We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #55 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is not and does not pretend to be a 5 star accom. The rooms are clean and small and honest and the sheets are clean and the beds are comfy. The brekky is great and the free wi fi is good. Location is just terrific and the free airport service etc is worth a specail mention as the got me out there a bit earlier on requst on the first Air BKK to BKK at 6.55. Staff are happy helpful and most speak good English. BBQ is best left alone as when in doubt dont pervails especially with chicken. Feeling like a T Bone the picture in the menu was brilliant. The ensuing stak could well be used by a shoe company. But i am reviewing the accom not the restaurant. Overall location is better than good it is terrific.

Room Tip: My room was quiet but some are coser to the road and may have an issue.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevin800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
There are newer reviews for Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

Pros: Close to the markets, old Chiang Mai, Thapae Gate and, restaurants. Reasonably priced but I had friends staying around the corner for a fraction of the price and with very similar facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and had a good range on offer but not much variety from day to day. Free water was left in the room each day.

We were given a complimentary massage and one dinner each.

Cons: Our room was towards the front and the noise at night was terrible. The rooms are non smoking but the smoker's chair was outside our door and was regularly visited by a cigar smoker who's stench came under our door each time. The rooms are clean but the bathroom needed a good scrub and the frosted glass bi fold doors between the bed area and the bathroom was a bit astonishing. Our room was incredibly dark and it was impossible to read either day or night.

At night the quiet local bars filled up with sleazy old men and young prostitutes. There were a lot of 60 and 70 year old western men staying at the hotel with young Thai women in tow so think about what you want your children to see before you book.

There is a pool but it is across the road and through the dusty carpark and I didn't feel like doing the long return to my room wet as I would have just got muddy.

There was a shuttle to the airport but it was not free.

Internet was available but at $3 a day it was expensive (that would be $21 for a week!). Most other places offer free internet, including local cafes where it is free for the purchase of a coffee or other drink.

I won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residentraming, Manager at Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear All Guests,

The Raminglodge Hotel & Spa Chiangmai Thailand would like to inform you that
' Our hotel have 439 Reviews in TA. And 42% they are "family" 50% they are "Couples"
8% They are "Businessman" .

Some review from tripadvisor said that our hotel have a lot of 60 and 70 year old western men staying with young Thai women, And at night the quite local bar filled up with sleazy old men and young prostitutes, We would like to imform that Our hotel located in the private area
and have a security all 24 hrs. Never have bargirls come to disturbling our guests in the hotel's
area. Acturlly We always accepted all reviews to improved our faccilities,amenities to be better
and feelling Thank you for all of customers reviews for suggestion to our Raminglodge Hotel&
Spa. (In case of the Bargirls they are outside the hotel they never come to disturb our customer
in the hotel area.).
In the rooms ,we have 6-8 electriccity lamps size 11 watt in each room and the lamp for reading
on the table in Deluxe room, So it's impossible that customers can not read either day or night.

Raminglodge always inform our customer before they 'll booking in website " We have free
shuttle bus transfer from the airport /hotel/airport. included when they are booking "Deluxe room" But for "Superior room" We charge 100THB/ pax/way.

We hope customers will be understanding our hotel's situations, and considerate the turth
aboute reviews all ,

With Kind regards,

Mr. Simon Sakchai Pimdee
Resident Manager

PS. " During to the water flood problem in Thailand, It's just only in some area in Bangkok and
some province of Thailand, But in Chiangmai ,Customers can travelling in everywhere.
Suvanaphumi international Airport and Chiangmai international Airport are till running
to services."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Got the Super Deluxe room .. extremely reasonable including airport pickup and drop, breakfast and goodies in the fridge.. staff is extremely attentive .. rooms are nice and cozy .. Im a veg, but the restaurant took extra care to have veg food delivered to my room free without throwing any fuss .. the freebies in the room include colas and fruits and cakes, which were all really very good .. make sure that you get the massage from across the street .. rented the hotel car to go to the chiang mai zoo, the driver was extremely courteous and was better than a guide .. walking distance to the night bazaar .. the hotel did not turn down one request that I gave them, so all in all, 5 stars!

Room Tip: get the super deluxe room, the price is hardly any different but it includes every damn thing
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Pros:
Great location, good breakfast and very helpfull and courteous staff. The free minibar with the daily sweets is also a nice touch. Very good value for money.

Cons:
The rooms should be more lit and cleaner.
The bathroom is very wornout.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuk-Tuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel is one of the best I stayed at in Chiang Mei, WHY?

- Internet is wireless and requires no password
- staff is friendly and accomodating
- it's pretty clean and tidy
- breakfast is nice
- rooms are big
- it's very good value by dollar

Need I go on... there was just one idiot next door who kept slamming the door but you get that.

Room Tip: level 4 rooms 404 and 408 were great.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x10effect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Very good hotel, the location is good, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean and big (family room).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexgal20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Recently stayed at the Raming from August 27-September 4th. The Raming is a solid reliable hotel. The sevice is good and the rooms spacious and clean. The rooms are decorated nicely,wifi worked well most of the time and the housekeeping staff did a great job of keeping the hotel and rooms clean. On the negative the rooms can be a little dark due to minimal windows and lighting is somewhat dim. The a/c worked well and as far as the hot water goes it didn't take an excessively long time to get to a good temperature. The location is very good only a 5 minute walk to the old city and maybe about a 10 minute walk to the night market. Plenty of good restaurants nearby and no shortage of good and cheap massage places. I wouldn't concern myself with the "red light district" area close to the hotel it's nothing like one would find in Bangkok or Pattaya and the girls are friendly but not aggressive and one shouldn't have too much of a problem unless they are really uptight. The pool area is nice but a little small. the staff is very friendly and efficient with no real problems with communication. I booked one of the deluxe rooms, next time I would go for the superior room as the benefits of the deluxe room package I found weren't worth the extra money. Overall a very good stay and definitely would stay there again and would recommend it to any family or friends visiting Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Choose the superior room and one facing the back of the hotel they are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rafelmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#36 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,331 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 386 in Chiang Mai
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#14 of 386 in Chiang Mai
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#40 of 386 in Chiang Mai
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa

Address: 17-19 Loikroh Rd., Changklan Disrict Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £28 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently placed in the Heart of Chiang Mai, Raming Lodge is truly a perfect stop for chic visitors seeking sophisticated characteristics of city, along with the most modern facilities to propose extreme comforts. With only few minutes access from most stylish traveler attractions and transportation hub while dwelling in exotically tasteful inspired by fabulous Northern Thai Heritage lanna style living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raming Lodge Hotel And Spa
Raming Hotel Chiang Mai
Raming Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing