We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Elegance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

This "boutique" hotel and charming hideaway behind the hustle and bustle of Chaing Mai is just what the doctor ordered. Each room is elegantly designed and decorated with its guests in mind. It has everything you would ever want, and its situated in..well the middle of nowhere! But its so close to everything, you just want to find it on its own.
For a great experience in a bustling city, this is just the most pleasant place you can find. Individual care is everywhere, whether in the lovely pool or the poolside little reading room.
However, there is absolutely no experience that describes the personal service that only one who cares can give!
As we were waiting in the airport to fly back to Bangkok, my wife discovered she had left her jewelry and all other identification, wallet and money safely "in the safe".
We called the hotel to arrange for a FedEx package to be sent to us in the US and Managing Director Att Viravaidhya asked how much time we had before boarding. Within a matter of seconds he had someone go to the safe, find the valuables and personally drove to the airport to bring us her most treasured possessions. This goes into the realm of unexpected service and way above the call of duty.
With service like that and the pure comfort inside the walls of this wonderfully traditional, yet modern mini-palace, you would not want for any better place to hang out as you shop the night market for those deliriously wonderful trinkets to bring back to friends.
Would not even consider staying anywhere else in Chaing Mai!

Room Tip: Stay away from the third floor as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    168
    35
    5
    4
See reviews for
155
450
67
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Rather taken back on our arrival as it is on an industrial type road full of builders shops and motorbike repairers, then down a side street but opening on to a lovely courtyard full of twinkly lights and the sound of trickling water. The foyer was delightful, cool and comfortable, beautifully furnished the staff were wonderfully helpful.
The pool was a bit on the small side if you wish to swim seriously and very cold as it is in shade much of the time, but once you braved it it was very refreshing.
Breakfast was great and I throughly recommend the thai omelete but ask them to go easy on the chilli unless you don't want to taste anything for a few hours. They got soya milk for me as I don't do dairy and proudly brought it out for me each day a nice touch I thought. The menu although very good was a little expensive for Chiang Mai but the portions were big and the quality very good. The bedrooms were nicely decorated and touches like the silk robes (well worth buying at 2100bhts as real thai silk very expensive) slippers and flip flops a nice touch. They do charge for the seemingly complimentary mosquito spray, but not much and it is natural. the gym is great wit hair con and bottled water and the complimentary tuk tuk a real plus to get you into town as the 10 min walk feels longer in the heat. All together a great base from which to explore the town and surrounding attractions and a welcoming return waits you everytime. Quiet, comfortable, very clean, friendly and pretty, we loved it. Also if you want a fantastic guide to take you about with good english and not hawk you off to the rubbish places ask to speak to Son, (he works with the life change people who are based there and whom I again highly recommend) Please don't support the tiger kingdom its terrible. Enjoy your stay we did and will be back...

Room Tip: All seem lovely poolside opening on to the court yard a nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed two weeks at this hotel over the New Year, and cannot speak highly enough of the experience. The staff were welcoming, helpful and tentative to ensure our stay was a success. Nothing was to much trouble for them, this was further enhanced by the owners personal interactions and assistance with us to ensure we were comfortable.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were good and we were offered a Thai alternative. As we were not part of a group and doing our own thing, The staff assisted us with arranging transport and suggesting venues to visit. From our point of view the hotel was perfectly placed after the hustle and bustle of the city returning to the peace and tranquillity just rounded off the days. It was a short walk to the walled city, markets, restaurants and bazaars

We will return to this hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Really lovely people where nothing is too much trouble. Slightly out of town suited us, as it was an oasis of calm after the busy Chaing mai town. We walked to the markets very easy, although tuk tuk was there if you wanted it, and often got a tuk tuk back. Lovely hotel but bathrooms on the second floor need tidying up a bit, as noted by other reviewers. Top tip ground floor has better and bigger bathrooms, but you don't get the sun as much, and less privacy on balcony. First floor rooms have sunny and nice private balconies, so it's what works best for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Hotel met all of our expectations in that it is colonial in style, the staff are both friendly and efficient. The rooms are clean and pretty although somewhat dark, particularly on the ground floor. The hotel provide a tuk tuk service into town which is very handy and the walk from town, back to the hotel was about 10 minutes from the night market. Definately worth a good recommendation.

Room Tip: The Ground floor rooms lead directly to the pool area although a little dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

There's nothing in particular to complain about the experience here - we had a pleasant stay. As others have noted, the rooms are delightful and the courtyard with pool is lovely - especially with beautiful Christmas lights lit up in the evenings. You're a bit out of town but that hardly makes a difference to your daily activities and the hotel will often provide their tuk-tuk for free. Staff are friendly and helpful, although not particularly warm (which I found to often be the case in Thailand).

At USD 250 a night however, the price to pay is too steep. The food in general is pretty forgettable, and breakfast disappointing (we had the same one at guesthouses that cost 500 Baht/night, and it's unfortunate that there's not a single Thai item on offer). To me, this was very comparable to my stay at the Pavilion in Phnom Penh (see my rave review on this website) which cost around $50: it's a very, very nice guesthouse. Even the layout with a courtyard and pool was very similar. But it's not a boutique hotel. For that, you need to find the kind of exquisite attention to detail in every single aspect of your stay that I found at Mume in Kyoto (see my other review). And I know Chiang Mai is not Phnom Penh, but it's definitely not Kyoto either to justify this kind of price.

Given the other very positive reviews, maybe I just paid too much due to the high season. I really liked my stay, but the rate should be roughly halved.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesuit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Puripunn is an outstandingly beautiful and excellently appointed boutique hotel. From Management down, all personnel genuinely live the old charm and hospitality for which Thailand is so famous.Though not in the walled city center, all major sites are easily reached within minutes by the hotel or public TukTuk. Puripunn is a must when in Chiang Mai! Our four day stay there was just wonderful! A great thank you to all Puripunn staff!

Room Tip: Easily accessible by own car; free parking; convenient and free hotel transport to the old city (5 M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterGrubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: 104/1 Charoen Mueang Soi 2, Charoen Mueang Rd | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel, an intimate small luxury property with a total of 30 rooms is constructed in a contemporary Lanna- Oriental architectural style inspired by traditional homes found in Chiang Mai during colonial period. The hotel is situated in the midst of one of Chiang Mai's centuries-old communities where ancient Lanna treasures, cultural traditions and way of life have been well-preserved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing