We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viangbua Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Viangbua Mansion
Ranked #70 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbeatable customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

This was my first place in a 6 week trip across Asia. I stayed in various places with a variety of places and feel this was the best place overall.

The customer service was exceptional by asian standards. The lady at night was very helpful with tour options without being pushey like most places. She organised my girlfriends lost bag with the airline for us. The other staff were always polite and helpful.

The place is a little way out of the old city. I found this to be a bonus as you got a more authentic experience and its quiet. The breakfast options were very good. The wifi was strong. The room was large and even had a seperate sitting area. The bed was huge. The bathroom had a large seperate shower with good water pressure. I feel the only thing this place didnt have was a pool.

Would definately stay again! The only negative thing I can say is that because this was my first place, I held it as the standard which most of my following accomadtion failed to meet.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    73
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
59
45
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Viangbua Mansion for one night.

Our room was spacious, the staff were very friendly and polite.
It's about 20 minutes to Chiang Mai City center so you may need a motorcycle if you are staying here longer.

Basic but great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pekopoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We are halfway through our trip and this was the best place we stayed at. The evening reception lady was the most helpful and caring lady ever. We had just come off the plane and my bag was missing and she rung the airport luggage people for me and sorted the whole issue out.
Also after a long and busy day my bf and I get in (we clearly look knackered) and she asks if we are O.K and then goes and gets us a glass of ice cold water (on a tray even)! All the reception ladies were really nice and helpful but the evening lady was a gem.
Just a note: we were the only young people there.
Breakfast was delicious too!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed as a couple for five nights at the Viangbau Mansion.

The rooms were massive the biggest we stayed in while traveling in asia, we had a sitting area and bedroom as well as a balcony. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good.

This hotel was a little bit more expensive than others we stayed in thailand but coming from Bangkok it was exactly what we where looking for away from the main tourist bars and restaurants but with one good and one excellent restaurant just outside.

The downside when we were there was they were doing work outside, pipes of some sort so the street was partly dug up. The noise wasnt bad in the hotel and work stopped and started at a reasonable hour so it didnt affect our stay other than physically getting in and out.

The location was ideal for us it is a bit of a walk to the main town but we did it most of the time we were there and you get a look at areas you probably wouldnt otherwise and there is usually a taxi or tuk tuk nearby if you get tired.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterGlasg0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

The best thing about Viangbua Mansion are its staff. The Housekeeping Manager is on top of things which explains the high standard of cleanliness. The reception staff are always responsive, friendly and try so hard to help. There are many long stay guests who are retirees so there is a kind of "community feel" and hardly any noisy young guests running around. A big plus is the fab Tanin Market 2 mins away. Fresh vegetables and fruit, all sorts of snacks, and you can order a stirfry for USD1 ready in 5 mins washed down with iced coffee costing 50 cents. Bottles of beer are available in the grocery shops which you can chill in the huge room fridge. I also appreciate the well-lit and safe parking for motorbikes. There are many other places which charge similar rates but cannot match the service and facilities. I hope Viangbua keeps its rates fair because this will keep customers coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

First of all, reviews are pretty much subjective, and based from your other experiences with travel and vacation. I'll be as neutral as I can.

The Viangbua Mansion for my needs hit the spot for several reasons. First off, I loved the location. Some people don't like that the VM is a little out of the touristy areas, but for me, that was a plus. All of those areas are chocked full of tourists, and at times seemed as if there are more tourists than Thais, which leaves you with a different perspective and experience. So for me, to be away from those crowds was nice. When the time comes and you want to hit the tourist spots, there always seemed to be a Tuk Tuk or Songtow nearby to take you wherever you wanted to go. Thapae Gate is not more than a 10 minute ride, and if you are a walker, you can easily walk there in about half an hour if so inclined. The north end of the Old City, or moat is a short walk as well. All of the malls are within a 10-15 minute ride, although I do know those who walk... at least one way.

The residence: VM seemed more like a guest house to me. There are people staying there from all corners of the earth... don't know why people say that since the earth is round, but anyway, there was always someone to talk too. You could find those who rent on a yearly basis, monthly basis, or for just a few days. But with that said, you would never realize there were long term residences. VM manages to keep its charm. There is a nice restaurant (small) on site that serves both western and asian meals. The Thai menu items were the least expensive, but that holds true wherever you eat. I wish they were open for dinner, but as of this writing, they only serve breakfast and lunch, closing at 3 pm, or 15:00. As a guest staying there for less than 30 days, breakfast is included in your daily rate. The wifi is "okay", but I have travelled enough to realize that I will not get blistering speeds when abroad, so even though I would have like more bandwidth, what they offered was adequate.

The Staff: Awesome. I never really felt as if I was a guest there. They make you feel at home as best they can, were always welcoming, and incredibly helpful. Sometimes I wished I could communicate a little more, but then again, I am the guest in Thailand... and ultimately, there never really was a problem. It is the staff and ambiance of the VM that keeps bringing customers back.

The Food: The food in the restaurant was good, I never had a bad meal. You can choose, like I mentioned above, American style breakfast (eggs, bacon, toast), or lunches (tuna or a club sandwich), or a number of Thai and other Asian dishes. For those of you who wonder about the water, drink up. I always drank their water, and so does everyone else... with no problems. I still do whenever I drop in for a quick breakfast or lunch. Just a short walk away is another world of choice at the local market, or at many of the small eating establishments all around the area. A word about that... not all have menus in English, for those of us who are English speakers. Most here do not speak English either, so communicating what you want or if you have a question... it might not be answered. But with that said, most places have pictures on the menu, so you can always point.

The rooms: The rooms were large by my standards, much larger than a room you would get in the states. The corner rooms were larger, but for a single traveller or a couple, a regular room is fine. Mine had a queen sized bed, desk, sofa, chair, lamps, two large closets, two dressers, and a TV that had a few English channels. The room was fairly clean (shower and bathroom), but then I am not too critical. I suppose if you wanted to give the place the 'white glove' treatment you could, but for me, I didn't think spotless... as it showed a little wear. But that is acceptable for me... that is where the subjectivity comes in. The bed was always made, fresh water was in the room daily, and I never had a fear of something turning up missing. They also had a small room safe you could use as well.

Over all, I would stay there again. I really found no negatives. Sure a pool or something like that would be nice, but I knew they didn't have one, so it wasn't an issue. Location for me, was fine... I don't have a problem walking, and if I didn't want to walk, there was always alternate transportation.

Room Tip: I prefer the north side, at least you have a view of the mountains. However, with that side of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank slc12312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed at Viang Bua Mansíon some time ago and liked it. It is a bit pricy and old style, but it has STYLE, charm and calm.

I had a spacious corner apartment which was clean and really nice. I saw another room which was smaller and more simple. I will recommend the bigger rooms.

The staff was smiling and very helpful.

The GYM had a treadmill and a few dumbbells and that's it.... wouldn't call it a gym though.

The food is nice, but around the corner there is a market where you can buy the most tasty food for almost no money.

It is a bit out of the town center so you need to rent a motorbike. Or be prepared for other kind of transportation

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Søren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Napatra Hotel
Napatra Hotel
#85 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#42 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.2 mi away
We Briza Hotel Chiang Mai
We Briza Hotel Chiang Mai
#86 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tawan Court
Tawan Court
#96 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viangbua Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viangbua Mansion

Property: Viangbua Mansion
Address: 3/1 Viangbua Road | Chang Puek, Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viangbua Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viangbua Mansion Serviced Apartment - Chiang Mai, Thailand. Long-stay Serviced Apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Viangbua Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viangbua Mansion Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing