We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Okay" hotel in convenient location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang Mai Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Ranked #105 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“"Okay" hotel in convenient location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in the Chiang Mai Gate Hotel for two nights while visiting Chiang Mai for the first time. The hotel is conveniently located in a quiet area near the old city. There are a few restaurants and a small night food market nearby. The nightmarket is further away, you might want to take a tuctuc for that.
The hotel is just your average place to sleep and not much more. It's fairly large en therefore also serves larges groups of tourists. The rooms are clean and decorated in a cozy chinese-like style. The bed is big and firm, like al beds in Asia. At night we were disturbed a few times by noisy people in the hall. The signs in the hall urging to respect other guests should have warned us.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant, that could use an update and clean tablecloths. The breakfast is a mixture of asian food, toast, eggs and fruit. If you choose what looks best and not that what you always eat it's fine.
The pool is small, but adequate and was not very busy when we were there. The bar area near the pool is desolate and barpersonel not always present. Wifi is available in the lobby, but sloooow.

Overall, the Chiang Mai gate is a good place to stay, but not much more than that.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    233
    164
    51
    12
See reviews for
70
183
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a total of three nights but had a break in the middle as we went hill trekking and stayed in the mountains. It was a decent room, small in size compared to the other hotels we had stayed at in Thailand up until this one.

It had all the regular facilites you would expect, working air con, hair dryer, running hot water and a decent shower. Was quiet and we had restful nights sleep during our stay here.

The local market road is within a short distance and costs 60 baht by route taxi to get to. There is a lot going on in Chiang Mai markets and loads of decent knock off merchandise if you are into that sort of thing, be sure and barter with the locals - it's good sport and they seem to enjoy it. There are loads of places to get cheap massages, we had the best foot massages in Chiang Mai. Lots of temples and novice monks wandering around in the mornings looking for alms. We watched the Muay Thai kickboxing at one of the local venues and was a good nights entertainment.

There is a pool here but we didn't use it as we were too busy exploring. We had our laundry done here and it was very cheap, around £3 for a couple of big bags of it.

Pack mosquito spray for Chiang Mai, they are everywhere including the public areas of the hotel.

The only thing that let this place down is the breakfast. It was poor. We found that the fried eggs which were cooked fresh to order were the safest most pallatable option with toast but even the toaster was temperamental.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Very clean. Great staff. Any problem and it was sorted straight away. Good laundry service but a couple of my tops were shrunk.
Breakfast was mainly Thai options.
Pool is really good but it loses the sun quite quickly as the day goes on so you need to go out early to get a good sun bed

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Chiang Mai gate hotel because we found it for very very cheap on asiatravel.com. The location is great, and the staff (especially the lady that helps guests with doing tourist things) are very friendly and most speak very good English in the lobby. You spend lots of time in the lobby because that is the only place they have free internet, which I didn't like.. I would much rather be in my room looking things up and booking our next flights and hotels. The beds are very firm and we got lots of mosquito bites. The complimentary breakfast wasn't very good but we ate it the two mornings we stayed.
The only reason I am giving this hotel a 4 instead of a 3 is because we had available transportation for one flat fee all day in an air conditioned van, and that was great. All of the tours we booked through the lady in the lobby were incredible and we didn't have to worry about anything other than being outside to be picked up.
But as I said, for the amount that we paid for this place I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeansWifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

In May 2006 and 2008, we stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. We recommend the hotel because of the delicious breakfast and the small but nice pool. Some people say that the pool was crowded, but we had the pool to ourselves in the afternoon. The room was cleaned everyday, the staff were very helpful and friendly. We got the service we wanted and were happy with the laundry and room service. We recommend the deluxe room - compared to a standard room it costs twice, but worth it ... The hotel has a great location - only 100 meters from the main road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank You-Ma-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I booked this hotel with my partner and we loved it! We flew in from Bangkok and used the very cheap airport transfer. First impression was great, the lobby was well lit and welcoming. The staff were friendly and spoke fairly good english.

We stayed in room 406, a deluxe room with a balcony and pool view in the second building. (well its up the lift in the first building then across a little skywalk to the other building) The room was a good size and clean....the bed was HUGE, very comfy with lovely pillows and duvet! We had a good night sleep every night. There was a hairdryer, a reasonably priced mini bar and free water in there. The bathroom was fine. It was clean and a decent size. It was decorated with traditional green tiles and wall art (not everyones taste but they didn't effect the stay!) There was no mould and the towels were nice and clean. The shower head could of been higher and a tad more secure but it was functional and we managed just fine,=. Just remember you are in thailand not a 5* swanky hotel in london!

We gave laundry to reception it came back within 24 hours :)

Breakfast was breakfast. Im not a fan of the whole continental breaky thing so i had fried egg on toast most mornings which was lovely. If it is your thing then there is plenty choice!

The pool is lovely, perfect place to cool down after lying in the sun! The pool area was clean and the two showers at the side were decent. The only down side i would say was that some of the beds were a bit broken and could do with a little repair, however they still served their function. The pool bar gives you towels to use around the pool. The banana milkshakes were very nice!!

The hotel provide a 8pm shuttle to the night market, which is defiantly worth a visit. A tuk tuk back will cost about 80 bath.

Lovely hotel, lovely staff. I will reccomend this hotel to all my friends that go and visit chaing mai!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKHermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
182 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

In a quiet spot, with great rooms and swimming pool, walking distance to main road with all the street food you desire. We were very happy to stay here, it was booked for us by G Adventures, and compering to the first one they booked for us, this was a heaven. Our room was lovely and big, had a great bathroom and working air con, one thing which didn't work was the TV, but we weren't there to watch telly! We had a evening swim in the pool, which was clean and very warm. There are cafes, bars and restaurants close by, great bakery too where you can get excellent sandwiches if you bored of Thai food and opposite the hotel there is a small launderette where you can have your clothes and shoes washed for close to nothing. Breakfast was nice too, choice of western and Thai. I would definitely recommend this hotel, we were very happy there.

Room Tip: Check out the bakery! Lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Wiriya House
Wiriya House
#132 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.0 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#136 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#76 of 373 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
Jira Luxury Boutique Residence
#106 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Gate Hotel

Property: Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Address: 11 / 10 Suriyawong Road,Haiya, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiang Mai Gate Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Chiang Mai Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing