We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm......”
Review of Royal Lanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #260 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hmmmm......”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My uncle lives in Chiang mai and I asked him to book a hotel with a pool for me. He got me a suite at royal lanna - apparently at a discount. I was dubious cos I'd read the reviews but my first choice was fully booked. My suite was lovely but in bathroom the shower kept going hot n cold. My mate managed to flood the bathroom everytime she used the basin to clean her teeth or rinse her bikini! Overall the suite was nice. But there are only 6 sun beds by the pool- ridiculous! And they didn't adjust- so you couldn't sunbathe properly!!! The breakfast was not a big choice-only 1 cereal and only white bread, limited choice of fruit...... But I guess ok as breakfast go.... Spoke 2 other guests with basic rooms they all complained... On a plus side the reception staff were helpful and the housekeeping staff polite.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suites on the 21st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twonky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    86
    83
    40
    18
See reviews for
47
71
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
523 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a decent tourist hotel located right at the doorstep of the night market.

It's an old and worn property, rooms are sparsely furnished. But it was clean enough and the lighting fixtures worked, the toilet flushed and so on. I didn't try to watch the antique TV.

Breakfast quite OK. Service friendly. Reasonable price.

Recommended if location is your primary concern.

Room Tip: High floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is excellent if you are looking for Value for Money. It is in the center of the Night Bazaar which makes it easy to access the shopping and the restaurants, and it is reasonably comfortable - it is a tourist hotel and provides the basics with a little more efficiency than some 3-star hotels. My only problem was the Suite I booked. It had nothing but the mere essentials - no Phone Book, no Phone Instructions, no Directory, no Toothbrush Kit (just Shampoo and Soap). I would have expected more from a Suite. Other than that, the pool amenities were good and the buffet breakfast was adequate - catering more to the Asian tastes - but there were Eggs, Cereal and Toast for the non-adventurous types.

Room Tip: This is a Tourist Hotel so expect the usual rowdy groups. The doors are not air-tight or sound-proof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Royal Lanna is located right in the Chiangmai daily night market. Well the night market is actually on the hotel doorstep. Many restaurants are within easy walking distance from the hotel.
This is our second stay at Royal Lanna. Bedroom and overall hotel condition seemed to be better of due to some renovation and refurbishment. TV did not really work, but then again you did not go to Chiangmai to watch TV. Wifi was quite fast.
Breakfast was OK with choices of American and oriental breakfasts. Although their English was rather limited especially in giving some information and direction, staff were friendly. Manager was very helpful, but unfortunately gave us a wrong direction for the riverside restaurant we intended to go so we ended up having an evening city tour by Tuk Tuk.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a better view of Chiangmai night market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andri_sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Located at the heart of the Night Bazaar and near Anusarn Market. The red taxis are everywhere and easy to get around to other places. Walking Street is very crowded, may be good to walk there, around 2km. Brekkie in this hotel is quite good for its price and front office staff are there to accommodate your requests. Rooms are basic but very spacious, sleep quality is pretty ok. Wifi is bad, drops all the time. Overall is a good hotel. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Hotel is ageing a bit but service is good, staff polite.
Breakfast good if you're not vegetarian. Usual Buffett style, western and thai food.
Location right next door to night markets. Right in the Centre of the district and pleasant stroll to other attractions in the area.
For the price happy with our stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom005F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel is ok for a short stay, but the rooms are dated (its been a while since I have seen such an old tv with a remote that only has a few buttons left that work), but clean and comfortable. I stayed in a deluxe room which is no better than the cheaper rooms - they are on a higher floor but a view into the next hotel is the same whatever floor you are on.
The pool and pool area are small - not really for spending time, but the pool was very clean and inviting for a quick dip.
The breakfast is terrible - if you are a vegetarian or do not eat eggs prepare to skip the breakfast.
The wifi was non existent.
Its a great location in the night bazaar and its pretty quiet considering that its in the centre of the market.
Its a cheap hotel so you get what you pay for - good for an overnighter and a shop but there are better places to stay if you are spending a few days in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilp33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#115 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiangmai Night Bazaar Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#105 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#183 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#43 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Property: Royal Lanna Hotel
Address: 119 Loikroh Road (alt 23 Huay Kaew Road) | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing