We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil haven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 756 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A tranquil haven”
Reviewed 2 March 2008

The owners inherited this beautiful property and to ensure its ongoing preservation, opened it to discerning travelers. My teak room was very spacious and comfortable, with lounge, fridge, table, desk, 2 4 poster beds and views of the tropical grounds below. The breakfast was a treat, and after a long day of walking busy streets, it was pleasant to relax poolside. Sited by the river, and close by the better restaurants and galleries, the Baan Orapin proved to be my journey's highlight. The owner is utterly charming. Making a personal connection is something you don't experience from a hotel.

  • Liked — tropical setting
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank GoannaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    104
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
162
406
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

This is the fourth year running that we have stayed at Baan Orapin with owners Opas and Anuchana. We have watched it grow, year by year, always just a little concerned that perhaps it might be getting just a bit too big and just a little too impersonal - But our worries were unfounded - They have managed to do the trick of growing but still remaining the same incredibly friendly, helpful and intimate place to stay. This year there's a new small swimming pool that is an absolute delight - we worried a bit that it might mean hordes of kids all day, but we needn't have - all to ourselves most afternoons and a great place to hide from the heat of the day. Opas arranged cars for us, including pick up from the airport when we arrived from Myanmar, and Pepsi and the establishment staff - who have been there since day one - are still there, quietly doing anything that's needed or asked for - including serving up the delicious choice of fresh cooked breakfast - none of your serve yourself lukewarm buffet stuff here! They have built a new building at the front of the premises that is let to Soep Moi Arts - a delightful shop - which also serves to effectively deal with the previous problem of road noise in the accommodation at the front. Only the odd noisy dog left to disturb the peace and tranquillity!

  • Liked — peaceful, friendly and intimate ambiance
  • Disliked — the odd noisy dog next door!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2008

We booked this hotel on the strength of other reviews and we weren't disappointed! Accommodation used traditional furniture and had a real Thai traditional feel, very different to the other hotels we had stayed at in Thailand. My friend and I were two single travellers and feel the Baan Orapin was set up for us as well as any other kind of traveller. Owners were always available to help whether it was advice on tours or local tailors. It was ideally located on the other side of the river where there was some fantasic restaurants and bars with live bands on the walk to the bridge Loved Chiang Mai and the Baan Orapin, and look forward to visiting them both again

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank guilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2008

This is a fantastic B&B, and is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Although the street on which it is located is somewhat busy (it's not a main road or anything, but it does get some traffic) the Baan Orapin itself is an oasis of peace. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. We had a junior suite in the back area, and it was wonderful. The included breakfast is extremely good, and the open air breakfast area is a wonderful place to eat a relaxing breakfast.

The location is good. The pedestrian bridge over the Ping River is very close, and once you cross the bridge you are at a lively market. The Night Bazaar is about a 15 minute walk away, and you can take a tuk tuk cheaply if you don't want to walk it. The walk to the old city (i.e. inside the moat) is a little longer, but is an easy walk, and there is some really good shopping along the way.

There are several large, failry famous restaurants nearby, including The Riverside, The Good View, and the Brasserie. These restaurants are large, and the service can sometimes leave something to be desired, in my opinion, but the food is good. The locations,sitting along the river, cannot be beat.

in short, if you are staying in Chiang Mai (and you should be) Baan Orapin cannot be beat. Book it now, you won't regret it.

  • Liked — The gounds and the rooms.
  • Disliked — There is nothing I did not like about Baan Orapin.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank patzeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2007

As this was our first trip to Asia, we were nervous about hotels. We are used to booking through Orbitz or Expedia. But it could not have worked out better.

Opas and his staff treat you like family. You show up and they are quick to come say hello, and give you thoughtful suggestions on where to go, where not to go, and when is the best time to see certain attractions.

The rooms are beautiful, although the beds are a little hard. But your days are so full, you hardly even notice.

Every morning we looked forward to breakfast by the pool, and spent many hours sitting in the garden and taking photos. It was amazing how you walk into the grounds from a loud street, and the noise just disappears as you enter this little oasis.

We can't waite to return some day!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank dkaplan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Sometimes I'm a bit leery of believing everything I read on TripAdvisor; I never know if the glowing reviews are genuine or not. But I can assure anyone reading this comment that the Baan Orapin does not only live up to the raves posted on this website, it far exceeds what has been written.

It's beautiful, authentic, has an absolutely perfect location on a trendy but relatively quiet street, and best of all the owner, Opas, and his staff, Pepsi and Nom, could not possibly make a guest feel more at home and comfortable. Every whim is attended to immediately, but don't worry: You can have complete privacy without feeling someone is looking over your shoulder.

As a reviewer posted months ago, if you want a Sheraton or Hilton, then stay in a Sheraton or Hilton. But if you want to experience beautiful northern Thailand, then stay at the Baan Orapin.

The photos I posted are my own. I even told Opas that I thought the pictures on his official website do not do this gorgeous property justice. When you first walk the grounds it will take your breath away. You'll know you've entered a little slice of paradise. And during your entire stay you'll never be disappointed.

  • Liked — Architecture, grounds, price, service, location, breakfast selections, pool, room design, and much more.
  • Disliked — The wi-fi Internet does not reach most rooms, so access is limited.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Joel1950dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2007

The room, the grounds, the location, the service, and breakfast....it was dreamy. We loved Baan Orapin. Definitely stay here you will love it!

  • Liked — authentic thai historic feel
  • Disliked — Chiang Mai was very smoggy-smokey while we were there
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank schwastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 386 in Chiang Mai
742 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 756 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin b&b
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing