We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value ”
Review of Roong Ruang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roong Ruang Hotel
Ranked #172 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value ”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Good location, lovely, friendly staff, our room was spacious and clean and we had a good nights sleep here. Like previous comments don't chose this hotel for the wifi, we couldn't connect at all but if you want a hotel that's reasonably priced in a nice area with an ok shower and comfy bed then choose this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    37
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
6
31
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stumbled upon this hotel after some reservation mixup with another hotel nearby. A group of 8 of us ended up with this hotel. Didn't expect much initially as we did not read up or research about this hotel before we check-in.

But the room is beyond expectation.

First of all, the check-in staff is very friendly.

Clean room with hot water in the shower.

Location is awesome as it's on the main road at the junction in front of ThaPae Gate. Walking distance to the Sunday Walking Market.

We went on the 14th Feb'14 which is a Chinese holiday too, and everyone was out and about, and since this hotel is by the main road, we expect it to be very noisy. But that wasn't the case as all the windows are triple layered!! No noise from the street.

Wifi speed is fast enough for all of us to use. Free usage.

Breakfast was included in our room price, and it's freshly prepared based on order.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheeKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Booked through Expedia.com only to arrive and have no reservation. Staff didn't flinch and quickly accommodated us regardless. Room was clean and great location in Chang Mai (easy walk to the Night Bazaar). Noisy in the mornings and no safe.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

700 for a night in the cheapest double bedroom. (old building)
The room is clean, with AC, fans, hot shower and a fridge.
Breakfast included.
The room is clean !

As for most of hotels referenced in Lonely Planet, and in comparison to guest houses around, the price here is too high.

The breakfast is not as good as you would find in the coffees and restaurant around.
There is not mosquito net in the room.
Better value to be found elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Enelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised how good this hotel was. Very cheap ($40 AUS) per night per room with basic breakfast included. Very clean, great for budget accommodation & extremely friendly, happy staff who spoke reasonable English. In the center of the city & close to everything however can be a bit noisy late in to the night with bars close by.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AussieLingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 410 and ended up staying for an extra night.

Room felt a bit old and did not keep out noise as well as we had hoped for but still OK.

I would recommend eating out for breakfast.

Didnt try lunch or dinner.

Staff was excellent, helpfull and friendly all the way!

Located just outside the old city, close to all you need.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Per J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

(Written mostly by my wife) My husband and I checked into the Roong Ruang Hotel after arriving late on a Friday afternoon in Chiang Mai with no success in getting a reservation at lots of other places. CM gets very busy on the weekend as market activity heats up, so plan ahead if you can.

We've stayed at the Roong Ruang twice in the past, both times in the older section. The older section is classic Chiang Mai and a little like staying in the past. The older rooms are not as comfortable as the new, but they do have kind of an old Asia charm and the setting is garden-like. My wife doesn't care for the older rooms, but I like the ambiance.

We got a room in the new section on the quiet side (important if you want to avoid road noise) and really liked it. The air conditioner and hot water in the shower worked great; the room was cleaned and linens/towels replaced daily. We also enjoyed the breakfast (included in our rate of 1,100 Baht daily) which was cooked to order each morning, eggs many styles and ham or hot dogs. You serve yourself coffee (instant but good), hot tea, juice, milk, etc. and bread, toasted if you like. It's a pleasant, quiet spot with nice staff and a good cook. I didn't have to use the Tabasco I carry at all times as they have Tabasco (and other good sauces) at every table.

The front desk staff, Nan especially, were extremely helpful to us. We booked only the 1st night but extended when that night was so comfortable. Nan made arrangements for us to keep that room for 3 more nights, making me a very happy traveler. She's efficient but always has a beautiful smile.

We recommend this hotel to other travelers. We are seniors and wanted comfort and convenience in the Old City (we were a 3-5 minute walk from the Sunday Walking Market) and got it at the Roon Ruang; Thank you, Nan!

Room Tip: See comments re older vs new sections. Older less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liquidacrobat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Veerachai Court
Veerachai Court
#179 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#116 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tapae Place Hotel
Tapae Place Hotel
#155 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Night Bazaar Place
Night Bazaar Place
#164 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#143 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#92 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roong Ruang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roong Ruang Hotel

Property: Roong Ruang Hotel
Address: 398 Tha Pae Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roong Ruang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A compact, quiet hotel,centrally located, on Tapae Road,close to historic Tapae Gate and the sunday market. Convenient place to stayfor night bazaar, various restaurants and 'book street'. It is the place to stay for all festivals as exhibitions and parades are heldclose to or in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roong Ruang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing