We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Comfortable”
Review of Royal Lanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #248 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Geelong
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Still Comfortable”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I will continue to stay at Royal Lanna Hotel as it is central, near the night markets and all the night life, comfortable and they have a great breakfast and fantastic staff. I was there just before Song Kran, (think thats how you spell it), and it was just about sold out. There were many people and all seem to think that it was a good, clean and comfortable. For the single guys there are many good bars and pubs close by where you can watch the world go by. I didn't mind the Aussie Bar which has all the Australian sport on three TV's and good cold beer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fozzie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    87
    84
    39
    18
See reviews for
47
71
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I like the roofed car park, spacious and clean rooms (with granite floor, no filthy carpets!)
When others slam doors (early morning check outs) it can be a bit noisy, also the air-condition is not the latest model. But all in all, this hotel is a good bargain.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel right in the center of Chiang Mai's night market. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool had a great view! The breakfast was great, lots to choose from for the price. Great for people that want to be right in the middle of shopping at night.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Schristiansen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The location is very good. It is essentially right at the night market and close to many restaurants. The hotel itself is dated and the rooms aren't in good repair. Was there with a group. One room had an air conditioner that didn't work most of the time. One had a lock that broke and took 30 minutes to get into the room. It has wireless internet but it wouldn't connect most of the time and when it did it was painfully slow. My room had stains on the walls, chunks missing from the bathroom door and stains on the sheets. The breakfast was pretty good. Not great but pretty good. If you want something moderately inexpensive and are willing with a marginal hotel this may be a good choice. I think you would be better off spending a little more and getting something nicer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOderda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Royal Lanna is perfectly placed for the night market and offers excellent value for money. Our only real problem was the lack of drawers if you unpacked your case and there was no safe in the room. Otherwise, everything worked in the room although there was only one bedside light.

Breakfast was good but more choice of fresh fruit would not go amiss.

Overall as a tourist hotel it served its purpose well and always with a smile!

Room Tip: Try to get a room below floor 9 unless you are prepared to wait for the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chipbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Room was spacious, a bit dated but the bed was comfortable. The room was cleaned every day. Front desk staff were fine, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, perfectly adequate selection, freshly cooked eggs. Situation was ideal, in the heart of the night bazaar with plenty of places to eat. Wifi was sporadic. The pool was small and would benefit from more sun beds, very clean. Generally the hotel could do with an update but a good reasonably priced hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Veggie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My uncle lives in Chiang mai and I asked him to book a hotel with a pool for me. He got me a suite at royal lanna - apparently at a discount. I was dubious cos I'd read the reviews but my first choice was fully booked. My suite was lovely but in bathroom the shower kept going hot n cold. My mate managed to flood the bathroom everytime she used the basin to clean her teeth or rinse her bikini! Overall the suite was nice. But there are only 6 sun beds by the pool- ridiculous! And they didn't adjust- so you couldn't sunbathe properly!!! The breakfast was not a big choice-only 1 cereal and only white bread, limited choice of fruit...... But I guess ok as breakfast go.... Spoke 2 other guests with basic rooms they all complained... On a plus side the reception staff were helpful and the housekeeping staff polite.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suites on the 21st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twonky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#126 of 383 in Chiang Mai
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nap in Chiangmai
Nap in Chiangmai
#37 of 383 in Chiang Mai
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#104 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pornping Tower Hotel
Pornping Tower Hotel
#266 of 383 in Chiang Mai
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
Kampaeng Ngam Hotel
#72 of 383 in Chiang Mai
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Property: Royal Lanna Hotel
Address: 119 Loikroh Road (alt 23 Huay Kaew Road) | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing