We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the action”
Review of Royal Lanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #248 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In the heart of the action”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed for 3 nights. The Night Market is a stones throw away from the hotel front entrance. The staff are very nice, the rooms might be old, but they are absolutely spotless and spacious. There is a breakfast buffet that is more than adequate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    87
    84
    39
    18
See reviews for
47
71
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed in the royal Lanna for 4 nights in March 2012, rooms a little dated but quite good , nice and clean
Staff very helpfull, great location next to the night market and well placed for transport to old city

Room Tip: Higher rooms are best as they pick up less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel early March 2012. The location of the Hotel is good, easy access from airport, rooms are old need to change the furniture and curtains.
Air conditioner was not very effective.Bathroom is clean enough but towels are worn out. Breakfast was good , Front office staff friendly and courteous. Overall
can rate as a 2 star + hotel. worth the price paid for.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the highest floors. they are far better than the rooms closer to the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

staryed 2 nights in jan 2012 . its ok no fancy bits . clean tidy room was everthing we needed could do with a update , but its is ok
breakfast they dont do it very good very shabby breakie room . not good

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank number14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The room we were given was spacious with nice furnishings. We were only in this hotel for two nights but would return for a longer stay. As others have said the location is good and we enjoyed shopping in the night bazaar both evenings. Good 'ole american fast food was right across the street with McD's, Burger King and Pizza Hut. I know it's silly to get excited about fast food but after several weeks of rice and rural food it was a delight to order a mocha frappe from McD's (although I think they used expresso instead of coffee - it was strong!) I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becshev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The most important thing about this hotel is its location! Just in the night bazaar! Perfect for us!
My family and I spent 3nights there! Really enjoy! The breakfast good have been better (more like american breakfast) but it was good! The rooms were very good, the bathroom also! Really enjoy there!

Room Tip: They were clean and spacious! Very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blankss_nas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel is all about location - which is absolutely perfect – add to that the price per room and you have a great value for money. The hotel is a little old but mostly nicely kept – there are few exceptions though for instance the bath in our room could use some caulk remover. Other than that the cleaning standard of the rooms are great.

While at the hotel we also had the opportunity to visit the pool area – a part of the hotel that is really nice but seem to have been forgotten by the staff – they could make much more out of it but doesn’t.

All in all a pleasant experience for approx. 40USD per night – a very nice deal – first and foremost because of the location.

Jakob í Hjøllum Nielsen

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakob í Hjøllum N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#42 of 383 in Chiang Mai
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#126 of 383 in Chiang Mai
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#107 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pornping Tower Hotel
Pornping Tower Hotel
#266 of 383 in Chiang Mai
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#70 of 383 in Chiang Mai
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiangmai Night Bazaar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Property: Royal Lanna Hotel
Address: 119 Loikroh Road (alt 23 Huay Kaew Road) | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing