We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Lanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Lanna Hotel
Ranked #260 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Stayed in Junior Suite (20th Floor). Rooms are spacious, basic, slightly outdated but clean. Hotel corridors not really inviting and some rooms had paddlocks on them. Reception staff were found to be friendly enough. Breakfast was just satisfactory but the main advantage of staying at this hotel is the location of the night market. My only really complaint I had is that they do not offer an airport transfer service before 0700 hours and I ended up using the Downtown Inn hotel service which was half the price of the hotels service. I would consider using this hotel next year when I revisit Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank witty92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    84
    83
    39
    18
See reviews for
47
68
46
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We were put up in the Royal Lanna by Habitat for Humanity while in Chiang Mai on a build. The place is in a very safe and nice location in a busy section of the night market. There is ALOT to be said about the restaurants and shopping in this area, but the hotel itself isn't all that.

Being on a humanitarian build, we were not expecting anything great and didn't mind. The place would have been fine (rooms are huge), but we have a few complaints about the overall cleanliness:
1. The air conditioning unit (definately neccesary because of the weather/humidity) seemed to really aggravate sneezing, dryness, allergies - it was super dirty, old, dusty, musty - cobwebs....that kind of thing.
2. The room was only an "ok" level of clean. Bathroom was kind dingy as were the floors throughout. There were no gross smells or anything, but there was all kinds of mysterious dirt on the walls and unfilled holes and weird unexplained grim that COULD be cleaned up.
3. I question the cleanliness of the beds/bedsheets.... not super gross, but just didn't look or feel clean. I dont think they ever wash the quilt/top sheet part.

The breakfast is very subpar here as well. Staff is friendly and helpful. Again, location is great. If you don't mind some cleanliness issues, then it is a good pick based on its location. Its fine for what we were there to do.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busheyacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The transfer by taxi from Chiang Mai airport to the Royal Lanna Hotel which is situated on Loi Kroh Road, right in the middle of the night market only costs 120 Baht (about £2.50). I booked a Junior Suite (£30 per night) and was given room number 2010 on the 20th floor. My large marble floored suite came with a large dining table with four chairs, A/C, two chairs (no sofa) for TV viewing (various local and international TV stations), kitchenette with large fridge/stocked mini bar and coffee making facilities. An ensuite bathroom with full bath and overhead shower was next to the kitchenette and also had a door lading to the seperate bedroom which had a king size bed, dresser, A/C and a large wardrobe. Although the rooms are very plain and echoey due to the marble floor, at least they were spotless and with clean bed linens. The corridors in the hotel are not very inviting at all but they are safe and secure. Being on the 20th floor, I had great views of the city and the elevators always arrived quickly. Smoking is allowed in the rooms (which suited me) but this may cause non-smokers some irritation. Complimentary breakfast was served in the restaurant on the 1st floor and consisted of a choice of western or asian buffet. This restaurant had very limited opening hours but luckily there is a huge selection of wonderful restaurants just steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank echomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Royal Lanna is very nice and a great relief if you´re coming from some less fancy place. We had been to Chantaburi previously and lived in a kinda awful place when we arrived so Royal Lanna was very good in that way. It is very clean and luxurious and it is not that expensive. We paid 1200 baht pr night because of low season, which I think is very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chredda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

I went with a group of people and we loved the Royal Lanna. We did a lot of sight seeing and it was very easy to get to and from places. The rooms were great and very clean compared to the other hotels we stayed at. The only real problem was with the elevators, the doors did not have any safety features so they would continue to close even if you were walking through. It was very scary and stressful trying to get in there.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel_bug9211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2008

After a 1 night stay at a small guesthouse on the outskirts of town, we looked at several other hotels and chose the Royal Lanna - were were very pleased with this hotel, and stayed here for 4 nights.

The rooms were very large, and easily accommodated our family (2 adults and twin toddlers aged nearly 2). The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and took great care in setting up mattresses on the floor (at our request) for our little ones to sleep on (too small for proper beds).

The reception staff were really friendly, and helpful when we needed to know where to find some western baby amenities nearby! (There's an international supermarket within walking distance). The room rate was very reasonable (which we knew having shopped around in this area) and included a great brekkie, with huge variety and really quality dishes. And proper coffee!! A real highlight for us, easily the best coffee we found at any of our hotels/resorts in Thailand! There are highchairs in the restaurant too, which was handy, and staff here were attentive.

The hotel's location was perfect. We found that when we were staying 10mins drive from the night market, in a more quiet street/area, it was hard to get to places (to restaurants, shops etc), with 2 children in tow. The Royal Lanna's location right near the night market was ideal, as there was a huge array of great restaurants/bars within a minute or two's walk. (We took a fold up stroller, which was a god send!) There's also a childcare centre for occasional care on the street behind the market (towards the river) which we used at times, and our kids loved.

We were pleased that there was no noise at all from the market/street below, and the pool was a nice touch.

Housekeeping was friendly (catered to our kids' nap times!) and professional.

We'd recommend this hotel highly as a great value hotel, particularly for families (saw quite a few others!) and would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Location and huge rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesTwinMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2007

10 steps to night barzaar, good for me to shop around and safe with many tourists walk around.

  • Liked — good location
  • Disliked — not thing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank konthaitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
Star Hotel Chiang Mai
#118 of 375 in Chiang Mai
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
C H Hotel
C H Hotel
#211 of 375 in Chiang Mai
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#109 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#168 of 375 in Chiang Mai
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pornping Tower Hotel
Pornping Tower Hotel
#285 of 375 in Chiang Mai
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chiangmai Night Bazaar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanna Hotel

Property: Royal Lanna Hotel
Address: 119 Loikroh Road (alt 23 Huay Kaew Road) | T Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanna Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing