We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Everything about Baan Orapin is wonderful......even the pet white rabbit ! Opas and his staff exude true Thai friendliness and their service is impeccable. We stayed for one week and loved every moment....yes, the other reviews say it all. One suggestion - although breakfast is beautifully prepared and served and the choices are certainly adequate the menu does become a little 'restricted' feeling if one is staying more than three or four days - this is not really a big problem, just a 'selfish' reaction on my part !

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

Baan Orapin is a quaint little B&B that is a great place to stay. We had great service each day and were upgraded to one of the bungalow rooms. Each day we had breakfast by the pool.

The B&B is a little outside the main town area but all the taxi and tuk tuk drivers knew where it was if you told them the name of the church right next to the B&B.

There is a nice lady 4 doors down who will do you laundry very inexpensively.

Siam Cooling School and Patara Elephant Farm know where the Baan Orapin is and neither had any issue picking us up and dropping us off.

No issue paying with a credit card. Highly recommend the Baan Orapin.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I traveled solo to Chiang Mai and the fabulous team at this lovely property made me feel right at home. I had a room at the back of the property which was great and had a newly-remodeled bathroom. Lots of nice choices for breakfast and the pool was perfection after a hot day of exploring. The owner, Opas, helped me arrange for a private guide for a day and he was outstanding. I walked over to the newly opened 137 Pillars Hotel ($$$$$) for a drink one evening and recommend you check that out - it's a lovely property - but I'm glad I stayed at Baan Orapin!

Room Tip: I liked having a room away from the pool, but they all looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

The other reviewers have said it all. Baan Orapin really is an oasis. We looked forward to come back to it everyday, whether we were out shopping in the city or trekking in the countryside. It was blissful to come back to the calm and serenity of Baan Orapin. The helpful, unobtrusive and delightful Khun Pepsi made it so easy for us to arrange our tour itinerary and meals and transport. We were 3 female travellers and had a wonderful family suite at the back of the gardens, just behind the pool. A king bed and living room, plus a connecting room with queen bed, with 2 ensuite bathrooms. Wonderful! Both rooms had a pretty patio from which we could enjoy the cool mornings and evenings. Daily breakfasts around the pool were wonderful experiences too, as we attempted to work through the whole menu during our five-day stay. Free wifi throughout the premises, plus a comfy Internet room and library, were a bonus. Our stay was comfortable and pleasant, we couldn't ask for more. Fantastic value, and amazing service. Kudos to Khun Opas for such a wonderful guesthouse. The location is ideal. Just across the river are the day and night markets. And along the riverside are many pleasant eateries, coffee bars and night-spots. Our favourite is the newly-opened Baan Piemsuk, just across the road from Baan Orapin. The friendliest, cosiest cafe with the best coffee and coconut cream pies to die for!!!!! You won't regret choosing Baan Orapin.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robnadcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Have been lucky to stay at Baan Orapin several times however have had two year absence.
Happy to say its still as good as it ever was . Rooms , service everything about this property is wonderful - stayed for Loy Krathong this year and Opas ( owner ) even organized a lantern lighting and release for all the guests - a nice touch .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 54Bulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed at 8 different hotels in Thailand, all ranging from 1 star to 5 stars, and Baan Orapin was the best on all counts. The place is an awe-inspiring old Teak House that makes you feel like you've come under the care of a homely great-aunt. Baan Orapin is perfect for just relaxing and appreciating - so meditative.

I think I was most impressed by the customer service; we were very warmly welcomed and told about all the places we can go in the area, how far, and how much transport should cost, then given a very helpful map with recommended eateries and sights marked, with an open offer to ask if we need any more information. No other place we stayed gave such valuable information to us tourists new to the area, and it was much needed!

The amenities provided were plentiful; the laundry service the best and cheapest we'd had anywhere!

You're a very short walk to many lovely places to eat along the river, still a short walk to the night bazaar, and a 20minute walk (short, cheap Tuk Tuk or Songthaew ride) to the Sunday walking market! Really excellent location and value for money. I wish we could've stayed longer! I did the booking of all the hotels, and my partner says baan Orapin was his most favourite of all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kairos27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The inconspicuous gates on this little road don't give much of a clue as to the expanse of lush beauty and calm that lies behind. This is truly a special place, away from the busy hubbub but yet right on the doorstep of everything you want. The accommodation is arranged in two storey buildings around the original main house, with winding paths, mature trees, exotic shrubs and pretty water features. My room was up a charming flight of wooden stairs to a private balcony in the treetops. The room itself - a Junior Suite - was away from the road so very quiet, and really lovely. Simple but tasteful furniture, hugely comfy bed, pretty bathroom and - important in Chiang Mai even in November - good air con! There is also excellent WiFi anywhere on the property.

Breakfasts are good and plentiful, either Western or Thai style, taken on the decking by the lovely little pool. Opas, who owns the place, is a real mine of information and more than happy to arrange outings for you - we had a great driver for the day who took us out and about, including a visit to a hilltop village that was anything but touristy, plus calling in on a village primary school.

Baan Orapin's location is pretty perfect. It is on a road that runs parallel to the river Ping, and only ten minutes walk away from the huge indoor Chinese market. You can get a tuk tuk just by waiting in the street usually for no more than 3 or 4 minutes and for little more than £1 can get into the old city centre. Or you can walk, which only takes about 25 minutes. Some commentators didn't like the fact that there are no pavements on this street, but I have to say the Thai drivers are courteous and careful compared to many other countries, and I never felt at risk walking along there, day or night.

There are some lovely restaurants nearby too, one whose name I forget but it was Opas's favourite, located on the ground floor of a nearby condominium right on the river bank. Opas also booked us onto a dinner river trip (quite nice) and a day at a Thai cooking school, which was brilliant. One absolute gem, which you would probably never discover unless you were staying here, is the little Museum attached to Wat Ket Karam, the temple right next door to Baan Orapin. It is the most eclectic, extraordinary collection of "old" stuff, ranging from bamboo bound ancient manuscripts and old fabrics to 1950s office chairs and old alarm clocks! An utter delight! It also houses an amazing photographic record of old Chiang Mai and how it has developed over the last 70 or so years.

Opas and his staff have made something to be very proud of here, with a lovely authentic feel, a delicious setting, and perfect service. Oh, and extremely good value for money compared to the more Western style hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the road. All are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckywomanSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 392 in Chiang Mai
802 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baan Klang Wiang
Baan Klang Wiang
#7 of 392 in Chiang Mai
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#14 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,896 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#10 of 801 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £28 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin b&b
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing