a little dated and upholstery not in the best condition and the toilet/shower was tiny; however for a 3 night stay it was great! The room was of a good size and bed comfy and could not hear any noise. We did not eat at the restaurants so cannot comment on these. The gym was good (I think it's open for locals also) it was fairly busy, very big with lots of equipment. The breakfast was of good variety and tasted good too!
There may be nicer hotels around; although for the price and location this hotel is perfect. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1,712 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 867 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Outstanding location, can't be beat, just 100 meters from the Night Bazaar. Reliable hotel of good quality and value for money. Clean rooms and good service. Nice breakfast buffet, improved from the past. Friendly, relaxed service. Not a fantastic hotel, but a very good hotel, especially for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have been using the Centara Duang Tawan for many years - mainly because, during the low season, the Dynasty Club rooms on the 23rd floor represent the best value to be had in Chiang Mai.

The hotel and rooms are spotlessy clean. Staff are motivated, friendly and efficient.
However a number of issues have struck me, the first of which is that the hotel is in need of a make-over. Secondly the industrial scale tourism attracted by this type of hotel is being increasingly challenged by the success of boutique hotels and their individualised offers. The apparent lack of management will to adapt seems casual. thirdly I was shocked to see an advertisement for Chinese dishes in my room suggesting 'Superior shark's fin soup'. this is insensitive - hence the title of the review. Finally the hairdryer plug in the bathroom does not match the scket, resulting a 1200 watt unearthed hairdryer next to the wash hand basin.

Finally, and in spite of these criticisms, I would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: always choose the Dynasty floor - the standard breakfast provided for clients from the other floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingfield73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. While a hotel and rooms renovation plan is currently being carried out your feedback regarding the hairdryer plug is well noted and I have asked our Chief Engineer to check this issue for the safety of all our guests into the future.

The issue of sharks fin soup is a contentious one – it is the policy of Centara Hotels and Resorts that all hotels newly opening since 2013 do not sell sharks fin and we are endeavoring to support the motion that in the near future none of our restaurants serve it – thank you for allowing us time to tackle this challenge with other concerned parties.

We are pleased to learn that overall your stay with us proved to be mostly enjoyable and thank you for your positive recommendation of our hotel with regards to the Dynasty room and Club services.

We look forward to welcoming your back in the near future

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Centara in Chiang Mai as part of our holiday exploring Thailand.

Our room was spacious but very dated in design (as is the whole hotel) but this isn't something that ruined our stay as the price of the hotel reflects this. So no complaint here.

We didn't really use this hotels pool as we were busy whilst in Chiang Mai, we did attempt a swim one late afternoon but the water was ice cold. Whilst it is nice to have cooler water when the weather is high 30's heat, it was too cold even for the high heat.

We didn't eat at this hotel so no comments on food.

We did not have a huge amount of interaction with the staff at this hotel as you are left alone when you stay. But when I needed to discuss something the staff were friendly.

Same advice I always give is book your stay direct with the hotel. You'll find it always works out cheaper to go direct in Thailand (just type hotel name in google) and most if not all hotels give you extras for booking direct. They loose money if you book through an agent.

This hotel gave us free WiFi for booking direct. If you don't book direct you will have to pay an hourly rate for WiFi.

Overall happy with the stay.

I would have rated higher but we were charged for a key that was stolen and whilst did kindly reduce the charge of the stolen key by 50%, I had already had money stolen with the key so this added a further blow.

Don't let this put you off as the hotel is a good value and Chiang Mai is very safe and friendly, I just had a bit bad luck. Doesn't happen to everyone.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank directinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

we stayed for 4 nights in march
hotel perfectly ok - reasonably priced, clean, bright , a well located for the average tourist.
no complaints.

one bit of advice for any WIFI users - apply for a Centara One card before you arrive so you can have the free wifi for you whole stay.

Taxi from the airport 120BHT , taxi booked at hotel to return to the airport 260 BHT !!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordie_tart666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#49 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Property: Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Address: 132 Loykroh Road | Chang-Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing