We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

On entering the grounds of Baan Orapin - AHHH! THE SERENITY. So much so we stayed here a week.
We cannot say enough good things about this place. The food, the location, the accommodation, the setting,the historic building - the serenity- perfect.
The staff, namely Pepsi, were attentive in a quiet calm manner.
Across the road check out the bakery that does delicious cheesecakes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hn_Shar0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    103
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
158
394
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This B and B is as good as you will find, very spacious rooms, quietly tucked away from the bustling main street and very good service. An excellent choice of breakfast near the pool is a great way to start the day. Garden maintenance and some old furniture in need of upgrading detract a little from the lovely atmosphere but this is the best place to stay in Chaing Mai. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Junior suites at the rear are very large and the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzienross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at Baan Orapin for five days in January of 2013. We spent the first four nights in the one bedroom suite in the back of the property and the last night in a junior suite at the front. Both rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. The one bedroom was (obviously) more spacious, having a lovely separate room for lounging and a table. The staff was friendly and welcoming and helpful with all of our questions. The breakfasts were delicious and we loved starting each day eating by the pool!

Having never been to Chiang Mai before this trip, I was a bit nervous that the location was outside of the city proper. However, the location is perfect. There are restaurants and shops near the bed and breakfast itself and it is easy (and cheap) to catch a tuk tuk if you need to go farther into the city and don't feel like walking. The area is quiet and quickly turns residential once you get off the main street where Baan Orapin is located. The whole property is lovely, well-cared for, and peaceful. A perfect place to stay in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thalia291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

On entering the property we were warmly welcomed and helped with our bags. Nothing was too much trouble As soon as we walked into our room (front junior suite) we were at home. It was clean, spacious and just had a lovely feeling to it. The canopy bed was big and comfortable, a separate area to sit and also a little terrace with outside table and chairs - they even supply umbrellas! . The grounds were lovely - hard to believe there was a busy (to us country folk) street outside the gate, The old homestead beautiful, the pool a luxury in the heat, breakfast so yummy A+ for presentation and service. There was nothing at Baan Orapin that we did not like (love).
Maybe not the place for young children if you plan on walking on the streets as in places you are forced to walk on the road and there is a bit of traffic to contend with. The city is within easy walking distance and only a short 50bht tuktuk ride if walking is not for you. Several eating places close by. There was a little bit of traffic noise but did not detract from the lovely experience and once you are behind the gates of Baan Orapin you are in a totally different world from Chiang mai city life. Try it - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We loved our room (Junior Suite in the front of the property) but the rooms in the rear garden would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwisFly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We booked four nights spread over 5 nights due a to side trip to the Elephant Sanctuary (if you are interested in the well-being of Thai elephants this is a must see destination but don't expect to ride on the animals). This is in a quiet part of town but convenient to everything. Surrounded by good restaurants and cafes and a short stroll to the day and night markets, I cannot speak more highly of Baan Orapin.

The comments from fellow trip advisors is accurate...if you are after five star this is not the place. we had a one bedroom at the back of the property which was fine for two sharing adults and one teenager...was cramped but good value. The staff were wonderful and breakfasts were very good...ideal for a relaxing 'no rush' holiday. The pool was very welcome after a days adventure. A big thanks to Pepsi who was very attentive to all our needs...we will definitely be back. If you are heading to Chiang Mei, transport is very reasonable and accessible from pre-paid hire cars, meter taxis and tuk-tuks which are also prevalent throughout the city. In the markets, be prepared to bargain as prices start high but can be negotiated down with generally good humour (a rule of thumb would be start at about a third of what is offered).

Room Tip: Go for the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennK550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights there and we really loved it! We had 2 rooms for our family (2kids), the pool is very nice surrounded by the tropical garden. We enjoyed the complete breakfast served in the house or the garden. Opas and his staff is very helpful to book anything you want and can recommand special adresses, not the ones you can find everywhere. We had a great elephant day trip at thai elephant home (book in advance and ask Opas to do it) and a cooking class with a thai family (cooking@home). Yes the guy who welcome u and serve the breakfast doesnt speak english well but he is very nice and will call Opas if help is needed. This stay is one of our best souvenir!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sosoolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked based on Tripadvisor reviews and agree with most of what has already been said. We stayed in a one bedroomed apartment towards the back of the property; our teenage son slept in the bed in the lounge. This made the living area slightly cramped but better value than booking two separate rooms, so it was OK for us. The rooms were comfortable, quiet, nice balcony, good shower, very reasonable 'mini bar' but also plenty of room for your own drinks. Pepsi (who I think is the manager) was lovely, really helpful. The breakfasts were good, fresh fruit, fruit juice and then you choose options, Western or Thai, including 'English breakfast', omelette..etc. Some options you order a day in advance. The grounds are lovely, pool OK-too small for a swim though. Great location, but as another reviewer said, I would be wary of the walk with small children due to the lack of pavements. The road is not pedestrian friendly.
The only thing that disappointed us (although did not affect the enjoyment of our stay) was that Opas (I assume he is the owner), who I had e-mail contact with when booking, did not bother to introduce himself during the length of our stay (we were there 8 nights). I just felt that this was a bit rude.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#4 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Property: Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai
Baan Orapin b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing