We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Libra Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Libra Guest House
Ranked #35 of 702 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for one week whilst travelling Thailand at the start of August. The staff here did everything to make your visit as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. The trek organised by the guesthouse and led by Noo was one of the highlights of our trip. Great value for money and the food was lovely too. Couldn't possibly have enough nice things to say about this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    77
    35
    15
    26
See reviews for
17
125
75
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
199 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

The guesthouse is located within city walls which means it is pretty close to all attractions in the city centre. The rooms are simple and functional, they are good value for money. You have a choice between A/C and fan rooms. There is also a nice restaurant with a homemade food.

What makes a place special is the owner who is very funny and warm person. She was extremely helpful in arranging activities around Chiang Mai but was also a nice person just to have a chat. I got serious food poisoning when in Chiang Mai and she took very good care of me bringing water and medicines.

If you are looking for a place to explore Chiang Mai and its surroundings and you are a person who looks for simplicity and Thai hospitality – look no further!

Room Tip: I would recommend to choose rooms on the first floor. If you are staying in one of the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piotr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Myself and my boyfriend spent almost a full week in Libra recently and I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone travelling to Chiang Mai. Firstly it's incredible value for money, rooms are perfect, clean, hot shower and comfortable beds. Secondly the staff are the best we've come across. On our arrival they sat us down with a map, talked us through everything from markets to zip lining, without pressure. They are so well organised and we booked all our trips and treks through them. The food they cook is delicious and the attention they give their guests is like nothing we've come across before!! This was my second time staying in Libra and if I travel to Chiang Mai again it's without a doubt where I'll be staying. It's like a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 177Irish87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brønderslev
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at Libra Guesthouse for one week. This is the best guesthouse Í have ever stayed in. The staff was very friendly an very helpfull. When we got sick and we gould not go on the organized trekking, we got our money back, eventhough it was not refuldabell. On top off this a very frindly tone and nice clean rooms, they organizes very good and value for money tours.
I can only give my best recommedation. Book now

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannebj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We only stayed one night as our rooms weren't amazing, however we heard from other people their rooms were nicer so maybe ask to see your room first. The location and garden were lovely, food was delicious and homemade and staff so nice. We booked our trek through them and had a thoroughly enjoyable experience! Bamboo rafting was so fun and we liked the fact the elephants we rode were free to roam the national park for most of the day unlike others we saw along the way.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed in the Libra for 4 nights in late July. After missing our original flights from KL, we weren't able to get a new flight until the next day. Luckily for us after a quick email, they were more than happy to keep our room for us to arrive the next day. Wearranged airport pick up and when we arrived in Chaing Mai, the owners met us to take us back to the guesthouse. We obviously looked a bit tired as they showed us straight to our room saying we can rest and sort the check in process a little later which was a nice welcoming touch. The room itself had hot water and ac and both worked perfectly and it was nice and comfortable - perfect for our needs.
The breakfasts were very tasty and the coffee was really really good. We wanted to go on an elephant trek, which they arranged for us. This was a brilliant day out with so much more to do than just elephants (bamboo rafting, waterfalls etc). The people are so friendly and always keen to help - They arranged our train tickets from to Bangkok for us and organised (and paid for) the taxi to the station. I would definitely stay there again and recommend you do to! Thanks to everyone at the Libra for making our trip to Chaing Mai great! Oh and if you want to stay there - email them directly as its easier than going through a booking site!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_c1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Sadly, we just left Libra Guest House. We absolutely LOVED it there! We went there off a Lonely Planet forum recommendation and they definitely did not disappoint! We were planning to stay for only 3 days and ended up staying about a week. The location is great. Inside the Old City on the side of town near the Ta Phae Gate, Sunday Walking Street Market, the daily night bazaar, and plenty of delicious restaurants and street food! They are more than happy to suggest good places to eat nearby but if you don't feel like eating out, they also serve food. Libra was our favorite place to eat breakfast. Best eggs in Chiang Mai. In my opinion they are pretty inexpensive too. A GREAT value for the money.

What really makes it such an enjoyable visit is the staff! Pui, Kalu, and Dauw are so kind, friendly, and helpful! Whatever they suggest for you to see, you should listen to them. They know what they are talking about. They truly care about their guests and want to make sure they have a good time. They actually went to the bus station for us when we asked them the best way to get bus tickets out of town. Then, they went back to change them for us when we decided to stay longer. In all my travels, I don't think I've ever had anyone go that out of their way to help us!

They run their own treks and have many different options. We did the 2 day, 1 night trek which seemed to be the most popular. It is the highlight of our trip so far! We have been in Thailand for almost a month. Forget setting up a daytime elephant ride, do this trek! Kalu was our guide. He is awesome!! He actually grew up in one of the hill tribes and really knows what he is doing. He is also so much fun! Some highlights of the trek are seeing a waterfall, hot springs, hiking, bamboo rafting, campfire singing, happy water, and feeding/bathing/riding elephants! Remember, you are signing up for a trek, not a stroll through the park. The hike is beautiful and so worth it.

When it came time to leave, they called a Tuk tuk for us. As we were waiting for our Tuk tuk, saying our goodbyes, and taking pictures with the staff, their kindness did not end. Just before getting in our Tuk tuk, we asked them how much it should cost to the bus station. That is when they informed us that they had already paid for the ride! Again, some of the nicest people we have ever met!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#18 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
PM Guesthouse
PM Guesthouse
#23 of 755 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan JaJa
Baan JaJa
#72 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#17 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#29 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#38 of 702 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libra Guest House

Property: Libra Guest House
Address: 28 Moon Muang Road Soi 9, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 702 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Libra Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing