We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Fantastic Staff, Great stay all round!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Ranked #28 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Fantastic Staff, Great stay all round!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Dusit D2 for 7 nights and had a great stay. The staff were exceptional, nothing was ever too hard for them, the rooms were nice enough (not huge but clean and relatively quiet) and the location is FANTASTIC right in the middle
Of the night bazaar area. We have stayed at the Le Meridien just up the road before and when it comes to bang for your buck, Dusit D2 beats it hands down. And that's coming from a SPG member!! I can't comment on the restaurant or bar as we didn't dine there, however talking to other guests, they said it was very good. We will certainly be back!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Twisterella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
dear valued guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share positive comments here. i am pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and you found our hotel is located in the fantastic location which is provided the great service by fantastic staff.

i sincerely hope you will have many more chances visiting our dusitD2 hotel again in the near future

Delightfully and best regards,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,064
    552
    153
    40
    20
See reviews for
329
829
135
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I wanted to give the Dusit D2 5 stars but the rest of the family thought it only warranted 4, so let's start why it's great. It's brilliantly situated - right by the night market, close to the old city and near the airport (ok- that's a mixed blessing). But the reason I loved it was that the bed was so comfy. Being an asthmatic the Dusit very speedily and without fuss removed the down mattress topper and the feather pillows etc. but even so I slept SO well. Which also must mean the air con was quiet and efficient. The room was clean and although I don't think you need a carpet in a hot country, it was clean. Yes, the pool is small, but adequate, and the restaurant (Moxie) was very nice ( the one time we tried it) but just rather, sadly, empty. But the corridors were a bit gloomy and more dodgy carpets, hence the 4 stars, but I feel mean here: it was great.

The staff were helpful and friendly and you couldn't ask for more.

There's a food hall across the road the night market is on. You buy vouchers but it's easy to get your change back if you buy too many. Lots of kiosks to choose from and we had some great food there. Cheap and lovely.

The night market suited the kids who bought lots of trinkets and got into haggling.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Giles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
dear valued guest,

a very delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai!

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you had a good time with us and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team

thank you again for stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back home again and again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

What I like about this hotels are the chic interior design, very friendly staffs, cleanness, and location.
It is very convenience as it is a few steps to the night market.

In addition, I love the fitness room as it is located on the top of the hotel and I could see mountain while I did my workout routine. Moreover, they have a trainer standing by at the fitness room too.
I also like the restaurant on the first floor. They offer food quality food in a good price.

For the cons, as it is located in the city so don't expect good view from your room unless your room is on the high floor...let's say 8-9th floor.

The room is not new so a shower hose in my bathroom leak.

If I go back to Chiengmai and need to stay in town, Dusit D2 is one of my preferred choices. I might come back for lunch or dinner too.

Room Tip: High floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jirawan_Ailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
dear valued guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai!

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

we would like to thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Having read previous reviews of this hotel, I was very excited about my week long stay. My partner and I arrived in Chiang Mai after stays in fab hotels in Phuket and Bangkok; honestly when we arrived we felt a little deflated. Being a five star hotel, it was no where near par with our other hotels. It just felt a little grubby (our couch and curtains had stains in them) and it lacked atmosphere (bar/restaurant almost always deserted and the pool area was grey concrete).

The best thing about the hotel was the location. Right beside the Night Bazaar for a wide range of extremely cheap food and souvenirs. Walking distance to the old town's many temples and coffee shops.

A suitable place to stay if you're looking for a good hotel in a great location. Just don't expect a typical five star Thai hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
dear valued guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team and please accept my sincere apologize for your inconvenience in regards to the stains on the couch and the curtains, kindly rest assured that our décor whiz ( housekeeping manager ) has been informed to her team for further improving to avoid similar occurrence in the future.

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you stay anywhere in Chiang Mai, stay here. Perfect hotel. Great location. Amazing staff. Probably the best breakfast in Thailand. Beds incredibly comfortable. Can't find anything we didn't like about our stay. Can't wait to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
dear valued guest,

a very delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai!

thank you very much for taking time to share your comment here. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel is located in the great location , amazing staff , the best breakfast in thailand and comfortable bed.

we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GZ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a good experience staying with family at the Dusit D2 hotel. All staff have been very friendly and helpful, from check in, to house keeping, even to security staff as I rented a car to be mobile to get around outside Chiang Mai.
Though the hotel building itself seems to be old, it is well maintained and has a modern touch to it. Rooms were spotless clean and pleasant to return to. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. Breakfast selection is too excellent with a mix of western and thai dishes.

The other gem is the central location, next to the nigh bazaar with plenty of dining options close by and of course local shopping.

The only room for improvement is to air condition the gym better. Went there a few times in the evening and it was just too hot to do some serious cardio exercise on the stationary bike or treadmill. Perhaps the staff turned it off as there were lots of local gym member in and they may prefer it not too cold.

We might return again to the hotel should we plan another visit to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gzbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
dear valued guest,

a very delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai!

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you had a good time with us and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team

thank you again for stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back home again and again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic quirky hotel in the centre of Chiang Mai. Everything about this hotel is wonderful from the staffs uniforms to the orange colour everywhere. Staff could not do enough for you. Food excellent with a special mention for the breakfast buffet. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CluckerJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
dear valued guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share your comments here. I am pleased to hear that you found everything about our hotel is wonderful especially staff and food.

i sincerely hope you will have many more chances visiting our dusitD2 hotel again in the near future

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha riddhimat
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,979 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#57 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#41 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.9 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit D2 Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Address: 100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit D2 Chiang Mai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
guests are welcomed by a warm chic interior that represents the refreshing urbane face of contemporary thai design, the deluxe, club deluxe, studio suite and D'suite accommodations are decorated to provide sanctuaries of comfort, privacy and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit D2 Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit d2 Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Dusit d2
d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
d2 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing