We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 757 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a wonderful guest house hidden behind big gates and white door but the secret is starting to become known.

Pespi will met and greet you like a well known friend and will be on hand for anything that you request, anything you would like assistance with or bookings for cooking classes, retaurants, tours etc.

On my first night the airconditioner was broken in my room and straight away the next day a brand new airconditioner was installed without any trouble known to me.

The swimming pool is a little small but nonetheless great after a day out and about to be able to return and have a bit of a swim was great - it was very refreshing and also the garden area was very relaxing for some quiet time.

The rooms are spacious and very clean, the surrounding gardens are kept beautifully, the breakfast by the pool was a great way to start the day especially traditional rice soup - it needed to be ordered the day before but then it was something extra to look forward to.

On the same street are some very interesting shops for those that are on the lookout for something a bit different to take home and we didn't have to go far for great restaurants.

I would highly reccommend Baan Orapin - I will certainly be staying longer than 4 nights next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GayleS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    104
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
163
406
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We enjoyed a short stay for 2 nights in March as we were primarily in Chiang Mai to see the Elephants. I am so pleased that I found the Baan Orapin after looking on trip advisor. It was lovely to stay in a traditional Thai house full of charm and character as opposed to the standard modern places for a change.

Breakfast was of a very high standard but the only slight issue we had was that breakfast begins at 7.15am and our early more excursion began at 7.30am so it was a little rushed.

All the staff were really helpful and overall the place just had a brilliant atmostphere. Wish we could of stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisas407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed every moment of it. We had a junior suite in the rear of the complex, very comfortable and quiet. This accommodation was a pleasure to come back to at the end of a busy day sightseeing.

The staff were very friendly and breakfast by the pool every morning was a pleasure, starting with fruit and juices and then onto your choice of various dishes cooked fresh.

There are numerous bars and restaurants around this area, a lot of them catering to the coach tour groups. However, we did find a couple of lovely restaurants behind the main street and further down off the tourist strip, worth exploring if you want a more authentic experience.

Chang Mai is a lovely city and with so much to do we could easily have stayed longer to explore more of what this area has to offer and it would have been very easy to stay longer at Baan Orapin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKI_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A quaint, peaceful heritage building with its old world charm and lush gardens welcomes you on the banks of the Ping river to Baan Orapin, in the, Charoenrat/Wat Ket area. From bustling Bangkok, this seemed like a Oasis of tranquility.

The collection of bungalows rest alongside a landscaped tropical garden – Baan Orapin takes its name from the 90-year-old teakwood family home at its centre. The decor of the rooms is simple and elegant, floors are teak or hardwood, furniture handcrafted and the beautiful breakfast laid out by the pool side and attentive service make one feel very special. The traditional Northern breakfast deserves special mention, though you will need to inform the staff a day in advance.

The location is very central, a historic street along the sleepy Ping River leads one to the beautiful restaurants by the river and the arts and craft shops. The much famed Night Bazaar, the bustling night market is a comfortable walking distance away. One needs to mention though that Nightbazar, though huge, has spectacular displays of its traditonal fare inside rather than the the outside shops that mostly sell cheap fakes from China. The local artists at work on the premises of the Night Bazar enthralled us with their sheer skill and artistry.The Warorot market with its beautiful traditional textile and cotton work from the local hilltribes does not fail to impress the tired traveller with its unfailing local charm and the unique essence of the Lanna culture. The promiximity to the old city area and the beautiful Wats of Chiangmai made our stay at Baan Orapin very memorable. The ancient Wats of chiangmai with their intricate wood carving and stunning hand painted murals left a lasting impression on us. The emaciated Buddha at Wat Umong, that almost escapes attention was a unique find.

Thanks to Trip Advisor, Baan Orapin was a great find for us on our visit to Thailand in December 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anu023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Bean Orapin is hidden gem behind very large doors off a busy street. We spent 5 night in a traditional thai Junior suite, in the rear wing, can not rate it high enough it was a perfect retreat after a days sightseeing in busy Chaing Mai.
Excellent breakfast, and the staff were very attentive.
There is a lovely swimming pool to relax round.
It is 5 minutes from the river were there are plenty of restaurants, we were recommended to go to the Gallery. This was a great place with excellent food.It was so good we spent 4 nights eating here.
Thankyou Opas for 5 wonderful nights
Carol and Derek.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear wing are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 for 5 nights in a junior suite. Anyone looking for accommodation in Chiang Mai....don't look past this one. Such a quaint and beautiful setting, we absolutely loved it. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. It was wonderful walking through the front gates after a full and sometimes hectic day out and finding such peaceful surroundings within. Perfect for all types of holiday makers, except rowdy groups, as it is a very tranquil and calm setting. Breakfasts were very good and service was great.

Many good restaurants are located within walking distance and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoopenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulica
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I visited baan orapin with my mother and aunt for five days in march 2012. The hotel is hidden off a busy but upscale street in Chiangmai and the grounds are unbelievably verdant and relaxing. Easy access and hotel had good recommendations and relationships with taxi and other services which made our visit easier. The staff was incredibly friendly and spoke limited but sufficient english. Breakfast was wonderful out by the pool. The temperature was at least five degrees cooler inside the grounds than out on the street thanks to all of the trees and other foliage. Only note is that there were ants in the shower. Nice walk to night Market. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
742 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 757 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin b&b
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing