We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming city retreat”
Review of Yaang Come Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yaang Come Village
Ranked #42 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed at Yaang Come Village at the end of March 2014. Our week there, and in Chiang Mai, was magical. Yaang Come is a collection of traditional Thai looking buildings housing about four units each. We were looking for something Thai-- not like something we'd get in the USA dropped into Thailand. We got exactly what we wanted. It was like a resort in the city.
*Lovely flowers and trees.
*Wonderful pool to come to after a day of touring.
*Spacious unit with good bed and bathroom.
*Friendly, helpful staff...most of whom spoke some English. The front desk staff was always ready with suggestions and ways to help ( such as making phone calls for us, storing luggage on our last day after we checked out 12 hours before our plane left).
* Nutritious breakfasts served every morning.
*The location is spectacular-- only steps away from the night market.

As everywhere in Chiang Mai there are mosquitoes to deal with here. If that is a problem for you then perhaps a more Western style hotel might be a better choice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolf54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Helpful staff and a great place to take your wife/ family. The markets are down the street and everything is within proximity. It is a great getaway from city life, peaceful =. neal.matthews@yahoo.com

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony is great! Rooms by reception are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190Rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful 4 nights in a deluxe room here. Great location, nice atmosphere overall. Staff immaculately dressed in traditional costume and very friendly. Would not hesitate to come back and have already recommended it to friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenmiddleton95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

First time in Thailand and first Thai hotel, we chose this for its character which it has in most places but it lets itself down.

The reception area is open and a bit odd, you approach it via a large car park type of drive way which is not welcoming by any means, the receptionist sit behind a window which is very odd, it’s like you are booking tickets, very unwelcoming. The walkway to room 101 was covered in leaves, these were cleared by the time we had a shower and came out, a bit odd to clean up after check in.

The room was nicely decorated but suffered badly with mosquitoes, they had provided an electronic bat and spray, that provided a few minutes of fun. A better solution is needed to justify the amount they charge per night, until the reviews get better on Mosquitoes control or the management writes positive comments to eradicate the evening onslaught of mosquitoes avoid this place and book into a large complex where misquotes can’t touch you.

The hotel comes alive behind the reception although the buildings have been placed haphazardly, but the plan works. Breakfast is just okay but could be a lot better.
The room had hot water supplied by a hater under the sink, the shower was running hot and cold, as we have properties and know heating systems quite well, the issue here was cold water was at a higher pressure and was forcing the hot water back until you turned the dial to hot to reduce the pressure on the cold water, would be much easier to install a pressurised hot water system for the hotel, but again these are signs of cost saving / or call it eco nonsense !!

Location is great, turn left from hotel, turn right and you have the night market.
Great massage as you turn left from hotel, it’s the first one on left called Relax something, wife used the Hotel Spa but the Massage was useless, I could have done that and charged her less !!

Internet is free but they have blocked port 25 SMTP, i.e. you can’t SEND mail using outlook etc. Webmail works fine. I mentioned this to the receptionist but could have saved myself 5 minutes.
If you need to send via SMTP, walk to the main road and go into the café by the entrance to the hotel, they have free internet for customers.
Btw: building work going on next to hotel, and you can be seen from office blocks when sunbathing
Mini bar is sensibly priced - well done

Overall a great stay in Chiang Mai, nice (ok) hotel with issues they can resolve if they really wanted to. I have checked my review and have given this hotel a 3.5 (Trip does not allow 3.5 so a 3) based on service/facility vs price per night.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are good, go for top floor rooms - request a hotel spray to kill hotel mosquitos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aro-rat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Yaang Come was a wonderful hotel paradise in the midst of a bustling inland city. The hotel has a great pool and wonderful gardens and landscaping throughout. The included breakfast buffet is delicious, as is the restaurants daily menu. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable beds (also spacious). The hotel is very close to the city's night bazaar and walking distance from old town. The staff was very friendly and accommodating (great with helping to book trips and giving info for travel to tourist destinations). Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Thai style accommodation. Room good size garden view. Pool and garden area quite small.
Staff ok
Great location and walkable to all parts of the city
Recommend The Teak house for food !!
Hotel 10-15 mins from airport do the taxi yourself both ways the hotel want you to pay a premium for them to book for you??
To bo

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank McHugh1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We see some good reviews about this hotel, but we feel so dissapointed by many details.
Noisy rooms.
Price at the swimming pool really too high.
They even charge 150 baths to spray some mosqitos reppelant in our room......Ect, ect.......

Room Tip: Our room was really noisy ( room 175) Big garden, but need more attention. They charge 150 baths t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 389 in Chiang Mai
987 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 389 in Chiang Mai
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#39 of 389 in Chiang Mai
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaang Come Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaang Come Village

Address: 90/3 Sridonchai Rd | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £76 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaang Come Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yaang Come Village boasts of Thai architectural buildings amidst verdant greens which shelter various exotic birds and squirrels. It is truly an oasis of beauty surrounded by an ever-increasing area of new high rise hotels. The hotel embodies the charm and elegance of its picturesque surroundings. The traditional Lanna ambiance engulfs you into a peaceful retreat. Guests are ushered in with warm and friendly hospitality. Exceptional accommodation facilities make memorable stay for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Yaang Come Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaang Come Village Hotel Chiang Mai
Yaang Come Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing