We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay!!”
Review of Libra Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Libra Guest House
Ranked #31 of 746 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay!!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I cannot recommend Libra highly enough: It is close to the happening centre of Chiang Mai and almost everything of need or interest is within easy walking distance or a cheap tuk-tuk ride.

The beds were comfortable (especially compared to the jungle beds), the room was adequately ventilated by the ceiling fan, The food was great, the beer was plentiful and cold, the service was excellent and the staff could not have been friendlier or more eager to help. Genuine concern was shown when I got an infection and every effort was made to help me get medical care and be sure I was ok.

All arrangements and transport were arranged for us for activities including a three day Jungle trek followed by a 2 day stop at a floating lake-house; a zip line experience; a visit to the elephant show, the snake show, the tiger centre and the x-centre; and many more are available besides.

Go to Libra Guesthouse; you will not be let down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichFNEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    81
    36
    15
    26
See reviews for
17
131
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have stayed at Libra guesthouse 3 times in the past 12 years, and every time has been a wonderful experience. The staff are so helpful, and lovely, the rooms are clean, and you can arrange a variety of rooms, starting at budget and going up to very luxurious and spacious. The food is beautiful. The staff go out of their way to make sure that you have a wonderful experience in Chiang Mai, and give so much time and energy in helping with maps, directions, etc... and it's all part of the experience... Would highly recommend for an authentic and family friendly stay... BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE... They also collect you from the airport, or bus station free of charge.. by the time you leave you feel like part of their family...

Room Tip: I have stayed in budget rooms here, to the most expensive this stay, which was just divine.. Either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildew76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ixelles, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We had a room at 250bht with fan & cold shower in Oct 13. On the plus side: they reply quickly to emails & are very friendly. On the minus side: shower is not powerful enough, no bed sheet, towels smell humidity, light in the room gives the impression to be in a supermarket, walls are plain white like in a hospital hallway. All'in all, if you dont have the choice it is OK for one night, otherwise there are plenty better deals outside

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Romain1136493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Terrific. The 2-day trek was incredible. They don't charge you for the night that you are on the trek. Got back at 5pm and they WOULD NOT let me pay them for the next night which I had to suddenly cancel. Amazing place.

Room Tip: The fan kept my room plenty cool. Don't know why you would need the AC rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I travel to Thailand in a regular basis as I love the city of Chiang Mai.
This guesthouse is family run and is always full of friendly happy people eager to help, whether u r living there or not! Gotta love that noodles with chicken soup!!!!
Dow and Booie go out of their way to ensure u r safe and knowledgeable about the adventure of enjoying Chiang Mai and its surrounding beauty. This is one place I would trust without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AdventureTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have stayed at Libra many times and will visit again for sure :) This time that I stayed I stayed in the rooms on the left of the path before the garden and it was wonderful. There are rooms available for different budgets and whatever you want/need. The staff is incredibly helpful and can arrange many excursions for you.
I love its location in old town and while there are many options around to choose from, the food at Libra is great and well priced. I can't say enough about how much I have enjoyed staying there. .... Go stay there :p

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLTravelTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I've had many wonderful stays over the years at Libra. Sometimes for only a night, and sometimes for up to a month. Dao and her staff have always gone over and above to make mine and everyone else's stay memorable and easy. The rooms are always clean and a great value as well. The staff here are more than willing to go out of their way to help you plan activities and make bookings and will always ensure you get a fair price from the tour operators. I've also done many treks through Libra and their trekking service and guides are also top notch. It seems strange to find a reviewer getting upset about not being able to find English speaking staff at 1 AM. This is pretty standard in Thai guesthouses besides in an emergency situation. The staff here have always made provisions for myself and my friends if we're going to be arriving late, such as setting out our room keys and wifi codes with the security (who doesn't speak English). Just another example of how Libra's staff goes out of their way to make sure you're looked after. Can't wait to get back here!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AV8TER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
0.1 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#20 of 746 in Chiang Mai
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#16 of 746 in Chiang Mai
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Teak House Chiang Mai
Teak House Chiang Mai
#12 of 26 in Hang Dong
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SK House 2
SK House 2
#96 of 746 in Chiang Mai
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Junior Guest House
Junior Guest House
#29 of 746 in Chiang Mai
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tri Gong Residence
Tri Gong Residence
#140 of 746 in Chiang Mai
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libra Guest House

Property: Libra Guest House
Address: 28 Moon Muang Road Soi 9, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 746 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Libra Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing