We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with a taste of it's own!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 99 The Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
99 The Gallery Hotel
Ranked #41 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel with a taste of it's own!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our first trip to Chiang mai with friends and we've landed ourselves in this new lovely hotel with traditional decor... We've gotten a good deal online, a suite room with breakfast daily.

The weather there is super hot at that time and the only bad thing is that the suite hotel room absorbs the heat (warm air) easily as more of the furnitures and decor are wood materials so when we came back to it even at night, we still can feel the heat! Day time it's like an oven without aircon. They should allow us to leave the aircon on when we removed the keys from slot/leave our room.

I love the shower concept where it's in the open and you can have a choice to open or close the windows, plus a choice of bathtub and standing shower...

There is a small swimming pool within the hotel but not for swimming laps. Soaking and tanning use probably... They also have a computer room for use. This hotel also have shared space where we can sit and relax or chillax with friends...

The breakfast was not too bad and decent enough. Service from the staff were good too! Overall I would still go back and recommend it to friends who are going over to Chiang Mai.

Hope the next time round they can imporve on the ventillation system due to hot weather there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonkoh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    206
    72
    12
    1
See reviews for
53
216
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kerala
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Seriously excellent hotel for the price. I booked a delux room and would recommend it as the standard is placed in the corridor with windows that open into the corridor and poor ventilation otherwise. The delux (at least the one I got) had windows that opened out. The room is spacious, the decor very tasteful and everything very comfortable. I loved that there was enough light all over the room, so that I could work at the desk and read in bed! The bathroom was well designed and the water HOT as you wanted it. The water pressure is poor so that the shower is not much fun, but otherwise, no complaint.
the pool is too small for me as I swim for exercise, but I can imagine it will be fun if you like to just hang out. the shared spaces upstairs and downstairs where you can curl up with a book or just relax with friends is also a great bonus.
the restaurant serves an excellent selection for breakfast and the staff are so courteous and kind.
As with any hotel, the service makes or breaks it and here, they are simply outstanding! Wonderful staff, from those at the desk to those who clean the room or are working in the kitchen. I would stay here again, just for the privilege of meeting them all again.
The location is great. Near Wat Phra Singh and some of the most beautiful of the temples. It is in my favourite corner of the walled city to wander in, so I have no complaints about distance! Anyway, Chiang Mai is very easy to get around, so why go anywhere else when you can be so happy here!

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the higher floors (3,4) (even if you chose a standard type) have better ventila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeralaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and for the price, the hotel was lovely.

It was very clean and the decor was great. The location is good as it is within the city walls and not too far from the night bazzar and CM river (though you still need a tuktuk or taxi to get there).

The staff were super friendly and helpful which made for a short but pleasant stay.

Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to stay in CM.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank anais m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel was flawless, in my opinion. Clean, friendly staff, nice pool, good atmosphere, and prime location. Went as a couple at the start of our Thailand trip for 3 nights and wished we could stay longer.

The pool was solid, maybe a little bit crowded at times, especially since the curfew had just started when we got there. Breakfast was included, and actually quite good for buffet style. The design was tasteful. Outdoor bathtub and shower was also nice, especially if you're a couple.

Only hiccup was that they offered a wake up call (didn't really need it, but accepted it), but we never received it. As we checked out in the morning the person at the front desk obviously felt terrible about it, but I didn't care. He even showed me the note and that a "4" had looked like a "1" due to the pen being low on ink. Honest mistake.

Super close to temples and the Chiang Mai night market, as well as Mr Kai restaurant, which is just one block over on the parallel street (go there). Not much else to say about it, other than that it was everything we wanted. I would definitely stay there again without looking at other places if we went back to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank numbanddumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked this hotel after re-routing our trip from Bangkok to Chiang Mai to avoid protests. For a last minute booking with little research done beforehand, things turned out alright.

The beds here are basically the floor but with sheets on them. Asian beds are hard, but these were in a league of their own. Bring earplugs - you can hear everything that's happening next door, whether it's the other room's TV, shower, or conversation. The rooms have an open air type structure so even people walking by your room talking in normal voices (or China voices) will likely wake you up.

Bring your own toiletries. The shampoo/body wash samples are not exactly Hermes. The shower and toilet are separated by a thin curtain, and water only comes out of one spout at a time...i.e. flushing means no faucet means no shower. Drainage is not perfect so wear slippers in after showering.

Enough with the negatives; the lobby is pretty and getting tuktuks or taxis are easy from the hotel. Most drivers know where it is. There's a 7-11 right down the street and an awesome cheap unmarked local Thai place halfway to 7-11 on the left. Reception is helpful with organizing activities.

Breakfast is simple but hits the spot. Can't go wrong with eggs, yogurt and a selection of Asian foods. When you're traveling on a budget, it's not terrible, but just remember that you're only spending $50/night. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, hotel is pleasing, and boutique in its style. Reception is helpful and friendly. The breakfast is satisfying and the rooms enjoyable. Great coffee shops nearby, around the block from Sunday markets. Recommended

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here for 1 night as I arrived into Chiang Mai at night as I was heading to Chiang Rai the next morning. And thank god it was only for 1 night. While the location is quite convenient and it wasn't dirty, but the walls are paper thin and the service is horrendous. I needed help to buy bus ticket to Chiang Rai and the lady at the front desk was of no help while the other guy at the front desk just played with his phone and wouldn't help at all. Their English is fine but they were just very unhelpful. It is a surprise to me because I find most Thai people very friendly in the tourism industry.
The bathroom which seems to be discussed widely among different reviewers, is a standing shower with thin film of plastic as shower curtain. The decor and furniture in the room is very very simple and I feel like this is a hostel more than a hotel.
So only stay here if there are good deals like around US$40-50, otherwise there are way better options in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingKing_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#11 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
De Lanna Hotel, Chiang Mai
#57 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 99 The Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 99 The Gallery Hotel

Property: 99 The Gallery Hotel
Address: 99 Inthawarorot Road | Si Phum, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 99 The Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly appointed like a fine art gallery, while intermingling with northern Lanna styling, this is a distictively fresh boutique hotel. The 53 superior rooms and suites, some with private balcony bathtubs, have nicely apointed modern amenities. Located in the hear of Chiang Mai, you are steps away from famed temples (Wat Phra Singh) and shopping areas (Sunday Night Walking Street). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your 99 The Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing