We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast buffet”
Review of Royal Lanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #249 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Location is great for night markets. out the lobby and into the heart of the markets.
Breakfast buffet was looking very sad and cold.
I walked in one morning as soon as they opened.
food was cold. The staff were busy putting their make up on which was visible to everyone.
They didnt speak or understand English. laughed at you and ran away when asked questions.
they were useless. there was a Thai guy who made coffee, he seemed to be the only one working. the girls were too stupid to work, so busy talking in one corner about the guests that walked in.
lobby reception was the same.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    87
    84
    39
    18
See reviews for
47
71
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

July 8th my friends were staying there, decided to join. I regret it. First off cigarette burns on bed cover, should have taken a clue. Opened fridge in morning for water. A powerful stench of death filled the room. Bad enough to make one gag. Went to notify staff, they luaghed.... Which of course made me angry. Is this how they treat guests? Apparently it is. I decided to leave the hotel at that point. Was presented with an bill which contained extra charges for bottled water. I ended up paying them but not happily, bad enough to have a bad experience but to tak on extra fees at that point was insult to injury. That fridge was way way nasty and the room was putrid by just opening it. Hotel is in not so great part of town anyways. So with other options why stay at Royal? Lanna Hosmell? My very real experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jbrunoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A very central hotel next to the Night Markets. Close to most things in Chiang Mai with plenty of transport available out the front of the hotel. Was on the 9th floor with great views from the windows. Very comfortable rooms and most importantly a very clean and nice bathroom. This hotel also has the Australian Channel T.V. Great to see. Great pool, nice on a very hot day in Chiang Mai. Breakfast is a buffet style with a choice between western and Thai food. Staff are very good with acceptable English. Highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fozzie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antipodes
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Booked a one bedroom suite on the 21st floor, 62sq.m in size, and comfortably furnished at first glance. Wifi included was fast and reliable, no room safe, windows that opened, excellent river and city views.

Although the hotel and room itself are a bit tired, the 1500b rate via sawadee was pretty good value (including b/f), with large living space ideal for relaxation.

Bathroom was adequate, water pressure ordinary, and for some reason a very dodgy looking lightswitch attached to the wall within the shower curtain (which got very wet when taking a shower)!

Then came the sleep.... the bed was the worst I've encountered over two decades of visiting Thailand. The AC which blew directly on to the bed (old and broken unable to be directed away) seemed to blow dusty air, which made sleep even more difficult.

I was glad to be getting out of there after a terrible night's sleep, and vowed to myself, that (after many years of loyal patronage, unfortunately) would be my last time at the Royal Lanna.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fourb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

For an average traveler, the room was fine. Nothing special, but with a location like this, you won't spend much time in the room. Right outside the door is the Night Market/Bazaar. There are plenty of places to find great food, and also a spa right across the street. For the price, its well worth it. We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. The staff was very friendly, and the desk in the lobby has plenty of things to do (day trips, dinners, etc.)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampang Province, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The hotel is central to the shopping area but not noisy. The staff are attentive and the rooms very good value. There are plenty of taxis around,so it's easy to get about. The coffee shop is reasonably priced. A bargain for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Sichang, Chonburi, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was my second stay in the Royal Lanna. It's not my kind of place–I don't like to be in the center of a tourist magnet, or a multistory hotel–but for what it is, it's good enough. B1500 a night isn't really expensive in Chiangmai, and my room was a decent size. Everything worked: no lightbulbs that needed replacing, WiFi signal was okay (but I actually used my 3G personal hotspot instead, so I can't speak about speed), hot water was reliable, linen clean, and so on. The staff, with the exception of one disoriented woman at the front desk, was prompt and helpful. (The woman at the front desk wanted to be helpful, too, but put so much effort into avoiding mistakes that waiting for her became infuriating.)

I thought the breakfast buffet was sadly lacking: no croissants or other pastry, third-rate bread for toast, limited quantity of undistinguished fruit. The coffee was drinkable, which is the best I've ever been able to say of hotel buffet coffee, seating pleasant. The friends I traveled with said they had an excellent supper in the same restaurant for the absurdly cheap price of B240 (USD 8) for three dishes plus two plates of rice.

If you like the Night Bazaar, or jostling with tourists from every corner of the world, the location is great. It's a very short walk to the Ping River, too, for visitors who like rivers more than crowds. The German restaurant just outside the driveway serves solid, appetizing food at reasonable prices, with extremely friendly and competent service.

Room Tip: Room numbers begin near the elevators. Want a short step to the glass elevator? Go for XX01. Want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#110 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pornping Tower Hotel
Pornping Tower Hotel
#283 of 384 in Chiang Mai
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#36 of 384 in Chiang Mai
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#127 of 384 in Chiang Mai
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#58 of 384 in Chiang Mai
1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#70 of 384 in Chiang Mai
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Property: Royal Lanna Hotel
Address: 119 Loikroh Road (alt 23 Huay Kaew Road) | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 384 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing