We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2007

We found this place on TripAdvisor and booked directly through their website. We stayed in the villa which included two bedrooms, two full baths, two floors, a balcony, a porch, kitchen, dining, and living area...all of which was spacious and clean. The hosts were very helpful; native to Thailand and fluent in English. The B&B is situated near several nice restaurants and within walking distance of the Old Town and Night Bazaar. The gardens provide a welcoming, quiet atmosphere that seemingly removes you from civilization. The daily breakfasts are cooked to order and delicious. I highly recommend the Thai Omelet. Yum!
I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the Chiang Mai area. We stayed here for two weeks and loved every day of it!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CnMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2007

I stayed at Baan Orapin for 8 nights in July 2007. I can only add to the many positive comments posted by previous reviewers. The place was everything I wanted. It had Thai style and charm, the room was large, bright and airy and situated in a garden environment that combined nature and convenience. The guest house is located close to all the main attractions and having now seen Chiang Mai, I think the location of this guest house is preferable to the many hotels located in the city between the moat and Ping River. The staff were friendly and charming at all times. Whenever we were collected by tour buses, the other visitors always commented how beautiful Baan Orapin was and how they had wished they had known about it! I am defibnitely coming back. The only proviso I can suggest to potential guests is to be aware this is not a hotel so there is no room service and no restaurant (breakfast is served in a stylish dining room by the pool). If you need those services, please take note. However, there are many charming cafes and restaurants only a few minutes walk away, so things like that really aren't an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chaucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2007

I was staying there for 4 nights and was overwhelmed. The rooms are really spacious and clean. the big bed was very comfortable.
Absolutely beautiful the garden. It is really a better choice to stay in the rear wing. Very peaceful. Breakfast is good although it favours egg lovers. Staff is very helpful and polite.
The location is still ok. there is a food bridge a few meters away which gives you access to the market. Anyhow you can always get a Tuk Tuk or one of the red jeepneys and they will bring you to the place you want to go. Taxis are quite rare and usually you have to give them a call. But it is also a nice thing to rent a taxi (200 Baht per hour) and to go around on your own to the nearby locations.
Baan Orapin is really a place I would like to come back with its teakwood constructions .

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank superbitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2007

The Baan Orapin provided just the calm and quiet setting we needed after a few days in Bangkok - all in a spot that was very convenient to great restaurants and sites. The hotel is located very close to a footbridge that takes you across the river and into the middle of one of Chiang Mai's night markets. The surrounding neighborhood has some good places to eat, but is farther away from the more busy and touristy areas of the city. The grounds were beautiful and the new pool was a great way to cool off after a day of walking around. The staff are friendly and helpful. We took a cooking class at the Chiang Mai Thai Cookery School (booking through the hotel gets you a discount) and visited the Doi Suthep temple at sunset - a great time to go for the view of the city and beautiful light on the buildings. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

If I go back to Chiang Mai, which I hopefully will, I will definately stay here again. The staff were the nicest people that I met in Thailand, which is saying quite a bit. The room was spacious and well kept. The location was not very central in terms of seeing sights like the old city, but it's near some good restaurants and bars, and is about a 10-15 minute walk to the night bazaar. The garden was wonderful and added quite a bit to the feel homey feel of the whole place.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cmcl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2007

We booked Baan Orapin based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. A great place, super value, and ideal location. I really cannot add much (or pics) to prior reviews other than we stayed three seperate times in April'07 (Baan Orapin suite and jr suite) and received consistent excellent service from Opas and his staff each time. We need not look further ...this is where we will stay when in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 2H's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2007

We spent a week at the Baan Orapin in April and didn't want to leave. The rooms were spectacular and luxurious yet were quiet and quaint at the same time. The main part of the hotel is housed in a 100 year old home and oozes history. Once we arrived, Pepsi made us feel right at home and soon after that Opas (the owner) found us and introduced himself. He was nothing but helpful during our stay; eager to help us with other travel arrangements, answer questions and teach us some Thai. The location is great, right off the footbridge leading into the old city and there are a number of good restaurants down the road. Every little detail was considered in order to better improve our stay, right down to the lit mosquito coils left on the balcony. We wouldn't hesistate to stay there again. Loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Stieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,092 reviews
1.4 mi away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 388 in Chiang Mai
766 reviews
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 388 in Chiang Mai
2,421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Orapin Bed and Breakfast

Address: 150 Charoenraj Road, | Wat Gate,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £27 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Orapin, built in northern Thai (Lanna) styled architecture, surrounded by tall longan trees, is within easy walking distance of the Night Bazaar, Thapae gate, riverside restaurants along the Ping river, local handicraft shops, and Warorot market. It boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with the modern comforts. Baan Orapin is where you will find genuine ambience of a northern Thai home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baan Orapin b&b
Baan Orapin Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing