We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel”
Review of Roong Ruang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roong Ruang Hotel
Ranked #168 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is located in a central part of Chiang Mai. It is a very comfortable and very reasonable budget hotel. A nice family owned hotel that has been successful for many years. The room is very spacious, and has a really nice comfortable bed. The breakfast that is served at the hotel front lobby is hearty and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8achan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    39
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
7
32
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights whilst in Chiang Mai.

For a room with a fan, its 500 baht.
For a room with air con, 750 baht, a price i was very pleased with based on how good the room was. Hot water, comfy big bed, sizey room, couldn't ask for much more.

Lady at reception speaks very good english and is very happy to help with anything.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Don't let the uninspiring exterior fool you.

This is a well-located, good value-for-money hotel. The Tha Pae Gate is literally at your door, and that means you've got a ringside seat for the night markets, which are just amazing.

As for the hotel itself, the staff were friendly, and the room was spacious, clean, and amazingly quiet. The only thing missing from the towel set was a face washer. And the western-style breakfast choices are limited, to say the least.

But these are minor quibbles. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior rather than Standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in several hotels in Chiang Mai this month and this was the dirtiest. The room cost 900 b for myself an two other friends. We picked the place because Trip Advisor had good ratings. However, we had bad luck here. Our first room, the electricity didn't work, so we were moved to another room. The second had lots of ants all over the walls. We asked to be moved upstairs away from the ants, but the staff (they were very sweet) told us we would have to pay more for upstairs rooms. They moved us a third time to a room where we found two cockroaches and centipedes. Looking under the sheets for other bugs, we saw the mattresses had red dots all over them. Also, the shower's hot water didn't wok and had no pressure. We left the following morning for Rux Thai which costs the same an is so much better!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CheeseEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Good location, lovely, friendly staff, our room was spacious and clean and we had a good nights sleep here. Like previous comments don't chose this hotel for the wifi, we couldn't connect at all but if you want a hotel that's reasonably priced in a nice area with an ok shower and comfy bed then choose this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stumbled upon this hotel after some reservation mixup with another hotel nearby. A group of 8 of us ended up with this hotel. Didn't expect much initially as we did not read up or research about this hotel before we check-in.

But the room is beyond expectation.

First of all, the check-in staff is very friendly.

Clean room with hot water in the shower.

Location is awesome as it's on the main road at the junction in front of ThaPae Gate. Walking distance to the Sunday Walking Market.

We went on the 14th Feb'14 which is a Chinese holiday too, and everyone was out and about, and since this hotel is by the main road, we expect it to be very noisy. But that wasn't the case as all the windows are triple layered!! No noise from the street.

Wifi speed is fast enough for all of us to use. Free usage.

Breakfast was included in our room price, and it's freshly prepared based on order.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheeKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Booked through Expedia.com only to arrive and have no reservation. Staff didn't flinch and quickly accommodated us regardless. Room was clean and great location in Chang Mai (easy walk to the Night Bazaar). Noisy in the mornings and no safe.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Thapae Boutique House
Thapae Boutique House
#116 of 381 in Chiang Mai
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tapae Place Hotel
Tapae Place Hotel
#153 of 381 in Chiang Mai
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
Na Inn Bed & Breakfast
#149 of 381 in Chiang Mai
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#250 of 381 in Chiang Mai
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
Imm Hotel Thaphae Chiang Mai
#76 of 381 in Chiang Mai
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lai-Thai Guest House
Lai-Thai Guest House
#298 of 381 in Chiang Mai
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roong Ruang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roong Ruang Hotel

Property: Roong Ruang Hotel
Address: 398 Tha Pae Road | Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roong Ruang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A compact, quiet hotel,centrally located, on Tapae Road,close to historic Tapae Gate and the sunday market. Convenient place to stayfor night bazaar, various restaurants and 'book street'. It is the place to stay for all festivals as exhibitions and parades are heldclose to or in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roong Ruang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing