We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice to use the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Ranked #112 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice to use the pool”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

you don't need to say it this hotel to use its pool. They allow people from other hostels in hotels to use it for 50 Baht(2 aussie dollars). After a little language difficulty, they let me run a tab and pay with my visa at the end, so long as I spent over 300 baht, otherwise cash.
The food and drinks were nice, the pool a cool low 30°c cold water . All new all a nice relax

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    237
    165
    54
    14
See reviews for
70
189
42
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed here for a couple of days with my wife. The location is ok, the breakfast is poor, and a large part of the staff is not interested to help (luckily there were a couple of good exceptions). In our tour we also had a massage included at the hotel. Following a trekking we were looking forward to this but were very disappointed as this was the worst massage ever... My advice is to look for another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great experience. Friendly staff. Good breakfast buffet. The pool is nice with food and drink service. Location is right outside the main gate and a 20 minute walk to the center of town or a cheap tuk tuk ride away. The place directly across the street has a great laundry service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brettwhite85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a tour. Hotel is in good location and I was able to walk to the things I wanted to see.
Check in was quick and easy and I was given room 331 which was quite a big room but no balcony which was disappointing. This was also an adjoining room and there was a door that separated the 2 rooms. I was able to hear the guests next door talking etc.The room appeared clean and everything in good condition. Toiletries were provided in the bathroom, including shower cap. Towels clean. The bed was very comfortable to sleep in and the shower was great to use with great water pressure.
Wifi was not available in the room which was disappointing as most of the other hotels in South East Asia I stayed in had free wifi in the room . The wifi in the lobby was very temperamental also and very very slow!
Breakfast expensive and not worth the price so I went to a small restaurant called Mario608 or something like that which is opposite the hotel slightly up the road on the left. Food was great there and also free good wifi. There is also a bakery on the same side of the road of the hotel on the right. Great pastries.
The pool looked very green. I didn't go in but a friend commented that the sides very very slimy!
Check out is at 12, but we were not leaving until 3 and were able to leave our bags in the lobby.
Didn't use the Tv so cannot comment on that.

All in all, a good hotel. I would stay again.

Room Tip: 331 had no balcony so if you need one do not get this room. Its also an adjoining room so I would av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataleec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here in February for two nights. First impressions of the hotel is it's in an ok position not to far from the hustle and bustle of the town but far enough not to hear it. The rooms are very small and you would struggle to swing a cat in the bathroom, though they are clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast is very good with plenty of choice and all cooked very well. Pool area is ok with a few tables and chairs to sit at, and the pool is clean. Wifi is only available in the reception area, but it us free. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bolton737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The chiang mai gate hotel is a good starting point in chiang mai. Rooms were nice, the bathrooms with a nice twist. They were reasonably sized and clean. Breakfast was according to thai standard with limited choice for the european/italian stomach. The restaurant was ok. I didn't use the pool, but it looked nice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JessiR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel has potential to be excellent, but there were too many issues to give it more than an average rating. The rooms are nicely decorated if a little small, and it can be difficult negotiating the bathroom in the dark. The cleaners are not very generous at replenishing toiletries. No tea/coffee making facilities in rooms. Beds were on the firm side as seems the norm in Thailand, but the pillows were also very hard.

The hotel is well located close to the Chiang Mai Gate itself, and in a not too touristy area.

Breakfast offers a very limited choice if you prefer Western breakfast, with no croissants/pastries, and only eggs and mini frankfurter sausages for 'English' breakfast. There is an egg cooking area outside the dining room (we missed it first day) but the egg chef seemed reluctant to make omelettes and looked knowingly at the pre cooked fried and scrambled eggs when I requested one, and he/she wasn't even present much of the time.

The reception area is usually packed with cases/rucksacks, and gives the impression of people always leaving rather than people arriving. I would not normally comment on wi-fi as I take it or leave it, but every other hotel has it so it became an expectation. Wi-fi was only available in reception without extra payment, and was very poor other than very early morning.

Surprisingly the hotel has no evening dining, only snacks, and though we would not dine at a hotel, some people may find this a problem. The pool area is average, with many of the loungers being broken. Another problem that we didn't encounter elsewhere was many guests talking loudly to each other from opposite ends of the corridor despite signs asking not to make noise. This hotel must attract a certain type of guest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.1 mi away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#78 of 384 in Chiang Mai
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#235 of 384 in Chiang Mai
376 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 384 in Chiang Mai
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#138 of 384 in Chiang Mai
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#150 of 384 in Chiang Mai
647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#53 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Gate Hotel

Property: Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Address: 11 / 10 Suriyawong Road,Haiya, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiang Mai Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiangmai Gate Hotel is nicely decorated in traditional Lanna (Nothern) Thai style with 121 rooms ( Standard, Superior, Deluxe, and Suite ). Chiangmai Gate Hotel is centrally located near the heart of the city with approximately 20 minutes walk to historic Thapae Gate, old Temples and only 10 minutes ride to the airport and famous Night Bazaar. Apart from providing clean and nicely decorated in traditional Lanna (Northern) rooms, we also offer wide range of basic amenities, facilities and services including a restaurant, meeting facilities and swimming pool. So, whether you are on vacation or business trip, think of Chiangmai Gate as your first choice and you will ultimately experience friendly & warmth atmosphere, customer care and plenty of smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chiang Mai Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing