We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location in Chiangmai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #106 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We love this Hotel downtown Chiangmai right in the heart of the night market..If you are looking for location and clean and comfy rooms this is the one to choose.Lots to do right on the doorstep of this hotel also if you need transport anywhere then there is always plenty at the front door .They also have a free shuttle to the mall that runs all day .Food in the Hotel is very good staff are great check in is easy...always our choice.

Room Tip: The higher floors give you amazing views of the city.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank theroadtoparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,952)
There are newer reviews for Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked this hotel serval months ago and since then I have been checking the TA reviews hoping that they would improve ! We have been traveling for a month and last week before we arrived here I was looking at changing my booking to a 5 star hotel - worried that the centara would not be up to scratch.
I need not have worried, as we were picked up at the airport ( included in our deal) and there was a staff member waiting to greet us and take us to the lobby for check in when we arrived .We hadn't even sat down when the 6 of us received our welcome drinks , needless to say check in was swift .
We had booked two x 1 bedroom corner rooms that through my emails I was assured were on Dynasty Club level 23 which they were. These rooms are approx 75 sqm and have recently been renovated and nonsmoking .
The rooms are large and have a diving wall with each area having its own privacy and tv. We could easily fit 2 trundle beds into the room for our 10 & 11 year olds - which as people know can be difficult if you're in that situation.
The Dynasty lounge provided tea/ coffee etc all day but food was limited. Normally in club lounges you are still able to order a hot breakfast however this was not possible and if you wanted a substantial breakfast then it was best to go to the general breakfast area.
The hotel has the bonus of being central and with a great pool .
We enjoy Chiang a Mai and no doubt will come again - I would also book club level - yes it costs more but we couldn't be happier with the rooms.
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Book a higher room that has been newly refurbished. Best to email the hotel direct for this info. T...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beagles3429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

hotel was very nice. Our room was very clean and spacious with a HUGE bed. Breakfast was a buffet but was vey busy every time we went with people on business in very large groups (almost taking over the buffet). We managed to get a great deal on agoda for this hotel so great idea to shop around too. Pool, gym, Jacuzzi were all free clean and not busy. WiFi didn't seem to work in anyones room we spoke to but I found opening the door or sitting on the communal areas was great :)

Room Tip: Shop around for a good price! WiFi in hallways May be noisy when busy!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle20082009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Most of my thoughts have been expressed by others. Yes, the lobby has a musty smell and yes, the bathroom kind of does too. The rooms are dated, but they are clean and the aircon works well. We were on the 16th floor and had a great view of the city! The pool is a large L shape with sufficient chairs in sun and shade. Towels are provided. The hotel location is perfect for the night market and it is easy to see from old-town because of its height. Yes, the tide from the airport is a little pricy, but it was convenient so we paid it. We took a cab when we left, both rides were only about 10 minutes. Breakfast here was buffet style, decent, but nothing superb. The eggs were so burnt on our last day I thought they were pancakes :) the hotel did give us a box breakfast the morning of our early flight and it was great! Overall, it was a good stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feed back with suggestions as to how we can improve our products and services.

I have already forwarded your comment on the quality of breakfast to the Food and Beverage team who is taking action to gauge how to manage the issue you encountered concerning the cooking of eggs at breakfast service

Despite the issues that marred your stay we are buoyed by the fact that you appreciated the ideal location of the hotel and pool service, we look forward to welcoming your back on a future occasion

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in a central location near the night market. That made for easy access shopping and dining in the area. Our room was comfortable but nothing plush which was fine because we didn't spend much time there anyway. The front desk staff were typically Thai friendly and the check-in was a breeze. Please note that there is an express elevator to the right of the reception that will whisk you up to the top floors in no time. Nobody seems to know it is there which was great for us.

We made good use of the tour office on the lobby level. The convenience was well worth the extra price we paid. As with everything else in Thailand negotiate! The staff is friendly and we has no problems with our tours.

Be aware that in our room the hot water on the shower fluctuates whenever another nearby room turns on their shower. It made for a cold burst a time or two. In the end I survived without problems.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank mgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we were all very pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and our friendly Thai service staff. Please accept our sincere apologies
That a sometimes cold shower was the only problem you encountered and I have asked our
Chief Engineer to investigate how we might improve this for all future guests

We hope that when you next visit Chiang Mai you will consider staying with us again.

Yours sincerely

K Boonchai – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My 17 year old son and I stayed here in July 2014 for a few nights. This was our first visit to Chang Mai. The hotel was centrally located with a Seven Eleven across the street. The rooms were large and very clean. I've read some reviews that the air conditioning was a little weak. It was fine for me but my son thought it was sufficient but should be able to get a little cooler. Another complaint was about the water pressure. We both agreed it was more than acceptable. The best of all was the swimming pool. On the 4th floor and was one of the largest, if not the largest, in Chang Mai. If you are there in the summer you will need an afternoon dip after sightseeing in the morning. There was a mini fridge, coffee maker and bottled water delivered every day. Several English channels on the television. Only a 10 minute ride to the airport. We would stay there again on another visit.

Room Tip: One overlooking the pool and city.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 767captlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We went as part of the tour and the stayed here for two nights. The lobby is on multiple levels and was clean and convenient. The hotel is located a block or so off of the main street making it both convenient and quiet. There were dclothes cleaners across the street with very inexpensive services. We were a few blocks from the gigantic night markets as well as a plethora of restaurants.

The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and the bathroom facilities up to date. We enjoyed our stay here. A very nice breakfast buffet is included.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#36 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,870 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#37 of 386 in Chiang Mai
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Address: 132 Loykroh Road, Chang-Klan, Muang | Night Bazaar, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#55 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £29 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing