We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Quiet”
Review of Yaang Come Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yaang Come Village
Ranked #41 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
SFCAL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quiet”
Reviewed 22 January 2010

My husband and I were looking for a quiet getaway after being in busy Bangkok, and this was it. The property is beautiful, tropical and exotic. The staff is so friendly and ready to help with any questions. It was a peaceful getaway, yet we could walk 5 min to the Night Market and restaurants. Breakfast was included and good, not great but good enough. Room were very large, clean and well decorated. The only complaint is the mosquitos at night, but other than that we had a very memorable stay. Highly recommend this place for couples.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    221
    60
    27
    19
See reviews for
240
393
43
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
261 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

I chose this hotel after spending alot of time reading ta advice. It truly lived up to all our expectations. It is an oasis of tranquility in busy CM and the decor is lovely. TA members have already really said it all. Staff are so pleasant and friendly..something we later missed in Phuket. Pool area is so relaxing but I never tried the pool as it was pretty cold. we reserved a deluxe room and I was a little disappointed. Over xmas the rates were rather high and I actually thought it was the superior room. it was large, a little dated and our view was a building hidden by bamboo. I should have asked for a pool or garden view but oh well...as mentioned there are lots of mozzies. They did spray the gardens one night , in fact i thought the bathroom was on fire as "smoke" was pouring in. Also odd...we reserved the van to the hotel at 200b (pricey) but on the way back it was 150b. breakfast was good and staff attentive. Enjoyed the hotel dog with her xmas coat (70 degreesand cold...all a matter of perspective.) yes, whole earth is worth a visit but our favorite restaurant was the Antique House ...Gallery restaurant was beautiful at the river. Riverside was for the younger crowd. Also...hotel has a good, cheap massage place just to the right at the gate and there's another one on the left. Hotel spa pricey. All in all, a lovely hotel and I would stay there again...location great for night market and about 15mins walk to Sunday market. Oh...and there is internet service in the lobby and the deluxe rooms do have wiifi but you have to ask at the lobby for a cable.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Our family of 5 took 3 deluxe rooms at Yaang Come for 4 nights over new year – having chose it due to Trip Advisor recommendations. It was our second time in Chaing Mai and was part of our vacation also taking in Samui and Luang Prabang..
Overall it met our expectations. Nice ‘vibe’. Location is brilliant as advertised. Service was very good, rooms were nice and spacious and comfortable, Breakfasts were fine. Pool area was pleasant, although we didn’t actually go in the pool. Restaurant next door to the hotel, Whole Earth, gets some of the best press in Chaing Mai and was good when we were there.

Tips – Book trips in advance - we wanted to do a days’ Mahout Training’ which we had done before in Chaing Rai and found it difficult to organise as they were all booked up. We finally found one, which actually turned out to be the best day of the hols – bathing elephants in the water etc, bareback rides into the jungle, so it would have been a shame to miss out.

Only three ‘could do better’ comments
a) There are a lot of mosquitoes about in the grounds as they are obviously not sprayed and they get into the rooms in some number especially when the cleaners leave the door open whilst they clean. So 3 suggestions to the hotel: Consider spraying the grounds, get the cleaners to close the door whilst cleaning and finally – provide mosquito netting!
b) The New Year (compulsory) Gala Dinner was hugely overpriced – £60pp for very ordinary food, quite nice local dancing, rubbish night club-style singer and only 2 drinks included. Really the hotel needed to have included at least beer and soft drinks as part of the package and ideally the house wine.
c) For the price I would normally expect nowadays the WiFi to be available in the room, rather than just in the foyer – an easy thing to provide.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_HirstUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Last 3 days of Dec 2009 was spent at the Yaang Village with wife and 3 year old son;an excellent way to end the year. Free pick up and drop off to the airport made it easier for the family. The service at the hotel is one of the best I have encountered. All the staff were very friendly and would do anything to help and make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Grounds are beautiful and quiet in the middle of a busy town and only a few minutes walk from the night market and 5 minutes to eastern gate of old city by tuktuk. Rooms are very spacious and clean with safe and DVD player (they lend you movies at reception, a nice touch especially for the kids) in a cultural architectural style which is very pleasing and authentic. Breakfast buffet is more than sufficient with egg station, fresh fruits breads and jams etc. The hotel restaurant itself has an excellent Thai menu and we ate dinner room service from there a couple of times. Very fresh (saw them preparing it) and very inexpensive. The rooms also have mosquito spray and electric swatters, but I recommend you also bring along a plug in for the night. This goes for all hotels in Chiang Mai. The hotel helped us book a half day excursion to an orchid farm (stunning, a good souvenir is the preserved orchid necklace for the ladies) and to an elephant camp. That was a highlight especially for the kids where you can feed and touch the elephants and watch a show. This is not a circus by the way and it still supports the locals keeping and caring for the elephants in their own habitat. Just around the corner there is Giorgio's Restaurant if you are lookingfor authentic Italian. All the ingredients are original and it is run by an Italian gentleman. Internet is available for free at serene reception. Everything was wonderful about this hotel, city and people!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0ntrealers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leics
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We booked our stay after reading reviews on TA, and overall the hotel, its common areas , restaurant and landscaping is lovely , the staff are the real hotel asset as they where so helpful and tentative. But our rooms i felt where expensive for what they where, or could do with a good airing - they were really dark, and smelt a bit damp, and they are starting to look a bit tired, i think if you can get this hotel, we got a deal but i still think you should look to pay no more than 2,000 bht a night.
recommended for location and friendly staff and hotel decor
not recommended if you like to spend a lot of time in your room

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This hotel has it all! It is an oasis in the middle of Chiang Mai close to the night market.
The sweetest, professionel staff provide excellent service!
The rooms are large and tastefully decorated, the restaurant has a good selection of both Thai and continental food.
A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetteE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This is an excellent high end boutique hotel. The rooms are very charming and well appointed. The breakfast is excellent, the staff is beyond amazing. There is a good restaurant right in front and it is walking distance to a lot of good spots in Chiang Mai, including the night market and some fabulous temples.

Like other high end places in Thailand, the price is really too high - I paid $150 per night which is obviously inflated for this part of the world. However, you get a lot for your money and it is worth it to have great comfort and a spotless bathroom. Plus the place is made to look like a Lanna village, modeled after a real village in southern China. The rooms have Lanna murals and cool woodwork. It's quite beautiful and quaint, with not too many rooms - it never felt crowded even though it was full.

A few bad points: there are a lot of mosquitoes on this property. I didn't see so many mosquitoes around Chiang Mai, so I'm not sure why there are so many here. Maybe because there are little water channels around the garden and some standing water. They really should take some steps to reduce the mosquitoes - there are swarms of them and lots of them in the rooms.

We stayed there for several nights and had to move rooms for the last night. The second room had a vaulted ceiling which is a great hiding place for mosquitoes. I must have killed 30 of them. They provide you with an electrified mosquito killer that looks like a tennis racket. Some air circulation would be more effective - electric fans in the rooms and in the garden would likely take care of the problem. Citronella in the garden would be most helpful.

One other thing I didn't like (as an independent American traveler): every evening, 2 young guys knock on your door and ask if they can turn down your bed. I found it plain creepy, especially with the grin on the guys face. One night we were out for dinner and they did it in our absence without permission. I really don't like staff coming into my hotel room, so I didn't care for that at all.

Overall a great place to stay and quit romantic with lush garden and charming rooms - several families and Japanese tourists there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellringer108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#44 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaang Come Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaang Come Village

Property: Yaang Come Village
Address: 90/3 Sridonchai Rd | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaang Come Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yaang Come Village boasts of Thai architectural buildings amidst verdant greens which shelter various exotic birds and squirrels. It is truly an oasis of beauty surrounded by an ever-increasing area of new high rise hotels. The hotel embodies the charm and elegance of its picturesque surroundings. The traditional Lanna ambiance engulfs you into a peaceful retreat. Guests are ushered in with warm and friendly hospitality. Exceptional accommodation facilities make memorable stay for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Yaang Come Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaang Come Village Hotel Chiang Mai
Yaang Come Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing