We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Ranked #108 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights last month and was not disappointed, this is a big hotel and has a great breakfast, I was amazed with the catering staff, how they put this much food together every morning for their guests and kept up the high standard, and always coffee with a smile.

The place is very popular, and I can see why, perfect location. The rooms are just in-need of renovations but are still very comfortable and well laid out. I had no troubles at all with any staff member, even on the front desk, which seemed to be rushed off their feet with requests, our check in and check out was handled with quiet efficiency....well done.

Could never connect to their wifi in the room, if I sat by the elevator on my floor (18), it was no problem...a bit of a pain but got the job done

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fileeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive communication concerning your recent stay with us

While a room renovation plan is currently being carried, your feedback regarding the WI-FI connection has been shared with our IT Team who will carry out tests to provide information that will assist us in boosting the signal throughout the hotel rooms and public areas.


Despite the issues that marred your stay we are buoyed by the fact that you appreciated the ideal location of the hotel and breakfast service, we look forward to welcoming your back on a future occasion

Yours sincerely,

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    754
    519
    233
    135
See reviews for
347
654
176
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Many rooms and floors! The staff are very helpful and friendly.
The rooms are old and I have to say the 1st room they took us too was dreadful I walked in and turned around walked out and asked to change the room. Took advise from a TripAdvisor (Big Thank You) told to take a room on 8th floor,as at the time the hotel had re-decorated that floor (1st visit 2011)
The hotel is 2 mins from the Night Markets so ideal for shopping and the many restaurants. Also 10 mins away from the Old Town and Moat.
The pool and fitness centre good. The Spa in hotel,very nice did a 5 hour top to toe package.
It's very much the budget hotel to good for short holiday.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive feed back with suggestions as to how we can improve our products and services.

Please be informed that a renovation of many rooms and facilities started last year and is scheduled to continue this year I feel confident that with the completion of the latter project
Of the issues you were confronted with will be improved upon substantially

Please be assured that all guest comments are received in a positive manner and considered in light of how they can improve our products and services for all guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.


Yours sincerely

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this hotel for the location and value. The hotel is situated right next to the night market and has lots of restaurants and shops around it. The staff were helpful and the hotel provides a good service and a decent breakfast. The hotel is big and has many shops and restaurants inside however I would say that the hotel needs renovating, especially the rooms, they aren't as contemporary and stylish as some of the hotels we had stayed in but overall I think the hotel was good, you get what you pay for and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 89RPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was a bit apprehensive as I had never stayed here before but took a friends recommendation. I was not disappointed. The hotel is modern, centrally located and of a good standard. The staff were friendly and professional. I had a problem in my room with the internet and the IT guru arrived within 5 minutes. He was unable to fix it so they moved me to a room down the corridor with no fuss. The hotel is large and spacious. The only point not its favor is, I booked an exec room and went to the lounge for breakfast the 2nd morning. I had used the main restaurant the 1st morning. When I asked for eggs and bacon I was told sorry no we do not have them, we only serve cereals and continental breakfast. They need to sort this as I and other Exec floor occupants ate breakfast down stairs where the food and choice was excellent.

Room Tip: The hotel is so large it would be difficult to help you chose which part or floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of this hotel is superb, just 3 mins walk to the biggest night bazaar of Chiang Mai. Foods, goodies, bars, cafes, massages, departmental stores and travel agents with reasonable offer price are all within walking distance. China town and flower market is 10mins walk away also from this hotel.

Room is spacious, clean and friendly staffs around, always ready to help. Only the wifi connection in the room is quite let down. The restaurant served delicious and variety choices of breakfast buffet. Definitely value stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we were all very pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and our friendly Thai service staff. Please accept our sincere apologies
That a WI-FI connection was the only problem you encountered and I have asked our
IT Team to investigate how we might improve this for all future guests

We hope that when you next visit Chiang Mai you will consider staying with us again.

Yours sincerely

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location, opposite the night brazzar, and very good value for money.
Friendly staff, and slightly dated rooms but do provide a good breakfast and running wifi throughout the hotel.
Considering the location and value, it is a very good hotel in my opinion. It is not as luxurious as those in other areas in Thailand, although Chiang Mai is a different sort of city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatGuyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent 16 days at the Centara in Chiang Mai. The public areas ( reception and lobby) were up to date, clean and friendly.
Our room was acceptable, but was somewhat dated. A spacious room with good facilities. The hotel was well located in the heart of the busy Night market district.
The breakfasts were great, with lots of selection for all tastes. The service by the staff was generally good with the exception of the ted and one Concierge, who was outstanding, making phone calls for us and ensuring bookings etc.
we found that the free Wifi was not easily connected and I found I had to ask for a new password every two days. A permanent wifi would have been much more efficient.

Overall, it was good value for money and would stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centara D, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and we were all very pleased that you enjoyed the location, breakfast and our friendly service staffs

While a room renovation plan is currently being carried, your comment regarding the WIFI signal is well noted and I have asked our IT Team to carry out tests to provide information that will assist us in boosting the signal throughout the hotel rooms and public areas.

We hope that when you next visit Chiang Mai you will consider staying with us again.

Yours sincerely

K Boonchai – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#63 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#40 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,814 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#37 of 381 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

Property: Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Address: 132 Loykroh Road | Chang-Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoys an enviable location right in the heart of this charming city and just steps from the famous Chiang Mai Night Bazaar, a landmark for any visitor.This impressive high rise hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a host of facilities and services for the Chiang Mai bound visitor,24 Floors with 512 comfortable appointed rooms featuring Superior, Deluxe, Business Plus , Dynasty and Suites accommodations. The hotel’s extensive all day dining venue plays host to sumptuous buffets, themed evening and a extensive a la carte option bringing together the best of Italian , Japanese, International, Thai and Asian Cuisine.Perched atop of the hotel is the Sunflower Chinese Restaurant affording spectacular views of Chiang Mai and some of the best Chinese Cuisine this city has to offer.Italian, Poolside Bar and light meals, Lobby Lounge and bar with evening entertainment and 24 hour in –room dining also feature.Impressive leisure facilities feature a state-of the art gym and Fitness Centre , spacious pool and sun terrace, sauna, massage and Spa Cenvaree.Meet and Unite : This facilities offers a Grand Ballroom for up to 800 guests , 14 break out rooms, Service Centre and out door pavilion for activities, team building, theme parties and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Duangtawan Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Centara Duangtawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing