We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in center of Chiang Mai”
Review of Yaang Come Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yaang Come Village
Ranked #35 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I highly recommend Yaang Come Village for those looking for a quiet spot to rest and relax after a day of sight seeing in and around Chiang Mai. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, the hotel is beautiful with many decorative details to delight the eye. We took advantage of the opportunity to buy one of the ceramic items that decorated our room. We enjoyed breakfast, although not as abundant as some hotels, and had a delightful lunch.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expatCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

For over 200 USD a night in Thailand, this hotel is not good value for your money. Specifically, I was expecting to get the following amenities:

-a real blowdryer in the room
-an extensive breafkast
-a room with free internet or at least wireless internet in the room
-a fitness room
The service was not impressive.
The staff was very impersonal. The breakfast was subpar with mostly cold dishes. We stayed 2 nights and we found the hotel ok but too expensive. On the positive side, the hotels' location. is excellent, near the night market.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parisianangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This is a hotel for those who:

1. Like to swat mosquitoes with an electric swatter (provided by hotel) every night because Hotel has no other solution to mosquito menace.
2. Like only an omelets for breakfast because breakfast spread is really limited and remains absolutely the same each day.
3. Like to leave their ipads and iphones at home because there is no wi-fi or wired internet in room and would definitely not crave for any English language channel on small TV in the room ( ok they had Al Jazeera there)
4. Like to laze around the pool instead of swim inside a pool because the pool is at best the size of a largish Jacuzzi. 4 strokes and done.
5. Like to always go out and eat because Hotel has no in-room dining service.

I am not one of the above and so I didn’t really enjoy my stay at all. Location of the hotel is close to Night Bazaar but then Night Bazaar is hugely disappointing in itself so not sure what to make out of the location.

Rooms are quite basic, a bit old, even towels seem to be worn out. Staff would greet you with folded hands but they seem a bit artificial. Was really surprised that very few could speak English well. Hotel restaurant is at best avoided – got terrible quality for most basic Thai cuisine.

Overall, got this hotel choice horribly wrong. Will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A_Wanderer_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Hotel - Beautifully designed and laid out.
Good food and excellent attentive responsive pleasant communicative and helpful staff.
Quiet and relaxing.
Excellent value for money.
Very clean and meticulously cared for.
Easy access to night Bazaar and other attractions.
Plenty of nearby restaurants and cafes.
Would highly recommend and will return!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I spent 3 nights here on the front and back end of a solo motorcycle tour of northern Thailand, and couldn't be more pleased with the choice. Though located just off a busy street near the night market, once you enter the premises, you have entered another world. The peaceful gardens and excellent staff are the perfect antidote for the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai's streets. Though expensive by northern Thailand's standard, I stayed at the "best available" hotels/ resorts in several places in northern Thailand (including Mae Hong Son, Nan, Pai, and Chiang Khong), and this was by far the best accommodation. The staff was excellent, and I had a lot of fun talking to them and gained quite a few insights into Thai culture and life through these interactions. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tooths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We stayed at Yaang Come over 41/2 years ago shortly after it opened (posted a review on Asiarooms then) and recently returned with our baby daughter for a short holiday.
We were impressed then but we left more impressed this time!

The staff are gracious, caring and leave one with a very good feeling about CM and Lana culture

The detail in the initial architecture, maintenance and the servicing of the rooms is certainly "Top 10" stuff - and the rooms are certainly way above your typical starwood "cookie-cutter sheik".
Aircon. was quiet and effective beds were very comfortable.

The village has it's own unique character yet is is so close to the main shopping street you would not know.

Breakfast and the cafe food were delicious and very well presented

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sedang_Farang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at Yaang Come Village over Christmas break in Dec 2010 based on fellow Trip Advisor ratings.

Pros: Great staff and customer service, nice atmosphere, good location near the Night Bazaar and restaurants, large rooms, dvd players in room and dvds available to borrow at the front desk. Staff noticed our wet clothing after kayaking and drying racks magically appeared while we were out to dinner.

Cons: Breakfast ok not great, lots of mosquitoes in our rooms upon arrival (however, the staff did respond quickly to our complaints), no fitness room and no place near by to run or walk, wi-fi and in-room internet did not consistently work, pool did not get much sun. Upon check-out, was charged for a 'missing' washcloth by hotel management which left a very poor final impression.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Barnsey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.2 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#38 of 392 in Chiang Mai
994 reviews
0.7 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 392 in Chiang Mai
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#29 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#39 of 392 in Chiang Mai
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaang Come Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaang Come Village

Address: 90/3 Sridonchai Rd | Changkhlan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#27 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £92 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yaang Come Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yaang Come Village boasts of Thai architectural buildings amidst verdant greens which shelter various exotic birds and squirrels. It is truly an oasis of beauty surrounded by an ever-increasing area of new high rise hotels. The hotel embodies the charm and elegance of its picturesque surroundings. The traditional Lanna ambiance engulfs you into a peaceful retreat. Guests are ushered in with warm and friendly hospitality. Exceptional accommodation facilities make memorable stay for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Yaang Come Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaang Come Village Hotel Chiang Mai
Yaang Come Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing