We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with incredible rooms!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #50 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with incredible rooms!!”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

A friend and I went travelling around Thailand for a month. We had prebooked all our hotels and the Raming Lodge hotel in Chiang Mai was where we had the longest stay (6 nights).
The hotel was gorgeous. Big spacious lobby with helpful English speaking reception staff. We had breakfast included in our stay which was very nice and you had the option of a fresh omlette made to your choosing. Delicious!
The rooms were spacious and very clean. The bathroom was huge and had a very nice powerful shower (which is rare in Thailand).
The location was good as it was a short walk (or tuk-tuk ride) to the mini nightlife we found. My only advice for Chiang Mai in general is that as there is no beach and not an exceptionally exciting nightlife; you don't need too long there. Things to visit as a must: Tiger Kingdom and Chiang Rai day trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissExplorer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    648
    180
    51
    31
See reviews for
174
490
169
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Raming Lodge Hotel is located on the busiest road between the night market and the Old Town. Traffic is not a particular problem on this road, but it is in the heart of Chiang Mai's sex tourism district, so if you don't want to see any of this (and it's not that overwhelmingly blatant to be fair), this is not the place for you. The flipside of all this, is that bars, restaurants,temples and markets are all very near the hotel.

Check-in was super efficient with very competent staff, who gave us the right level of information without overwhelming us.

The room we had was very spacious and clean, and the decor tasteful if getting near need of an update. The bed was very comfortable and the facilities in the room (wardrobes, TV, tea and coffee making equipment) good.

A very good selection was provided for breakfast, including the facility to have your eggs cooked as you like them. We didn't use the pool as we were only there 1 night, but it looked very nice.

Raming Lodge does not feel as comfortable as De Chai, but then it doesn't cost as much either. I think both hotels offer very good value for money and if room size is important to you, go for raming Lodge.

Room Tip: In high season, a room on a higher floor might be preferable to avoid breakfast noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy-looo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights and found it to be fantastic in every way. The staff were unbelievably helpful and went out of there way to help with anything you needed. It had its own pool and it was nice to relax there of an afternoon and order some drinks poolside and some nibblies. Staff would organise a taxi or anything we needed immediately and nothing was any trouble to them. The breakfast which was included in our room rate was unbelievable. Very tasty and plenty of it! We found the hotel very central, being a short walk to the Night Bazaar, SUnday night market, and if your feet were tired after shopping that day, a TUK TUK for 60THB was as cheap as chips to be taken around the city area for a nice meal or something. We walked most of the time to nearly everything. We will definately be staying there no question......next time we are in Chaing Mai.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

As soon as I inspected this Hotel I knew I wanted to stay, I booked initially for 2 nights and ended up staying 7 nights. It is centrally located for the Sunday markets and night markets.
It has very comfortable and luxurious rooms, nice swimming pool, very friendly and helpful staff and a lovely tropical area to eat your breakfast.
Just a very pleasant place to stay.

I used the Spa on the 6th floor and it was one of the best massages I have had in Thailand.

Very cheap and fast internet at 90 baht for 24 hours use.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fileeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I stayed at the Raming Lodge for 4 nights in July, and found it to be a great hotel in just an excellent location. Right on Loi Kroh Road, you can walk out the front of the hotel, turn right and walk only a few blocks west to enter the Old City, walk straight ahead and cross the street to have your choice of several great massage establishments (I tried most in the short time I was there!), or turn left and head east and you'll come in 10 or 15 minutes you'll come right to the famous Chiang Mai Night Market, and will also pass the great Entertainment District with its plethora of great bars packed side-to-side, along with an outdoor Muay Thai Boxing Ring that has live events several nights a week.

The rooms at the Raming are nicely decorated and comfortable. Even tho you are right where all the action is, I found our room surprisingly quiet, and we were right out by the street. It is a Lanna style hotel, so you walk out of your room into a central balcony area, and are able to look down at the open courtyard. The complimentary breakfast is smorg style and gave a very good variety of both western and Thai food, with eggs prepared for you by a chef on the spot.

The staff were very friendly and helpful as well, and out the back, residents of the hotel have a use of a nice outdoor pool. Good value, very nice rooms, and great location make this an easy hotel for me to say I'll be returning to when I go back to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosBound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on a travelling holiday. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the restuarant was lovely (little bit procey compared to most places around tho). The room was beautiful, really clean and the bathroom was even better. Deffinate value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Western Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Myself and a friend stayed at this lovely hotel for 5 nights in July 2011. We booked 2 deluxe interconnecting rooms which were on the 5th floor. (rooms 509 & 511). The rooms are Lanna style and had lovely thai paintings on the walls and were very clean & spacious. They contained a wardrobe with a safe inside, bathrobes and slippers. There is also a dressing table , fridge , tv and tea and coffee making facilities. The deluxe rooms include buffet breakfast, free airport transfers to and from the hotel and also have free internet as well as a fruit basket , cakes , soft drinks and juice (which are replenished daily), spa vouchers and barbeque vouchers. Such good value for the price we payed (around $50 Aud a night). The buffet breakfast was very nice with a mix of western and asian foods and you could sit outside in the lovely hotel coutyard or inside in the hotels restaurant. We used our spa voucer and had a 2 for 1 package deal, which was ok but you can get cheaper deals at local spá's. The hotel has a small but very nice swimming pool just a few steps away out the back of the hotel. The staff at the hotel are fabulous and will go out of their way to help you. I had problems with the airconditioner in my room not working and a staff member came to look at it as soon as I rang reception and told them about it. I ended up having to move to another room for the night while they fixed it and this was arranged straight away. A must try from the hotel restaurant is the Mango and sticky rice dessert, it is to die for!! The hotel is in a great location as it's in walking distance to the night bazaar and Sunday night markets. There is a 7 eleven close by and also lots of local restaurants and massage places along the road its on. There are a few girly bars near to the hotel but this didnt bother us when we had to walk past them as they were quite tame compared to other places in Thailand. There are always tuk tuks just outside the hotel entrance if you need transport. We had a most enjoyable stay and I have no hesitation in recomending this hotel to others and plan to stay there again for my next trip to Chiang mai.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the front of the hotel to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindylovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#41 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 381 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: 17-19 Loikroh Rd., Changklan Disrict Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently placed in the Heart of Chiang Mai, Raming Lodge is truly a perfect stop for chic visitors seeking sophisticated characteristics of city, along with the most modern facilities to propose extreme comforts. With only few minutes access from most stylish traveler attractions and transportation hub while dwelling in exotically tasteful inspired by fabulous Northern Thai Heritage lanna style living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raming Lodge Hotel And Spa
Raming Hotel Chiang Mai
Raming Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing