We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 805 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A tranquil place with Mr Pepsi always rushing to assist. However, as we arrived as the Coup started it would have been good to see more of the manager , Opus, who seems to be never around. Maybe time to improve the TV in rooms as ours had lousy reception on an old tube unit. Not what you expect at that price level in Thailand. Lots of places to call into for a good meal or drinks within 3 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mugme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Don't hesitate to book this, even if you're put off by the price - you really get what you pay for. We booked a junior suite and it was more like a mansion. 4 poster king size bed, reception room, large bathroom (no bath in ours, but there is in others), huge room, all wooden carved furniture. Outside the room the pool is very clean and a good size, towels provided, nice gardens, amazing breakfast - all around the family house. In a quieter area of Chiang Mai but you can walk to town in around 15 mins or 30 to the moat. Not far away (5 min walk) there are some lively bars with live music (which you can't hear from the hotel), coffee shops, art galleries that serve great cakes and a local shop. Staff offered good advice for motorbike rental and onward travel and hotels. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is our fourth stay here, in 7 years, and we will be back, as it keeps to its very high standard. Its amazing how quiet it beomes just a few feet from the gate. Breakfast can be Thai or western, and all are good. Its very much a Thai establishment, if you want the feel of a bland international hotel then stay in an international hotel and pay a lot more for it. There are plenty of good eating places nearby, and whilst it is outside the old city, its easy to walk or take a tuk tuk. There is a pool to cool off in on your return.

I say "fourth" stay, we went up to Mae Hong Son, but from there you have to come back to Chaing Mai. We had our 5th stay a week later. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devonfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 great days here with our two years old little girl and it was absolutely marvellous. Suites are fab,spacious and clean.The manager/ owner is very kind and always available to satisfy any request.The green surrounding and the super relaxing atmosphere atound the pool plus the good location made our stay unforgettable!
We will definitely go back! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starofapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Friends of ours recommended Baan Orapin. It was amazing. The location is great. Only a 5 minute walk to Riverside and Good View restaurants, 20 minutes to the Walking St Market, and about 10 minutes to the China Town Market. Plenty of Tuk-Tuks around too if you don't want to walk. The streets are pretty busy but the hotel is behind a gate and is like an oasis in the chaos. We stayed in the back building and it was super quiet. The grounds are full of lush tropical plants with a beautiful pool. The architecture is traditional Thai and beautiful. The rooms are also fairly large with nice bathrooms and good working A/C. The highlight of staying here is the customer service from Pepsi. He met us late at night after we arrived on a late flight and had a taxi waiting for us at the airport. He also prepares the awesome breakfast every morning. He is also a great resource for getting a car and driver for the day. You will not regret staying here is is awesome!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich6509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Living in Phuket for 9 years (at the time) I wanted to at last go and see Chiang Mai. It was well worth the wait, but I should not have waited so long. A lovely place, and I hope to visit again. When I do, I will stay at Baan Orapin again.

Following advice from the forum, I booked Baan Orapin. I was looking for a place for my wife and I, and my 25 year old step daughter. We booked a family suite (I think). anyway, it had a large bedroom, nice bathroom, and in the lounge area a separate alcove with the bed for my daughter. Ideal.

The buildings are beautiful, the grounds very quiet and relaxing, the pool very enjoyable, the breakfast perfect and the staff great.

Only had one small problem while we were there, and that was a problem with wifi. It was fixed promptly.

The location is great. Close enough to shopping etc, nice bars and restaurants with live music only a few minutes away. Quiet at night time.

I hope to come back again.

Thank you to the Orapin team for a great holiday, and sorry for being so late writing this review.

Mark.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CpnMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

First trip to Thailand with my boyfriend and we spent 3 weeks between Chiang Mai and Bangkok. Based on extensive research and discussions on the forums, we decided to book Baan Orapin for 6 nights between 7th-13th November and we were not disappointed! Our junior suite out around from the pool area was lovely and the four post bed was extremely comfortable. The location of the Baan was amazing - walking distance to most things or a short tuk tuk ride away. All the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and really made us feel very welcomed especially Opas and Pepsi. The grounds of the Baan Orapin are breathtaking and much needed respite from the hustle and bustle of Chiang Mai, the pool is gorgeous and I loved the breakfast area. The breakfasts were outstanding; I actually miss these!!

Stay at the Baan Orapin and you will not be disappointed, we are planning to return to Chiang Mai next year and the Baan Orapin is our choice to return to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#5 of 393 in Chiang Mai
822 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
944 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Baan Klang Wiang
Baan Klang Wiang
#9 of 393 in Chiang Mai
346 reviews
2.6 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#6 of 805 in Chiang Mai
722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#8 of 805 in Chiang Mai
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 805 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £27 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin b&b
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing