We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Ranked #28 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great welcome upon entering. Everyone was super friendly and seemed willingly to go out of their way to help. The room was great, got 2 twins and it was still roomy. Shower was a bit difficult to function at first. They leave little treats in a box after they clean your room everyday which was unexpected but made you look forward to them. Overall was an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd
1  Thank Monica Janelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

dear valued guest,

a very delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai!

thank you for taking time to share your amazing experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you had a great time with us and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team

thank you again for stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back home again and again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,944 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

As many have already indicated, a well located hotel with good amenities. The gym is above average with a smith machine and free weights. Service is enthusiastic and youthful. Ambience is fresh and modern.
But here's my gripe:
I booked their 'D-beyond package.'
The daily room rate with breakfast is the same whether you indicate you are staying alone (single) or with a companion (2 adults) - I know as I checked the website, and I'm a frequent business traveller. I should have indicated 2 persons instead of leaving it as the default 1. But frequent online booking breeds complacency. Occasionally I bring a business colleague to breakfast, and in all my travel experiences, that has never been an issue - breakfast for 2 for each room whether I indicate I'm rooming as a single or not, given the tariff is the same whether for single or double.
Halfway through my meal, I was brought a bill and told that I will be charged an extra 700+ bahts for 'American breakfast'. I did not argue the point given I was with a business colleague; he merely raised an eye brow. It left a poor impression of this establishment. We later agreed to do breakfast in future at Le Meridien nearby where he was staying, where such pedantry never occurred.
So here's the tip: always indicate 2 persons even if you are staying alone, in case you wish to bring someone else to breakfast.
A real shame, really - as I had wanted to do a business dinner with a small group of businessmen at their Moxie restaurant but I had to concede to my colleague that this experience tipped the scale toward Favola where the function was eventually held.
But such pedantry shows that the ostentatious service is rather skin deep rather than a culture of this establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd
1  Thank Bandicoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here. i am pleased to hear that you felt the hotel had good amenities with an above average gym. i am also delighted that you found the service to be youthful and enthusiastic and the ambiance fresh and modern.

in regards to your comments about breakfast, i do completely understand your point of view and the issue really comes down to operational policies. in the future, please simply advise us in advance that you will have a guest joining you for breakfast and there won’t be any additional charge. in the meantime, i will discuss the possibility of a more flexible policy on this matter with my superiors.

i do apologize for any inconvenience here and i do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Delightfully,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was traveling with my wife and young kids. Highly recommend to people. Location is great and just beside the night market. The staff services were excellent and were attentive to the needs of my family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd
Thank cmtan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

dear valued guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai!

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

we would like to thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The room was dirty the sofa area was stained, the furniture was old and used, the sheets changed every two days? just trying to save money, when the place is cleaned the room is not clean only the bed is made. The tv was constantly snowy and fuzzy, the air conditioner made noises whirring and then stop and whirring again, The view as bad- this was a club room I am paying over 200 usd and I received a 50 dollar a night room, when we asked to fix we were told to pay another 100 usd for better room. The lack of caring for the customers experience is very sad. Gym room, staff sleeping on the massage table with loud Thai music and show on the ipad, completely ignoring the customer wanting some quiet or different music. The food in the lounge was little and not good quality, the refrigerator drinks were not cold! The tables in the club lounge would shake back and forth... very poor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd
1  Thank Patrick Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

dear valued guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share your comments here. please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that you experienced during your stay. as the many positive reviews here attest, we hold ourselves to a very high standard, and we go to great lengths to achieve and surpass this standard every day.

in regards to the bed sheets, this is an environmental initiative and is completely at the discretion of the guest. you can opt to have the sheets changed every day and there is the appropriate tag in the room for housekeeping. i will make sure that this is more visible so that there are no further misunderstandings. as far as the other issues mentioned, they are of course unacceptable and we would have been able to address them immediately had they been brought to our attention.

i understand that since your check out, our director of rooms has been in touch with you and i am pleased that you are satisfied with our proposed solution. i do look forward to welcoming you back personally when you return in the next two months.

once again, thank you for choosing dustD2 chiang mai.

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Location is the best part of Dusit, you can walk outside the door and the night market is right there. It's a busy area, but the hotel itself is tucked away from the chaos (It's shielded by a driveway/side street). The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, and shower worked well. There's a decent buy one get one happy hour at the lobby bar (drinks are expensive to begin with, 310thb) but nice pre-dinner spot. Pool is nothing to write home about but don't waste your day at the pool, chiang mai is too beautiful not to explore! There were always guards outside to help find us a tuk tuk and they let us park our motorbikes right outside the front door.

Only complaint: we checked in around dinnertime, found a well regarded restaurant on Tripadvisor (Lemongrass, a must visit!) and asked concierge for directions. The woman told us that Lemongrass was closed and redirected us to a riverside restaurant that was premarked on her map. Fortunately we decided to still pass by Lemongrass and it was open (and delicious). Not sure if the woman was just confused.

Also note, this not a "luxury" hotel by US standards, but it is very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cms20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you had a good time with us and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team

please accept my sincere apologize for your inconvenience in regards to the concierge service , we do wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused here and kindly rest assured that our front office manager has been informed for further improving to avoid similar occurrence in the future

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Chiang Mai was one of the most beautiful places we visited in Thailand, Dusit D2 was a centrally located and a couple of minutes walk from Night Market and also close of shops, food places. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well. The accommodation is of 5 Star standard as is breakfast which was included in our case.

I recommend this hotel for families, couples as well as business people, Close to trains and other public transport. They have PC and printer which guests can access, very handy for printing boarding passes and sending quick emails.

Thai massage is a must in the area, lots of quality places in the area which are very good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe room which was very good and maintained to high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gamesmaker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

dear value guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai

thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. i am thrilled to learn that you appreciated the details in the breakfast and the hotel in general.

the team and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Delightfully,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel was just fabulous, the staff are so friendly, the rooms are spotless. The pool was just to die for! I couldn't compliment this place enough. We stayed here for a week in May 2013 and would give anything to go back. The food was gorgeous and the location was brilliant with the night market just out the door!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

dear valued guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai

thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. i am thrilled to learn that you appreciated the location of hotel as well as the food and the hotel in general.

the team and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,106 reviews
0.5 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#34 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit D2 Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Address: 100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £57 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit D2 Chiang Mai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
guests are welcomed by a warm chic interior that represents the refreshing urbane face of contemporary thai design, the deluxe, club deluxe, studio suite and D'suite accommodations are decorated to provide sanctuaries of comfort, privacy and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit D2 Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit d2 Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Dusit d2
d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
d2 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing