We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #102 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Booked this hotel for its location . Very close to Night Bazaar. Reception was friendly. We booked a corner room 1701 , the room size was decent, the wash basin was outside of the bathroom, just as well because the shower , bathtub and toilet was a real squeeze. Mattress was very hard. Curtains did not close well and the morning light came into the room very early.Breakfast had a good variety of Western and Asian and they changed the Asian dishes . I stayed 5 nights . It is a old and very tired hotel. The room prices were very , very reasonable ,so do not have high expectations. Not a hotel for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive communication to us concerning your recent stay

I have asked our House Keeping Manager to check all the condition of all beds and curtains to ensure that no other guests are inconvenienced as you were – our sincere apologies.

Despite the issues that marred your stay we are buoyed by the fact that you appreciated the ideal location of the hotel and staff as well as the breakfast service and we look forward to welcoming your back on a future occasion

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 2,002 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had originally booked the Dusit D2 for our honeymoon stay in Chaing Mai, but the rates were so good at the Centara (during a sale) that we cancelled the Dusit and booked the Centara – we kind of wished we hadn’t.
It feels mean to be critical as the staff are doing the best that they can with what they have – and you certainly get a good service for what you pay. However it isn’t a brand new luxurious hotel, and even though we should have realised this before we went their webpage definitely shows the hotel in the best light possible.
We booked a club room and this provided us with round trip transfers to the airport which were great.
We also had breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails in the lounge. This was a little confusing as we are used to club lounges in other hotels (Hiltons, Hyatts etc) where you get soft drinks in the afternoons in the lounges this is not the case here, its water or tea/coffee, then in the evening the ‘canapes’ are crisps and nuts with two drinks each. I can understand why they offer such a limited service (it was very quiet there and they do not charge that much more for the lounge access) but nowadays most hotels offer more than this. Having the cocktails made fresh for you was nice and they tasted lovely, but it made the lounge very stuffy and formal, a help yourself to more basic drinks may create a warmer atmosphere?
The pool area (along with other areas in the hotel) is again very tire d and in need of a revamp. Our room was certainly very large and very clean but lacked modern touches. Staff try to be very helpful but their English is not very good (yes I know its in Thailand but most large hotels have staff with a good grasp of English) and I wish they would just say they didn’t understand instead of giggling at you, talking to their colleagues and laughing some more etc – quite childish behaviour when you’re seeking assistance.
We had room service – again quite old fashioned – good value for money I guess but food was very mediocre.
If you need an umbrella you can ask at reception and they will find one for you, but would expect touches like this to be in the rooms.
As another reviewer as commented I also did NOT like the shark fin soup advertisement in the room. If the manager is trying to come inline with other Centara’s why not scrap this?
Most disappointing for us is that we were there on our honeymoon and this so far is the only hotel we stayed in that made no mention of this (I had emailed letting them know and asking if there we could have a room with a particularly good view or if they offered any additional romantic packages, they emailed back stating my honeymoon was noted on my file so i left it at that – but no greeting or anything-really disappointing and room not ready for us either which again disappointing when they knew when we were arriving and collected us from airport themselves.
Location was good. Would I stay here again? I’m not sure. I wouldn’t recommend for a special occasion but if I wanted somewhere cheap to stay on a normal holiday maybe if the price were right. But for what we paid we were disappointed-in Thailand you tend to get a great deal, I would expect this level of hotel for the money we paid in the UK.

Room Tip: Club rooms are very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah6969pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback – I have already forwarded your comment on the limit of food and beverage presentation to the Food and Beverage team who will now gauge how we can substantially improve this for all future guests

Your comment regarding the umbrella in room is well noted and you are correct in assuming that this a standard for our hotel also however for reasons I am now investigating the umbrellas were not placed in your room.

The issue of sharks fin soup is a contentious one and into the future I am pleased to inform you that all new restaurants opening at any Centara Hotel into the future will not be offering sharks fin soup.

Our Human Resource Teams group wide place a high amount of time and resources training our staff on guest contact skills – I am sorry that you were let down when your Honeymoon arrival was not recognized and for your wait for the room to be prepared. I have personally spoken to the House Keeping Manager and Front Office Manager who are tasked with discussing with each other on a daily basis the arrival of guests and ensuring that special occasions are recognized and given priority service – my sincere apologies that this was not the case when you stayed with us – it is an embarrassment to all of us and serves as a great lesson to our Team that we only get one chance to make a good first impression.

We hope that on a future occasion and visiting Chiang Mai you will consider staying with us again so as we show you the improvements made

Yours sincerely

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This was our first stop after 3 flights from England and they made us very welcome even though we arrived very late at night. The rooms were very spacious with views over the markets on our first visit and views over the outdoor roof concert area on the second visit. If we went again I would ask for this side of the hotel. On our second visit our room was upgraded but to be honest we could see very little difference unless they counted the view as an upgrade so just book the cheapest.. The roof top pool on floor 4 was lovely places to sit in sun or shade and a great place to relax and recharge your batteries. The breakfast was excellent although on 2 days of our stay they ran out of 'crispy bacon' and they did put the bacon on bread in the containers. Normally this would not be a problem but as our daughter has to eat a gluten free diet there was not a great deal she could eat even with the help of a Thai speaking member of our party. We were there for Thai New Year and have never had so much fun with water and the hotel knew just how to cope when everyone came back soaked. An excellent base not just for the night market but for all the other things you can do around the area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the roof top concert area seemed quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ardentspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Great value and location! Feeling very old and has a large but old bathroom with mold under the tap plus had an horrible shower head. Breakfast in the morning was great though and would not hesitate to stay again just for the location and price!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bri8582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments – I have asked our House Keeping Manager to check all of our rooms to ensure that the issue you faced regarding a dirty tap and shower head is not encountered by future guests.


We are pleased to learn that overall your stay with us proved to be enjoyable and thank you for your positive recommendation of our hotel with regards to the location and food service

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I chose this hotel based on price. Got a great deal - about 1300THB / night including breakfast. It's conveniently located near the night market, and only 10 minutes from the airport.

Pros:
- Room was clean
-Comfortable bed
- Very large swimming pool and well-appointed fitness center
-Decent breakfast buffet and service

Cons:
-Hotel is old and looking very dated
- A/C was very poor. Had it set on the coldest setting, yet the room never cooled down. Made for uncomfortable sleeping
-WIFI was terrible, and impossible to connect from my room. I needed to go into the common areas, and even then it was spotty.
-Walls were very thin and I could easily hear my neighbors

For the price it was a decent choice, but at that price, don't expect 4-5 star quality

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfmattyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive communication to us concerning your recent stay

A renovation of many rooms and facilities has been started and is scheduled to continue this year. I feel confident that with the completion of the latter project all of the issues you confronted will be improved upon substantially. I have asked our House Keeping Manager to coordinate with the Engineering team to check all of room air conditioning units to ensure that no other guests are inconvenienced as you were – our sincere apologies.

In the same vein, your comment regarding the WIFI signal is well noted and I have asked our IT Team to carry out tests to provide information that will assist us in boosting the signal throughout the hotel rooms and public areas

Despite the issues that marred your stay we are buoyed by the fact that you appreciated the ideal location of the hotel and facilities as well as the breakfast service, we look forward to welcoming your back on a future occasion

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

agree other recent posts - great location near night markets and old town. Probably 5 years past the time it needed a renovation but the location made up for it. Concierge desk was very helpful without being pushy on tours

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was my first time to Chiang Mai, and had read so many amazing things about the city I was incredibly touched when I arrived late on evening and walked around durring the election period to its amazing nightlife and holly vibe.
The hotel is in position perfect, the reception staff are simply amazing, whereas the portiers and bell-boys are well...... A little too relaxed and laid back shal we say.
The rooms are very spacious and clean, however everything in this hotel is old and run-down and in desperate need to renovation and re-newing. The location is outstanding, walking distance from night-life, markets, temples well-known tourist attractions, Chiang Mai is so small most places are 80-100baht tuk tuk ride away if you cant be bothered walking. Along with the simply 10 out of 10 Breakfast selection with incredible service- before you even get a chance to sit down, your already being asked if your would like tea or coffee, with a massive selection of all varities of gourment.

Room Tip: Make sure you get WIFI in your package deal, same as Breakfast, otherwise the Internet charges in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#69 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,691 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 392 in Chiang Mai
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 132 Loykroh Road, Chang-Klan, Muang | Night Bazaar Shopping Centre, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £40 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing