We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Night Steak Buffet at "Moxie Restaurant" D2”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Ranked #28 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked a table for 7.00pm Friday 8th August for 5 Guests and arrived on time, for their recently introduced Friday night Steak Buffet. The Steak and Mashed potatoes were cold and the Steak tough. Very poor salad and dessert choice.No Water or Tea or Coffee provided inclusively unlike other Hotels. The Wine was an acceptable Chilean Merlot provided as a "promotion" for 5 plus people dining. A very disappointing Dining experience for all 5 of us which included Thai, Dutch and British Guests.Have eaten at Moxie Restaurant at least 12 times before and a huge drop in standard commented by all us guests..Buffets at similar price at nearby Shangri La and Holiday inn Hotels are still at much higher standards and much greater choice of accompaniments and Desserts. Charming Waiter staff as usual but often failed to clear used plates, which we resorted to clearing ourselves. The bill of Thai Baht 3300 approximately included a high "SERVICE?" charge and we did not give our normal generous gratuity from this experience. Moxie Restaurant has been removed from our list of places to dine as a result of this poor value experience.

Room Tip: Did not stay at hotel as live in house in Chiangmai and London
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank petgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

dear valued guest,


thank you very much for sparing your valuable time to provide us feedback after your dinner at dusitD2 chiang mai. we sincerely appreciate your feedback and would like to first apologize for the unpleasant experience that you encountered during your dinner.

we are pleased to inform you that all points you have kindly outlined are well received and being given full attention however our director of chef tried to contact you via the number which is mentioned when made a reservation, but unfortunately we could not reach you.

we do wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused here and kindly rest assured that our director of chef and director of f&b have been informed for further consideration & training to their team to avoid similar occurrence in the future.

once again, thank you for very much for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact our director of chef via email chalong.sk@dusit.com , should you require any further information and/or assistance

Delightfully and best regards,

tatcha ridhhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel had an amazing staff and really nice, clean rooms. It is located right in the night market so it's in a great location. It is still close enough to walk to the older part of the city, although it is a long walk. The internet did not work the first day, but the staff was very attentive and tried to get it working. The next AM, the power in my room went out. They quickly fixed it, but it blew again that evening. They quickly moved me to another room such that they could work on the issue. They were very apologetic and eager to help.
I would certainly welcome this hotel. I did not eat there, but there is a Starbucks, 7-11 and Boots just out the driveway. Also, there is a great street food breakfast across the street. I certainly would stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TokyoSalaryMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

dear valued guest,

thank you for taking time to let us know your experiences during your stay.

it is indeed with much regret to note that you had faced with some issues during stay in regards the internet didn’t work and the power in my room went out but i am happy to hear that staff were very apologetic and eager to help and solved the problem for you immediately.

dear valued guest, by no means I forget to also thank you for your positive remarks about the amazing staff, clean rooms and great location. i wish to welcome you back in the near future to present you with our generally high standards of service.

again, thank you for taking the time to write to us.

Delightfully and best regards,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for five nights recently and would highly recommend. Great location on night market, clean rooms, loved the breakfast. It is mainly an Asian breakfast only small selection of cereals but I love fried rice for breakfast. Staff are friendly and club lounge is great. Pool was good but only had time to go once. Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gloria575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

dear valued guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai

thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. i am thrilled to learn that you appreciated our service as well as the location and the hotel in general.

the team and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Delightfully,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is very clean. the staff is young with a big smile and welcome atmosphere.
its kind of new. very nice rooms. the hotel have a nice spa , swimming poll and great gym.
the location is the best from all the hotel- on the night market but very quite.
I am travel agent and I look for a lot- this hotel is the best choice !!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yifat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

dear valued guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you were really impressed with our hotel and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team.

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel and nice room. Good pool area and a great gym. We ate in the restaurant once, which was delicious, but the prices were absolutely extortionate - so much so that it put us off going there again, despite the lovely food. I don't want to ruin any surprises, but if you stay here make sure you take a seat in the lobby at around 2pm to experience something really amusing!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Augustuscalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

dear valued guest,

the team of dusitD2 chiang mai and i, the general manager, would like to thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. i am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much and sincerely hope we have the chance to welcoming you back again soon.

Delightfully and best regards,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Spend 3 days here and thia hotel has a good location. The night market is just outside the hotel and this makes the shopping easy. The rooms are spacious and it has wifi free avaliable throughout the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

dear valued guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking time to share your great experiences at dusitD2 chiang mai.

glad to know that you had a good time with us and we thank you for all your positive comments that we have already share with the entire team

thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Delightfully and best regards,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Dusit D2 for 7 nights and had a great stay. The staff were exceptional, nothing was ever too hard for them, the rooms were nice enough (not huge but clean and relatively quiet) and the location is FANTASTIC right in the middle
Of the night bazaar area. We have stayed at the Le Meridien just up the road before and when it comes to bang for your buck, Dusit D2 beats it hands down. And that's coming from a SPG member!! I can't comment on the restaurant or bar as we didn't dine there, however talking to other guests, they said it was very good. We will certainly be back!!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Twisterella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatcha R, General Manager at Dusit D2 Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

dear valued guest,

delightful day to you from dusitD2 chiang mai !

thank you for taking the time to share positive comments here. i am pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and you found our hotel is located in the fantastic location which is provided the great service by fantastic staff.

i sincerely hope you will have many more chances visiting our dusitD2 hotel again in the near future

Delightfully and best regards,
tatcha riddhimat
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 389 in Chiang Mai
3,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 389 in Chiang Mai
988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 389 in Chiang Mai
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit D2 Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit D2 Chiang Mai

Address: 100 Chang Klan Rd | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £58 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dusit D2 Chiang Mai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
guests are welcomed by a warm chic interior that represents the refreshing urbane face of contemporary thai design, the deluxe, club deluxe, studio suite and D'suite accommodations are decorated to provide sanctuaries of comfort, privacy and delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dusit D2 Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit d2 Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
Dusit Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Dusit d2
d2 Hotel Chiang Mai
d2 Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing