We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful oasis”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 808 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Totally agree with all of the positive reviews. Opas was helpful before, as well as during, our stay. His concierge services are not to be forgotten. Among other things, he helped arrange a very last minute day trip to Thai Elephant Home that could only happen because of his relationship with them. Breakfasts were superb. Setting is wonderful. We were in rooms closer to the street and noise was not an issue.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed here again this year because of the great location a little way from the busier areas of the city. There is a wooden gate which that blocks the view from the road. Just ring the bell, and someone will come to let you in. There is room for several cars, if you are driving.

The buildings are of historical architecture, the grounds are beautifully landscaped, and there is a quiet swimming pool which is perfect for relaxing in the afternoon, after a morning of visiting shops and the produce market.

The breakfasts were great, and served with a smile as always. We were always greeted in the morning, and asked if we wanted tea, or coffee. Hot chocolate is also available.

There are several restaurants nearby along the river which are all good. We ate all our evening meals in this area because of the view of the river.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

This is a lovely place, it has a wall surrounding the grounds that form a barrier to the outside world. The ground are beautiful, we spent many hours in the pool.
The immediate area surrounding the Baan Orapin is also a bit different, more quality craft and artifacts. I would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Baan Orapin is a charming property that has an old plantation feel to it. The buildings are nicely laid out around an old main house, and the landscaping is well done. You really do walk through the front entrance and feel like you are in another world. We stayed in a junior suite in the back of the property and would absolutely do so again. The room was lovely: nice bed and bathroom, comfortable sofa and chairs for relaxing. I definitely recommend Baan Orapin for its overall set-up and ambiance. The location was also a big plus for us; we did walk to the walled city center (despite the heat) several times and in the evening found Baan Orapin perfectly situated to hit our favorite riverfront restaurants. Baan Orapin is a real charmer, and we're so glad we stayed there during our visit to Chiang Mai. We'll return eventually and will come back to this lovely place!

"Pepsi" seems to be the heart and soul of Baan Orapin - he's a friendly fellow who will do whatever he can to make your stay comfortable. That said, he seems so busy and overworked - frankly it is a miracle he keeps a smile on his face! Get him some backup, ASAP! I'd also say that this place is good if you are an independent traveler and don't need a lot of hands on guidance ... the only "concierge" service was the internet station in the main building. Our bed was F-I-R-M. You might like that; others might not.

On tips, I think the back of the grounds are probably quieter, but as another reviewer mentioned I wouldn't necessarily pass up a space here in the front! The breakfast menu has a "special section" requiring a full day notice ... the offerings there are probably worth the extra effort! It felt like there was a bit of construction going on around the property so you might check on that; it probably wouldn't bother you if you are out in town during the day. A quiet day poolside could be slightly more challenging.

I'm mostly putting the last two paragraphs in the interest of full transparency. My husband and I would 100% recommend Baan Orapin and intend to do so to our friends!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pequeypuchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

No point repeating what has already been said other than to say, I agree!

For the money this palce is awesome, we felt we were in our own home with a few friends over rather than a hotel or guest house such was the peace and tranquility here. Sure if you want to snap your fingers and have the Pina Coladas arrive instantly this isn't for you, but if you want a little slice of heaven almost all to yourself then you'd have to go some to better this place.

Staff just kind of appear when required, then disappear when not.

Breakfast is a little odd, but I didnt go hungry....hope you like eggs.

Position is nice, too far to walk to the city (in my opinion) in that heat, but for the price of a small beer you'll get a tuktuk to wherever you want to go, so why walk anyhoow???

Excellent little shops, cafes, restaurants, and the like directly outside and if you turn right out of the property instead of left towards the old city, up to the crossroads and right again there's a whole new other part of Chiang Mai without another tourist in sight.
We walked and ate and walked and drank and ate and walked until our feet fell off.
Jump in songtheow and back home. Fantastic.

Directly opposite Baan Orapin there's a little noodle shop, looks like a little old garage, but, WOW!

Oh and theres a little laundry about fifty yards up on the right hand side as you turn right out of the hotel, worth using just for the hell of meeting the little Thai Mama running the place, awesome human being!

Criticisms???.........Hmmmn.... None.

I love CM and Baan Orapin.

Room Tip: It does (seem) to get a little noisy at the front but I wouldnt turn this place down if that was th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

The Baan Orapin is the definition of 'hidden gem' from the oasis style hideaway you enter in to after a long sweaty day around Chiang Mai to the wonderful staff that make breakfast so enjoyable.

We booked a day before and even though arrived late there were people waiting to take us to our room an ensure we had enough information. As the reviews before us state, the place is beautiful, very 'thai' and decorated very well. We had to move rooms halfway through our stay ( as we booked last minute) but it was completely painless and both rooms were lovely.

The pool is a great treat in the late afternoon to cool off, an I kept very clean.

There is a busy road outside, but there is a small pavement on the opposite side, and it's 5 minute from some great restaurants on the river (good view, the riverside, the gallery)

We walked in to the night market an it took about 10-15 mins. The Tuk-Tuk back was 50 Bhat ( they start off at 100 but will drop to 50 quickly)

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkly_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My husband and I are very used to staying in expensive botique hotels across the world. We were a little dubious when we saw the very affordable pricing of this B&B but we decided to listen to the reviews and stay here. We were thrilled with the authentic design and feel of a traditional Thai accommodation, safe and closed off location, incredible and attentive service, and very clean and beautifully designed rooms. We stayed with our 8 year old and 6 year old kids and it was a great location to bring children to since we stayed in their largest family suite that had 2 bedrooms and bathrooms. We highly suggest this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: towards the back and away from the busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renee94903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#5 of 394 in Chiang Mai
825 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#14 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baan Klang Wiang
Baan Klang Wiang
#11 of 394 in Chiang Mai
348 reviews
2.6 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#6 of 808 in Chiang Mai
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#10 of 808 in Chiang Mai
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 808 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £28 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin b&b
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing