We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spent a weekend in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #107 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Corinth, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spent a weekend in Chiang Mai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in a central location near the night market. That made for easy access shopping and dining in the area. Our room was comfortable but nothing plush which was fine because we didn't spend much time there anyway. The front desk staff were typically Thai friendly and the check-in was a breeze. Please note that there is an express elevator to the right of the reception that will whisk you up to the top floors in no time. Nobody seems to know it is there which was great for us.

We made good use of the tour office on the lobby level. The convenience was well worth the extra price we paid. As with everything else in Thailand negotiate! The staff is friendly and we has no problems with our tours.

Be aware that in our room the hot water on the shower fluctuates whenever another nearby room turns on their shower. It made for a cold burst a time or two. In the end I survived without problems.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we were all very pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and our friendly Thai service staff. Please accept our sincere apologies
That a sometimes cold shower was the only problem you encountered and I have asked our
Chief Engineer to investigate how we might improve this for all future guests

We hope that when you next visit Chiang Mai you will consider staying with us again.

Yours sincerely

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    739
    508
    231
    129
See reviews for
341
638
171
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My 17 year old son and I stayed here in July 2014 for a few nights. This was our first visit to Chang Mai. The hotel was centrally located with a Seven Eleven across the street. The rooms were large and very clean. I've read some reviews that the air conditioning was a little weak. It was fine for me but my son thought it was sufficient but should be able to get a little cooler. Another complaint was about the water pressure. We both agreed it was more than acceptable. The best of all was the swimming pool. On the 4th floor and was one of the largest, if not the largest, in Chang Mai. If you are there in the summer you will need an afternoon dip after sightseeing in the morning. There was a mini fridge, coffee maker and bottled water delivered every day. Several English channels on the television. Only a 10 minute ride to the airport. We would stay there again on another visit.

Room Tip: One overlooking the pool and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 767captlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
724 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went as part of the tour and the stayed here for two nights. The lobby is on multiple levels and was clean and convenient. The hotel is located a block or so off of the main street making it both convenient and quiet. There were dclothes cleaners across the street with very inexpensive services. We were a few blocks from the gigantic night markets as well as a plethora of restaurants.

The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the bathroom facilities up to date. We enjoyed our stay here. A very nice breakfast buffet is included.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a mess this place is ! The lobbies stink from food and they hardly turn on the lights so the place is depressing. I couldn't believe how dirty the room was at check in and the carpet in the hallways is all buckled from the mildew. They upgraded me to a business room and there was actual food and dirt under the bed. Sick and disgusting. The curtains were fixed in the corners so you couldn't open them up and torn.
The gym is so hot with hardly any AC and the sauna was broken.
This is at best a one star hotel so I wouldn't stay here next time even if it was free.
Sadly the people who work here are very nice and this should not be in the Centara chain of hotels.

Room Tip: Don't stay here period
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank setay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Quite clearly our overall standard of service and product presentation was extremely negative when you stayed with us recently and we apologize most sincerely for the wrath of challenges you have mentioned in your review.

Our entire team is embarrassed to learn that your holiday in Thailand was perceived as an unpleasant experience and I can assure you that we will place immediate emphasis on the points you have raised so as we might prove to you In the future that your comments have led to significant improvements in our guests perception of our overall presentation of products and services.

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Rooms are old bathrooms are really small and old I would not recommend this .
Do not take a hotel shuttle from airport three times expensive everybody charges 200 baht
Hotel charges 550 baht
I would give one star
Lobby looks goods but rooms pictures on website looks goods but that's not what they are

Room Tip: I would not recommend it at all from my experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feed back with suggestions as to how we can improve our products and services.

Please be informed that a renovation of many rooms and facilities started last year is scheduled to continue this year. With regards to the charging price of hotel airport shuttle service, we are presently reviewing our current policy in line with a number of other guest commentary received that matches your own sentiments.

It remains only for me to thank you sincerely for your honest and straight to the point review which will assist us in ensuring that future guests are not faced with the same issues

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. We booked a deluxe room, whilst checking in we were upgraded to Bussineess plus. Great big rooms. The hotel is situated in Chiang Mai's night bazaar. The old city is a casual 10 minute walk from hotel.. Staff friendly, good breakfast, nice pool and gym.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toeknee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This hotel is part of the Centara chain and is perfectly situated for Chiangmai's famous night market. The staff are helpful, rooms average, in need of updating. Nice pool area, average food main restaurant. Be aware that elevators are small and very slow, and bathrooms tend to smell. Having stayed there for several business conventions I have learned to bring air freshener with me. You'll want to do the same!

Room Tip: There is very little sound barrier with adjoining rooms with inside doors. Catching the elevator is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelophehad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#49 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#40 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Property: Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Address: 132 Loykroh Road | Chang-Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotelopia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing