We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay while in Chiang Mai!!!”
Review of Libra Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Libra Guest House
Ranked #55 of 834 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was our first time in Chiang Mai and first guesthouse experience on our own after finishing a tour. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! Not only were the accomodations and location ideal, but the staff went above and beyond to ensure our trip would be amazing not only while in Chiang Mai, but through the rest of South East Asia. The astmosphere was comforting and gave you a sense of home. Dao is AMAZING! She sat with us for hours planning the rest of our trip and giving us good tips! We can't thank them enough and would recommend this guesthouse to anyone in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaclyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Recommended in rough guides 'south east Asia on a budget'.. We loved or time here, great rooms, we had cold shower and fan room ( 250baht) and it was lovely and clean, sheets and towels and curtains were very clean. Staff make this hotel SO good... the main lady ( we forgot to write her name down.. but she speak amazing English) is SO helpful we couldn't of done Chiang Mai without her... strongly recommend doing the trips she advises aswell especially the Jungle 2 day trek. was absolutely fanatastic! We also booked a months worth of accom, diving and travel with the agent to the right of LGH... hes also fantastic and we couldn't of been happier with the service! TEL LL YOUR FRIEND THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO IN CHIANG MAI!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I cannot recommend Libra highly enough: It is close to the happening centre of Chiang Mai and almost everything of need or interest is within easy walking distance or a cheap tuk-tuk ride.

The beds were comfortable (especially compared to the jungle beds), the room was adequately ventilated by the ceiling fan, The food was great, the beer was plentiful and cold, the service was excellent and the staff could not have been friendlier or more eager to help. Genuine concern was shown when I got an infection and every effort was made to help me get medical care and be sure I was ok.

All arrangements and transport were arranged for us for activities including a three day Jungle trek followed by a 2 day stop at a floating lake-house; a zip line experience; a visit to the elephant show, the snake show, the tiger centre and the x-centre; and many more are available besides.

Go to Libra Guesthouse; you will not be let down.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichFNEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have stayed at Libra guesthouse 3 times in the past 12 years, and every time has been a wonderful experience. The staff are so helpful, and lovely, the rooms are clean, and you can arrange a variety of rooms, starting at budget and going up to very luxurious and spacious. The food is beautiful. The staff go out of their way to make sure that you have a wonderful experience in Chiang Mai, and give so much time and energy in helping with maps, directions, etc... and it's all part of the experience... Would highly recommend for an authentic and family friendly stay... BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE... They also collect you from the airport, or bus station free of charge.. by the time you leave you feel like part of their family...

Room Tip: I have stayed in budget rooms here, to the most expensive this stay, which was just divine.. Either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mildew76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We had a room at 250bht with fan & cold shower in Oct 13. On the plus side: they reply quickly to emails & are very friendly. On the minus side: shower is not powerful enough, no bed sheet, towels smell humidity, light in the room gives the impression to be in a supermarket, walls are plain white like in a hospital hallway. All'in all, if you dont have the choice it is OK for one night, otherwise there are plenty better deals outside

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Romain1136493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Terrific. The 2-day trek was incredible. They don't charge you for the night that you are on the trek. Got back at 5pm and they WOULD NOT let me pay them for the next night which I had to suddenly cancel. Amazing place.

Room Tip: The fan kept my room plenty cool. Don't know why you would need the AC rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I travel to Thailand in a regular basis as I love the city of Chiang Mai.
This guesthouse is family run and is always full of friendly happy people eager to help, whether u r living there or not! Gotta love that noodles with chicken soup!!!!
Dow and Booie go out of their way to ensure u r safe and knowledgeable about the adventure of enjoying Chiang Mai and its surrounding beauty. This is one place I would trust without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AdventureTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Kavil Guesthouse
Kavil Guesthouse
#92 of 402 in Chiang Mai
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#32 of 834 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#1 of 996 in Chiang Mai
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 402 in Chiang Mai
701 reviews
2 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 402 in Chiang Mai
977 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#4 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libra Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libra Guest House

Address: 28, Soi Moon Muang 9 | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 834 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Libra Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing