We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Wat Bupharam

Wat Bupharam
Ranked #48 of 251 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

It was the first temple I visited when I was in Chiang Mai. I happened to walk along Thapae Road towards the direction of the Gate when I chanced upon it. You wouldn't miss it when you're at Thapae. (And just across the temple, by the way, there's a small restaurant that serves great Pad Thai).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    67
    18
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Happened to stumble upon this, more memorable, temple”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

After awhile in Thailand/SE Asia, you do get temple fatigue, but if I recall correctly, this is a more unique temple with the gaudy looking structure in front housing a library. Its on the main road from the old city to one of the bridges across the river and I happened to stumble upon it while on a walk to the river area. Its worth stopping by if you are in the area and not completely temple fatigued...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmergingMarketSkptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
320 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“My favorite Chiangmai wat!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were so glad that we went into this Wat whilst walking to the Night Bazaar from the walled city as it was definitely my favourite! The gardens were full of animal statues making it look rather like a Disney movie! The outside of the Wat was beautifully decorated, as was the inside, but what really stood out was the sense of peace & reverence I felt in this Wat. After a day of visiting Wats, they all tend to blend I to one but this one stood out!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serris, France
Level Contributor
175 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is one of my favourite Wats in CM as it was so different from all the others. The decorations and sculpture are really stunning and they have lots of statues of animals everywhere around. This wildlife theme is carried on by the number of chickens and roosters that wander about

Felt very peaceful here as the inside of the temple was not crowded and you can take your time taking it all in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank charliehonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
542 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Very different than the other wats I visited. It can be easily visited when walking between Old Town and the markets. When I look back on my trip, this temple still stands out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wat Bupharam also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Wat Bupharam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing