We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for a really nice hotel.”
Review of Viangbua Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viangbua Mansion
Ranked #92 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We really loved staying at this hotel the price was great and so was the food. The location is a little north of the center of the town but a short taxi ride will get you where you want to be. The staff was extremely helpful, and the rooms were very clean. The beds are hard but you can ask for a mattress cushion at the front desk. Free wifi and the hotel has a good restaurant and a coffee shop too. We will defiantly stay here again :)

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ltrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

The staff are wonderful; rooms good value for money; location a bit out of town, but Chiang Mai is so small it really doesn't matter. The Spirit House Opposite is worth a visit. I would definitely recommend a stay at Viangbua.
There is no swimming pool at viangbua. we joined in some traditional Loi Kathrong festival activities with the staff; I am travelling with my teenage son; others travelling with children. Viangbua is designed for professional travellers seeking short term serviced apartments. there is a gym but no child focussed activities. perfectly pleasant for a family stay though.
good wi.fi and cable TV.
I didn't take any photos, but it is as in the hotel photos.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinaBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We must simply state that our experience was very good.

We would make one small suggestion for improvement - a better equipped kitchen would have been appreciated. As we were lodged at the Viangbua Mansion for the somewhat extended stay of two weeks, we found ourselves wanting to prepare some of our own meals so needed to purchase some items to make that possible such as a pot, spatula, chef's knife, and cutting board. While a skillet, cutlery, dishes and cups were already provided.

All staff members with whom we interacted were very friendly and helpful ... from the security guard, to receptionists, waiters, and housekeeping staff. We had an unfortunate incident with some plumbing and were surprised by the speed of repairs. We also, embarrassingly enough, locked ourselves out of our room's safe but the manager was able to assist us promptly and effectively.

Although this hotel is not located in the more tourist-oriented areas of the Night Market or Moat Area, we were quite pleased with where we were situated - close to some bars, a modern grocery store, local merchandise and fresh food market, a major street, and all still within proximity to the North-end gate of the old, moat, city walls. Being among locales was precisely what we wanted to experience and we were not disappointed on that score.

Sound insulation: as concrete buildings will have it, sound seems to carry all too easily and on one or two occasions, we spent a sleepless night due to noise coming from the adjacent room (cough, cough). Also, local bars are quite active all nights of the week and we could hear karaoke singers and music quite late into the night.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 8th floor facing West and had a beautiful, unobstructed, view of Doi Suthep (mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Friendly staff, clean rooms, you got everything you expect for a very reasonable price!
One problem, the location is not in the heart of Chiang Mai. This means you have to walk a little before you find a Tuk Tuk or Taxi who can bring you to the city center.

Breakfast basic but tasty (sandwiches, omelets, waffle or thai food)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederik12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

We are a couple from germany and stayed here for two nights. The hotel is clean, has !very! friendly staff, the rooms are big with tv, air condition, fridge and wifi.
The breakfast is a la carte and good. The restaurant food is standard food , but not expensive 40-60 baht / meal. They have a neat nice cafe with absolutly fair prices where u can use a computer for free and print out and scan stuff for some baht if needed.
There are other restaurants located next to the hotel as well as laundrys , cafes and an interesting thai market where u can buy everything.
A "group" taxi to the old town costs around 20-40 baht per person.

We would stay there again anytime

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daleo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed here with my wife and 3 kids for 4 nights in April 2012. It is quite a nice hotel, lovely reception and nice coffee shop and restaurant down stairs. The rooms were really nice for the price. The food at the restaurant was nicer than I would have guessed (although the breakfast just average). My only issue here was the location. Although within walking distance to some pretty cool places and markets, the road out the front of the hotel is very busy and not good for walking along (especially with kids). I probably wouldn't stay there again only for that reason, otherwise quite a good hotel and excellent value. The staff were very helpful also.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Not very close to the action but a better deal than you're going to get in the centre of the city. And still walking distance. Only time we ever used taxis was to get back late at night. Rooms were big and clean with all the amenities (fridge, tv, etc). Despite its location north of the old city, there are a number of nice restaurants and bars located directly adjacent to Viangbua Mansion including the Spirit House, one of the best restaurants we ate at during our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pattara Place
Pattara Place
#186 of 394 in Chiang Mai
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ruen Come In
Ruen Come In
#39 of 394 in Chiang Mai
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
4 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,377 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viangbua Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viangbua Mansion

Address: 3/1 Viangbua Road | Chang Puek, Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £0 - £1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viangbua Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viangbua Mansion Serviced Apartment - Chiang Mai, Thailand. Long-stay Serviced Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viangbua Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viangbua Mansion Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing